Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

sky hd + anytime wireless ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-02-2011, 23:46
littlecookie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 76

hi
does anybody know where i can get some kind of dongle to plug in the sky hd box, so i can download the sky hd + anytime content with out having to have the ethernet cable running all over my house then plugged into the router,moving the router next to the sky box is not ..cheers
littlecookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-02-2011, 00:37
John Currie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Lanarkshire. Scotland
Posts: 2,005
You cannot plug any kind of dongle into a Sky+HD box.
John Currie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 09:25
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,698
Sky do their own wireless adaptor for 60 and apparently Homeplugs (via the mains) work as well.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 11:17
tim1964
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 712
Homeplugs, Ebuyer 34 a pair will do the job.
tim1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 11:51
Gooby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,317
doesn't sky anytime stuff appear on your box through the dish? We don't have an ethernet cable into our sky box and we seem to have anytime stuff.....
Gooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 15:40
littlecookie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 76
doesn't sky anytime stuff appear on your box through the dish? We don't have an ethernet cable into our sky box and we seem to have anytime stuff.....
yes but theres a new service called anytime plus theres a back log of hundreds of movies etc that you can download, ive used it a few times,but i dont fancy having the cable running round the house also kids catch their feet on it
littlecookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 16:56
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,862
yes but theres a new service called anytime plus theres a back log of hundreds of movies etc that you can download, ive used it a few times,but i dont fancy having the cable running round the house also kids catch their feet on it
Easiest method then is the official Sky wireless dongle (a wireless bridge), it's dead simple to setup.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 17:01
CTD101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gods country Wales
Posts: 3,930
Easiest method then is the official Sky wireless dongle (a wireless bridge), it's dead simple to setup.
Agreed although I do think 60 is a bit much to be honest. Also, they have now stopped us running ethernet externally which is a big pain in the rear end. I was given a set of homeplugs a few weeks ago by a customer switching from bt vision and I have to say even easier to setup and very handy if you don't want cables either.
CTD101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 19:52
pkc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Brighton
Posts: 5,188
Easiest method then is the official Sky wireless dongle (a wireless bridge), it's dead simple to setup.
You can use a standard wireless router .. just setup the mac code in the sky router.. Although you would have though SKY would have incorporated wireless in their new boxes (or allowed usb dongles to work)
pkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2011, 20:32
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,862
You can use a standard wireless router .. just setup the mac code in the sky router.. Although you would have though SKY would have incorporated wireless in their new boxes (or allowed usb dongles to work)
There are no 'new boxes', Sky design them well in the first place so the only 'new boxes' are completely different ones.

So there's only really been three:

Sky
Sky+
Sky HD

As later versions of each type come out, the basic specification doesn't really change, so a current HD box is little different to an original one.

It's certainly possible that the next generation of Sky box might include Wireless - but what would it be?. The only thing that comes to mind is the old Pace idea, with a master box and slave boxes.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:46.