Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

USB ports on Sky boxes


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2011, 02:27
Simon Rodgers
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,615

Can anyone please tell me why Sky boxes have USB sockets on them?

Can you connect them to a PC? If so, what things can you do with them?
Simon Rodgers is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-06-2011, 02:37
River 07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,337
Can anyone please tell me why Sky boxes have USB sockets on them?

Can you connect them to a PC? If so, what things can you do with them?
I am going my what I remember reading years ago: There is no use for it other than being a USB charger.

I remember people saying Sky had it for possible future use, but I have never heard of that future being here yet, if it ever comes.

If that's the case, it was a bad idea and waste of money.
River 07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 03:27
zexstream
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cutting the grass at OT
Posts: 5,585
If I remember right they were intended for portable hard drives, but because of rights issues the idea was scrapped.

I just plug my PS3 charger into it.
zexstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 10:48
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,231
If I remember right they were intended for portable hard drives, but because of rights issues the idea was scrapped.
No, it was added for use with a 'Sky Player', a portable LCD unit that would allow you to download programmes from the box and watch them elsewhere (kids in the car etc.)

In the event the device was never released, due (as you say) to problems over rights issues.

So I suppose it's not for 'future' use, it's a left over from 'past' use (that never happened)

As long as the socket is there, there's always the hope that it could be used in the future though - but as Sky never utilised the SATA port, despite it been their largest complaint, I'm not holding my breath.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 10:52
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,872
They started fitting them to Sky+ boxes to enable use of portable media devices. Pace did produce and demonstrate such a device but it never yet has been put into production because of DRM "rights" issues.

Various connectors have been fitted over the years for "future use" and never used by Sky - including a CI type interface inside early standard boxes (which CIELPlus did produce a USB interface for to connect direct to a PC) and the esata interface on the HD boxes.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 11:02
bbv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 470
Even though they have never been used, and no plans to use them it makes sense for Sky still to include them to future proof the boxes for any ideas that may arise in the future.
bbv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 11:56
afficionado
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 16
Intrigued... just tried to use it a USB charger and it doesn't work. Amstrad DRX890.

Tried my Pace HD Multiroom box and that works as a USB charger.
afficionado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 13:01
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,231
Intrigued... just tried to use it a USB charger and it doesn't work. Amstrad DRX890.

Tried my Pace HD Multiroom box and that works as a USB charger.
Some boxes have power enabled on the port, some don't - it's also often changed by software updates - so you can't rely on your Pace always having a powered socket.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 15:27
Firthy2002
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Leeds
Posts: 1,175
Like a lot of other consumer electronics products with unused ports on them (FireWire on the Sony PS2 anyone?), added with grand plans in mind that never saw the light of day.
Firthy2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 16:05
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,554
Sky could have brought a lot of innovative products to they Sky platform but decided to let it stagnate instead. Sky have mostly relied on their huge advertising budget and the promise of lots of channels to keep the company afloat.

They have done the bare minimum to keep the platform alive. Sky+ introduced 10 years ago. Sky HD introduced 5 years ago. As for the crawl out of Anytime Plus using the Ethernet port which could have been done years ago Sky 3D is a waste of space.
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2011, 11:20
derek500
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 17,734
My Thomson is in an enclosed cupboard, I plug a couple of netbook fans in to keep the space cooler.
derek500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2011, 17:42
Stuey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 596
Is there any way to turn the USB voltage on my Samsung HD box on? Would be handy if I could get it to charge my phone.
Stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2011, 18:09
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,872
Is there any way to turn the USB voltage on my Samsung HD box on? Would be handy if I could get it to charge my phone.
No that is solely down to any firmware Sky download to your box.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2011, 19:09
sergeant121
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 185
Same 'it never happened' as the Interactive Card slot then?
sergeant121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2011, 22:34
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,872
Same 'it never happened' as the Interactive Card slot then?
The interactive slot was used at least twice I believe - once was for a "loyalty card" collecting points for watching a certain channel and IIRC it could also be used in conjunction with Sky's own credit cards.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2011, 08:31
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,231
The interactive slot was used at least twice I believe - once was for a "loyalty card" collecting points for watching a certain channel and IIRC it could also be used in conjunction with Sky's own credit cards.
Yes, I heard that as well.

But if we're listing unused 'features' the PCMIA slot at the back was never used at all (at least officially) - the original plan was for a Firewire card to be fitted there, so as to feed a digital VCR (shows how long ago it was ).
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2011, 13:41
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,872
Yes, I heard that as well.

But if we're listing unused 'features' the PCMIA slot at the back was never used at all (at least officially) - the original plan was for a Firewire card to be fitted there, so as to feed a digital VCR (shows how long ago it was ).
Ciel Plus did produce and still market a card that fits that slot and gives a USB port and connection to a PC - unfortunately only works on early Amstrad and Pace 2200 boxes as several data lines were changed on later boxes. See here - http://www.cielplus.com/
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2011, 16:01
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,231
Ciel Plus did produce and still market a card that fits that slot and gives a USB port and connection to a PC - unfortunately only works on early Amstrad and Pace 2200 boxes as several data lines were changed on later boxes. See here - http://www.cielplus.com/
But that wasn't anything to do with Sky, it was completely unofficial.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:15.