Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Which Android tablet with sim card slot


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14-03-2011, 01:39
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 12,803

Hi all,

I am after a Android tablet & was wondering which ones have a sim card slot, or are fully compatible with a broadband dongle ?. I'm not the richest of folk so am not bothered about it running 3.0, but would like it to run 2.2.

Can anyone here suggest one ?

Many Thanks

DJM
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 17-03-2011, 16:34
Troy Tempest
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Marineville
Posts: 357
Samsung Galaxy Tab (1)

http://theopoon.rinnovative.com/?p=1034

Sixth picture down
Troy Tempest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 17:35
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 12,803
Thanks for that . Just a shame that it is going to cost 400 & isn't even compatible with Honeycomb. Will have to go after a cheaper tablet and use either a usb dongle or MIFI.
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 20:25
currykev
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: No space here
Posts: 1,537
Archos Vega has some good support.
250.
currykev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 21:07
currykev
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: No space here
Posts: 1,537
Archos Vega has some good support.
250.
Or should I say the Advent Vega.
Oops.
currykev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 21:16
Big_Ted
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,573
.


If you can wait then leave it till May/June


Lots will be coming out then, my favorites at the moment are the Asus offerings the slider and ther transformer.......


Both look great for different uses.


http://cebit2011.asus.com/archives/c...n-at-ces-2011/


http://www.reghardware.com/2011/03/1...ee_pad_slider/


http://www.reghardware.com/2011/01/05/ces_asus_eee_pad/
Big_Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 21:24
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,215
Advent Vega has some good support.
250.
I've just got one, do you know where there is info about using a 3g sim with them?
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 21:32
Big_Ted
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,573
I've just got one, do you know where there is info about using a 3g sim with them?
There is not sim slot


read http://android.modaco.com/index.php?...e=%2B3G+dongle for info

also great site for modding android etc for it
Big_Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 21:35
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,215
There is not sim slot


read http://android.modaco.com/index.php?...e=%2B3G+dongle for info

also great site for modding android etc for it

That'll teach me to trust a Curry's 'Sales person'.

I wasn't too worried as I thought I might be able to use the USB port with the dongle, and that I would probably have to mod it any way.

I've seen the modaco site, it looks very good.

I've tried using my laptop as a wifi access point with the dongle but can't connect the vega to it yet.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 21:43
Big_Ted
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,573
That'll teach me to trust a Curry's 'Sales person'.

I wasn't too worried as I thought I might be able to use the USB port with the dongle, and that I would probably have to mod it any way.

I've seen the modaco site, it looks very good.

I've tried using my laptop as a wifi access point with the dongle but can't connect the vega to it yet.


I got one of these

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B002SXMH1...SIN=B002SXMH12


Share your 3G internet
Creates a Wi-Fi hotspot
High Speed Wireless-N
Roam where 3G signal is weak (Works with ALL 3G USB Modems)
Share Internet anywhere


Battery works for up to 7 hours.

It even works with maps ap on ipad to work out your location same as home wifi, used it to find my car after a long walk in a strange city

No need to mod the Vega then.......
Big_Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 21:58
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,215
I got one of these

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B002SXMH1...SIN=B002SXMH12


Share your 3G internet
Creates a Wi-Fi hotspot
High Speed Wireless-N
Roam where 3G signal is weak (Works with ALL 3G USB Modems)
Share Internet anywhere


Battery works for up to 7 hours.

It even works with maps ap on ipad to work out your location same as home wifi, used it to find my car after a long walk in a strange city

No need to mod the Vega then.......
Looks interesting. Can the mains be plugged in all the time or does it interfere with the wifi?
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2011, 22:02
Big_Ted
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,573
Looks interesting. Can the mains be plugged in all the time or does it interfere with the wifi?

Yes it can.


I use it at work on my wifi ipad with mains adaptor.


Keeps it fully charged for when out.


Nice and small too so fits in a pocket nicely.
Big_Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 02:52
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 12,803
Thanks for the advice everyone . I have decided that I am going to save for another month & get myself the SmartBook Surfer 360 + 3G.

It has more or less the same specs as the Vega but with a sim card slot & GPS. So will save me having to buy a MIFI or portable router that shares my mobile 3G connection.

I know that it is quite pricey at 419.00 when compared to the Vega which is 250. But after reading the procedure of having to hack the Vega with a custom rom to get the Android market place & no official word that the Vega will be getting Honeycomb.

With taking this into consideration, I decided that the Surfer 360 would be a better model for me to get. Also the company selling it, state on their site that it is Honeycomb Ready & that the Honeycomb update will be arriving in April .

By all means, chances are that by the time I have the cash together, a better model will be out & I may change my mind yet again . But until that happens, I think that this could be my new toy.

Thanks again everyone for the advice, you have been a great help.

Smartbook Surfer 360
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 03:23
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,215
T
I know that it is quite pricey at 419.00 when compared to the Vega which is 250. But after reading the procedure of having to hack the Vega with a custom rom to get the Android market place & no official word that the Vega will be getting Honeycomb.
I've just flashed my vega with the madoco v8 rom and now have my dongle working so I can access the net using 3g.

It was very simple.

The worst bit for me was making sure the right usb driver was used with the vega as a device on widows.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 03:40
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 12,803
I've just flashed my vega with the madoco v8 rom and now have my dongle working so I can access the net using 3g.

It was very simple.

The worst bit for me was making sure the right usb driver was used with the vega as a device on widows.
That does sound good, but are you able to have GPS without the need of a separate bluetooth device connected to the Vega & also what is your overall opinion of the Vega I.E. :

Battery Life,
Video Playback in full screen.
Web Browsing & Flash

I have read on different reviews that the video playback isn't that impressive on the Vega with the flashed firmware.
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 03:54
Scrolllock
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,378
Thanks for the advice everyone . I have decided that I am going to save for another month & get myself the SmartBook Surfer 360 + 3G.

It has more or less the same specs as the Vega but with a sim card slot & GPS. So will save me having to buy a MIFI or portable router that shares my mobile 3G connection.

I know that it is quite pricey at 419.00 when compared to the Vega which is 250. But after reading the procedure of having to hack the Vega with a custom rom to get the Android market place & no official word that the Vega will be getting Honeycomb.

With taking this into consideration, I decided that the Surfer 360 would be a better model for me to get. Also the company selling it, state on their site that it is Honeycomb Ready & that the Honeycomb update will be arriving in April .

By all means, chances are that by the time I have the cash together, a better model will be out & I may change my mind yet again . But until that happens, I think that this could be my new toy.

Thanks again everyone for the advice, you have been a great help.

Smartbook Surfer 360
That;s one very generic and weak speced tablet to be spending that kind of money on. I'd keep looking or save up for somthing like the Motorola Xoom or consider the ipad
Scrolllock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 04:22
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,215
That does sound good, but are you able to have GPS without the need of a separate bluetooth device connected to the Vega & also what is your overall opinion of the Vega I.E. :

Battery Life,
Video Playback in full screen.
Web Browsing & Flash

I have read on different reviews that the video playback isn't that impressive on the Vega with the flashed firmware.
I'm still playing with it so not done anything too intensive.

The worst thing about the vega is the viewing angle.

You have to look at it straight on. If you are either side or above or below it, you start to loose quality. It's OK if it is just you using it but if you want to show someone else something one of you won't be able to view it in full quality.

I'd recommend seeing one in a shop if you can.

The Best thing is the HDMI slot. You can hook it up to a tv and then everyone can see it. Very good for presentations.

Other than that, it will depend what you want to use it for.

Battery life is good, I have it on mains most of the time though.

I use Rockplayer with mkv files and they play well.

Had a problem with some mpeg files but not sure what the problem is.

When V Player gets made for the vega it should be great as a video player. Don't forget about the viewing angle though.

I was only on the net for a little while just to check the 3g was working.

Seemed OK. I have flash 10.2 installed but didn't try it.

I'll use the Vega to show videos and presentations mostly.

Not sure about GPS btw as it's not something I'd use.

BTW you can enable USB host mode with the rom which means you can read usb memory sticks which is good.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 04:22
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 12,803
That;s one very generic and weak speced tablet to be spending that kind of money on. I'd keep looking or save up for somthing like the Motorola Xoom or consider the ipad
Thanks for that, I will look at the Xoom as I would prefer an Android device to the Apple Interface. I had an Iphone 4 & couldn't wait to get rid of it due to it's restrictions without Jailbreak, so no chance of splashing out on the Ipad.

Looking at the Specs of the Xoom it has a dual core processor like the SmartBook. I am not that bothered about the camera part as will only be using the tablet to browse the web use applications & watch the odd film.
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 04:27
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,215
Thanks for that, I will look at the Xoom as I would prefer an Android device to the Apple Interface. I had an Iphone 4 & couldn't wait to get rid of it due to it's restrictions without Jailbreak, so no chance of splashing out on the Ipad.
I got the Vega because it was cheap and cheerful.

I was thinking about the Xoom but the price was too much if I was only going to use it for rough work.

Also I like to do things like modding and not worry about wasting 500 quid on a bad flash.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 04:47
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 12,803
I got the Vega because it was cheap and cheerful.

I was thinking about the Xoom but the price was too much if I was only going to use it for rough work.

Also I like to do things like modding and not worry about wasting 500 quid on a bad flash.
Thank you ever so much on the information you provided in the detailed post .

I have just done a little bit of research & found that the company who makes the Advent Vega, is also the same company who makes the Point of View Mobii & the SmartBook Surfer 360.

The only difference is the branding & the fact that they have the 3G / Inbuilt GPS & Android Marketplace. Where as Advent have removed the 3G/GPS module & not included the Android Market Place. But in return they gave the budget price of 250.

I guessing that by the time you add the 3G Dongle & a decent Bluetooth GPS receiver, you would be looking at about 330 - 350. So a saving of about 100 for not having everything all in one.

I will wait & see what happens over the coming weeks & see if Advent are nice enough to put the marketplace in, as there are bound to be customer who dare not to mod the machines.
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 06:51
Scrolllock
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,378
Thanks for that, I will look at the Xoom as I would prefer an Android device to the Apple Interface. I had an Iphone 4 & couldn't wait to get rid of it due to it's restrictions without Jailbreak, so no chance of splashing out on the Ipad.

Looking at the Specs of the Xoom it has a dual core processor like the SmartBook. I am not that bothered about the camera part as will only be using the tablet to browse the web use applications & watch the odd film.
The Xoom also has 32gigs of storage and 1 gig of ram. It is also a product from a mainstream company.

What restrictions with iOS are you concerned about? Just curious.
Scrolllock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 16:00
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 12,803
The Xoom also has 32gigs of storage and 1 gig of ram. It is also a product from a mainstream company.

What restrictions with iOS are you concerned about? Just curious.
Ok with the iOS you don't have flash, you can only install applications which have been approved by Apple, you also can only manage your playlists and phones content through Itunes. When you transfer your music back on to your computer, it often renames the files to a bunch of letters & Bluetooth connectivity is limited unless you jailbreak it.

At least with Android, it is open source so you are able to put on what you want without the likes of itunes & you don't have to go through the process of having to register your unit to say 1 out of 5 computers.
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 16:11
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,215
Ok with the iOS you don't have flash, you can only install applications which have been approved by Apple, you also can only manage your playlists and phones content through Itunes. When you transfer your music back on to your computer, it often renames the files to a bunch of letters & Bluetooth connectivity is limited unless you jailbreak it.

At least with Android, it is open source so you are able to put on what you want without the likes of itunes & you don't have to go through the process of having to register your unit to say 1 out of 5 computers.
Yes that's why I like Android and Linux.

I love modding devices so they end up getting rid of bloat ware and running faster.

BTW I've got the 3g working better this afternoon and was using the net with Opera mini and the system browser.

It was very fast and great to use with touch screen.

P.s. I also used youtube and the videos played OK considering I was using a 3g connection.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 23:22
Scrolllock
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,378
Ok with the iOS you don't have flash, you can only install applications which have been approved by Apple, you also can only manage your playlists and phones content through Itunes. When you transfer your music back on to your computer, it often renames the files to a bunch of letters & Bluetooth connectivity is limited unless you jailbreak it.

At least with Android, it is open source so you are able to put on what you want without the likes of itunes & you don't have to go through the process of having to register your unit to say 1 out of 5 computers.
Flash is a given but Apple's approval of apps has't hindered the creation of by far the most apps made either for phones or tablets. What is it you wish to install. What is it you wish to do with Bluetooth that you say it is limited?

Their oversight also greatly lessens the chance of malware getting on your device, unlike the recent event with Android.

iTunes doesn't rename your music. You have something wrong with your system if that is the case.

Even for the most gadget friendly person 5 computers will never be reached so that point is irrelevant. And what "process" does that entail that you make it sound like a chore?
Scrolllock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 01:54
darkjedimaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Deathstar
Posts: 12,803
Flash is a given but Apple's approval of apps has't hindered the creation of by far the most apps made either for phones or tablets. What is it you wish to install. What is it you wish to do with Bluetooth that you say it is limited?

Ok if a friend has a say a Nokia or other brand of phone, they are unable to bluetooth me a photo as Apple won't allow you to pair a non Apple handset. The only way around this is by jailbreaking the phone & installing some bluetooth software from Cydia.



Their oversight also greatly lessens the chance of malware getting on your device, unlike the recent event with Android.

iTunes doesn't rename your music. You have something wrong with your system if that is the case.

Nothing wrong with my system, all you have to do is google the term Itunes renaming songs & you will see plenty of people who have had the same problem. If the ID3 tag doesn't match to the file name, then Itunes will rename the song to something silly like axioyul.

Even for the most gadget friendly person 5 computers will never be reached so that point is irrelevant. And what "process" does that entail that you make it sound like a chore?
There have been times before where I have had to reinstall the system & the itunes backup file has become corrupt. So won't allow me to copy back over the songs, from the created playlist as it thinks that it has come from a different computer. The chore is where itunes goes wrong & doesn't allow me to copy over the songs / playlists that I wish.

Okay, as for the 5 computers, I have a media centre with music on, a netbook with music on, a server with music on & a laptop with music on. I even have music on my Xbox 360.
darkjedimaster is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:17.