Options

Applying for a job you have no direct experience/qualifications for

ikkleosuikkleosu Posts: 11,494
Forum Member
✭✭
When applying for a job you have no direct experience of qualifications for, should you mention that in the cover letter, eg in saying something like "I realise I have no experience in XYZ but I believe my experience in ABC qualifies me"?

Or should you just tell them about the experiences you have and let them work it out, eg "i have many years performing these kind of duties which I believe would be transferable to the position advertised"?

Cheers!

Comments

• Options
    hustedhusted Posts: 5,287
    Forum Member
    ikkleosu wrote: »
    When applying for a job you have no direct experience of qualifications for, should you mention that in the cover letter, eg in saying something like "I realise I have no experience in XYZ but I believe my experience in ABC qualifies me"?

Or should you just tell them about the experiences you have and let them work it out, eg "i have many years performing these kind of duties which I believe would be transferable to the position advertised"?

Cheers!

Leave this bit out: "I have no experience in XYZ but"

Put this bit in: "I believe my experience in ABC qualifies me"

If you put the first bit, they might not even read the second bit. And its best to be positive all the way.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    husted wrote: »
    Leave this bit out: "I have no experience in XYZ but"

Put this bit in: "I believe my experience in ABC qualifies me"

If you put the first bit, they might not even read the second bit. And its best to be positive all the way.

Thanks, I suspected as thus but just needed confirmation. :)
  • Options
    Forum Member
    You could be more explicit : A qualifies my to do X, B qualifies my to do Y. Ticking things off one by one.

Good luck :)
  • Options
    mazeymazey Posts: 137,097
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭✭
    husted wrote: »