Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

What happened to the orange tmobile 3G share?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-03-2011, 15:42
andallthatjazz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,034
I'm with Orange & since the merge w/ T Mob the IE has since been running so damn slow!
andallthatjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-03-2011, 15:55
paulker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
3G network share was planned for 1st week in May. Just heard it's been postponed.
This is getting ridiculous. The orange network is now a pile of. We need more masts and capacity pronto.
paulker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2011, 00:40
Mystic Eddy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,648
3G network share was planned for 1st week in May. Just heard it's been postponed.
Are you aware of a new timetable for the launch yet?
Mystic Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2011, 00:53
DXRulz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 4,131
Why would a phone stick itself into Orange T-Mobile mode in a full Orange signal area?

Have they started closing down masts already?
DXRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2011, 19:18
farmer giles2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Devon
Posts: 104
I am having problems with orange mobile internet i have Edge connection from a mast only maybe half a mile across ground get full bar signal but at times i don't even get the E symbols with no data symbol i only get this problem from this mast but i know of maybe 5 friends of mine with same problem and i know of 1 person in another village/town using from edge with same problem so not sure how big a problem this is i go to another town and just get gprs connection fine it's been like this for a month i have been messaging orange helpers through Facebook this is being looked into but i have been querying them on the 3G share thing it is still on course to start soon apparently not sure how it is going to work with an orange mast really close if they share from Tmobile/ 3 masts the only 3G mast is 3 which is i would say 4 miles plus i have another Tmobile mast about same distance away no 3 on that mast on the same mast is orange neither are 3G unless they put cells to share 3G on the mast near me i can't see me getting 3G i only get 2 bars on Tmobile and can harldy get it in are farm house dunno time will tell.
farmer giles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2011, 21:18
ram jam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Barnsley
Posts: 272
I am having problems with orange mobile internet i have Edge connection from a mast only maybe half a mile across ground get full bar signal but at times i don't even get the E symbols with no data symbol i only get this problem from this mast but i know of maybe 5 friends of mine with same problem and i know of 1 person in another village/town using from edge with same problem so not sure how big a problem this is i go to another town and just get gprs connection fine it's been like this for a month i have been messaging orange helpers through Facebook this is being looked into but i have been querying them on the 3G share thing it is still on course to start soon apparently not sure how it is going to work with an orange mast really close if they share from Tmobile/ 3 masts the only 3G mast is 3 which is i would say 4 miles plus i have another Tmobile mast about same distance away no 3 on that mast on the same mast is orange neither are 3G unless they put cells to share 3G on the mast near me i can't see me getting 3G i only get 2 bars on Tmobile and can harldy get it in are farm house dunno time will tell.
Too hard to follow with no punctuation.
ram jam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 08:26
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,131
Too hard to follow with no punctuation.
no kidding!
Thine Wonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 09:15
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,842
Why would a phone stick itself into Orange T-Mobile mode in a full Orange signal area?

Have they started closing down masts already?
2 possible reasons. Local mast is down for work, or your phone is on manual network selection
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 09:15
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,842
Are you aware of a new timetable for the launch yet?
No, I'm afraid not.
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 16:32
farmer giles2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Devon
Posts: 104
sorry was a long post, My local mast is not down as it works some times not others could be no connection anytime of day it's suppose to being looked into by Orange this has gone on a month now, when i don't get Edge connection i just get the wine glass shaped symbol no data symbol but still get full bar signal, My phone is on automatic selection.
farmer giles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2011, 18:46
farmer giles2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Devon
Posts: 104
sorry thouht you were refering to my post, I was messaging Orange helpers through Facebook and they say the 3G share thing is still on course they say it's a rumour that it's posponed although you do wonder how much orange CS and Orange Helpers know, but you would of thought someone must know
farmer giles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 00:27
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,842
sorry thouht you were refering to my post, I was messaging Orange helpers through Facebook and they say the 3G share thing is still on course they say it's a rumour that it's posponed although you do wonder how much orange CS and Orange Helpers know, but you would of thought someone must know
I'm telling you, it's been postponed.
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 13:46
farmer giles2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Devon
Posts: 104
I'm telling you, it's been postponed.
so are orange CS and Orange helpers just fobbing people off or what or doesn't anyone at orange no anything either ?

Any ideas howw the 3g share will work ?

im over 4 miles away from my nearest T mobile mast there is 3 on the same mast 3g but according to ofcoms site finder the T mobile cells are only gsm altough now i do a Network search i do get Orange - T mobile 3g as a network but i can't log on to it i can only pick this up out doors so not very strong clearly,

There is an Orange mast less than half a mile away from me i get good signal from it but been suffering with internet last month, This mast is a big one it is 34 meters tall propper tower would they fit 3g to it do you think ?
farmer giles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2011, 13:54
paulker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
I have asked several people in Business customer service and they insist that the 3 g share is happening in the next couple of weeks.
paulker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 09:13
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,842
OK.... don't shoot the messenger
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 12:31
farmer giles2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Devon
Posts: 104
Maybe they are still ironing out problems with the 2g share but they should be truthfull about what is happening !

I am using Edge connection there's been problems with that since beging of march it's not just the mast near me as a friend is having same problem using from another Edge mast the connection is intermittent all day long at times there is not even E symbol or Data symbol either Orange knows about this but nothing has happened for a whole month
farmer giles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2011, 18:10
steffangl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 215
I am also eager for the 3G merger to happen.

At the moment I am getting truly terrible 3G data speeds on Orange - sometimes there is no data throughput at all, despite having a full 3G signal. This happens in multiple areas and on multiple devices so sounds like a general congestion issue to me.

Just done a iPhone Speedtest.com test - 8kbps down, ping 687ms.

I've heard T-Mobile speeds are, on the whole, quite good. Hopefully that won't change too much when lots of Orange users start locking their phones to T-Mobile signal.
steffangl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2011, 02:28
brynhyfrydd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Colchester
Posts: 460
It appears that the process has started as there have been adverts on sky tonight.

I have just joined T-Mobile this weekend via a 30 day rolling contract and the signals so far are excellent. I was an existing orange customer and the signal was excellent also.
brynhyfrydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2011, 02:28
SkyPaulusPlus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 3,782
tmobile looks like it has a better network. anyway the share is supposed to be happening by the end of this month but not much has been broadcasted yet

some dongles have been given access to the tmo network on 2g, 3g for phones should come soon
SkyPaulusPlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2011, 07:15
farmer giles2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Devon
Posts: 104
it appears that 3g share when rolled out will be done in stages of areas does anyone know what what areas and when ?
farmer giles2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2011, 09:34
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,842
Orange broadband dongles and iPad sims have their data traffic routed through T-Mobiles backhaul and have done for some time now.

3G share will be rolled out in one go, as it's a network configuration, AFAIK. However, like I've said a thousand times already, it's not happening yet. It's been delayed.
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2011, 11:21
SilentLoner
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aylesbury
Posts: 3,995
Orange broadband dongles and iPad sims have their data traffic routed through T-Mobiles backhaul and have done for some time now.

3G share will be rolled out in one go, as it's a network configuration, AFAIK. However, like I've said a thousand times already, it's not happening yet. It's been delayed.
It looks like T-mobile are getting shafted in the "merger"
SilentLoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2011, 13:47
huwdw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St Albans
Posts: 618
It looks like T-mobile are getting shafted in the "merger"
I actually think three are getting shafted the most and they aren't even part of the merger!
huwdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2011, 16:32
Mystic Eddy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,648
I actually think three are getting shafted the most and they aren't even part of the merger!
They are part of the MBNL which EE are also taking part in, so they will get use of the merged networks, same as MVNOs such as Virgin will when it's done, so they're not losing out.
Mystic Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2011, 17:03
unklesam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 906
So to clarify, I am on Orange, once this is complete will I be able to roam on 3 for 3G? They are the best for coverage around here.
unklesam is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:55.