Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

What Does IP Flood Protection Actually Do ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2011, 00:05
lost property
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 93

Hi

I've been wondering about this and the modem firewall. I upgraded to 30 meg; and was one of the lucky ones (it seems) not to have any issues with speed and performance..typically between 31.5 - 31.7 download..and 3.15 to 3.18 upload (wireless).

What are these two functions actually designed for ? I don't know much at all about computers; but understand the need for security on your system.

If activated..what are they actually protecting, and what are the potential..ummm..'risks ?' if turned off.

I appreciate it's maybe academic in my case, as things went well for me..but nonetheless I'd be keen to find out more anyways
lost property is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-03-2011, 06:23
petey286
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 2,810
IP Flood is a type of Denial of Service attack whereby the victim or system is flooded with information, using up all available bandwidth thereby preventing legitimate users from access.

Below is from the Superhub itself.

When IP Flood Detection is enabled, the Super Hub has the ability to block malicious devices that are attempting to flood devices.
petey286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:06
Parthenon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,986
All it did for me was cause packet loss of up to 58%!! As soon as I switched it off I got zero packet loss.
Parthenon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 13:13
kwikbreaks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northampton
Posts: 459
To my mind it's strange they included it as for a home user it seems pretty unlikely to ever happen. Maybe it blocks port scans too? Even if it does it's still more trouble than it is worth.

Surely the Superhub beta testers must have given pingtest a go?????
kwikbreaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 20:23
Markjuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,521
All it did for me was cause packet loss of up to 58%!! As soon as I switched it off I got zero packet loss.
So in other words it is not worth switching this feature on?

Surely if you were suffering an attack by a malicous source the best way would be to pull the power lead out of the modem killing the connection until you put the power lead back in.
Markjuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 23:23
jimmyb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Redhill, Surrey
Posts: 27
No not worth switching on. On 50 meg service all it creates is massive packet loss. Unlike others have said, keeping firewall features on seems to be O.K.
jimmyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 08:25
kwikbreaks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northampton
Posts: 459
I run with Firewall features on and have no issues that turning it off could possibly fix.

My main complaint about the Superhub is a distinct lack of features and klunky interface rather than connection problems which some seem to have.

The idle timeout it imposes on FTP and SSH is a PITA if your client doesn't have a keepalive option and so are the bugs I keep finding. They really shouldn't expect paying customers to be beta testers - especially when they won't even acknowledge bug reports on their forum.
kwikbreaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 14:32
Markjuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,521
Just recently upgraded so not sure! Are all these features accessed in the http://192.168.0.1 address?
Markjuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 14:49
petey286
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 2,810
Just recently upgraded so not sure! Are all these features accessed in the http://192.168.0.1 address?
Please login by clicking http://192.168.0.1/ the username is admin and the password is changeme, then click on the small red writing that says advanced settings then look down the left hand side and under Content Filtering> Services you untick ip Flood Detection and the Firewall.
petey286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 14:59
Markjuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,521
Please login by clicking http://192.168.0.1/ the username is admin and the password is changeme, then click on the small red writing that says advanced settings then look down the left hand side and under Content Filtering> Services you untick ip Flood Detection and the Firewall.
Not any more it isn't! That was changed by me near enough straight away for security purposes.
Markjuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 15:03
petey286
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 2,810
Not any more it isn't! That was changed by me near enough straight away for security purposes.
If you mean the login username and password they cannot get into your router unless they know your SSID and Network key in the first place.

So changing it from admin and changeme is of no real importance as it is just a belts and braces approach nothing more.
petey286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 15:10
Markjuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,521
If you mean the login username and password they cannot get into your router unless they know your SSID and Network key in the first place.

So changing it from admin and changeme is of no real importance as it is just a belts and braces approach nothing more.
Saying that the first time I logged in (and a couple of times after) a message appeared that stated the password should be changed so that is what I did. As I am new to this wireless business I don't want next door or the guy down the street tapping into my connection or being able to change any settings.
Markjuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 15:23
Markjuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,521
Please login by clicking http://192.168.0.1/ the username is admin and the password is changeme, then click on the small red writing that says advanced settings then look down the left hand side and under Content Filtering> Services you untick ip Flood Detection and the Firewall.
So it is OK to disable both provided that you have a good firewall in place on your computer?
Markjuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 15:24
petey286
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 2,810
So it is OK to disable both provided that you have a good firewall in place on your computer?
All I have ticked in services are the following.

Ipsec PassThrough Enable
PPTP PassThrough Enable
petey286 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:09.