Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Channel 5 HD on Freeview - whats the latest?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-09-2012, 13:57
jzee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 16,660
It doesn't seem to be up to date as it doesn't list the 4th advertisement for the slot that occured in April 2012, but I presume it still specified PSB use. Maybe BBC will just use it as an HD red button?
jzee is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-09-2012, 14:04
Colin_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Essex
Posts: 2,907
The BBC has been given permission to use the capacity itself or sublet it. Subletting does not needs to be to a PSB. BBC FTV Ltd are advertising the capacity for lease now, not OFCOM.

The confusion arises because the OFCOM licence that would have been issued from the first three advertisements would have been restricted to PSBs - but we are past that now.
Colin_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2012, 15:43
Restorer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,037

The confusion arises because the OFCOM licence that would have been issued from the first three advertisements would have been restricted to PSBs - but we are past that now.
Thanks for the info. So does this mean that literally any channel with the dosh will be given the slot or are the BBC expected to exercise some kind of judgement call? Any idea for how long the licence will be granted?
Restorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2012, 16:09
figrin_dan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,354
I'm not sure which I'd prefer. One would (hopefully) go towards the current BBC channel's output and the other would (hopefully) mean another decent channel.
figrin_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 15:08
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 22,179

This vvv:

"Thank you for your recent enquiry regarding Channel 5 HD.

While we do not have any current plans to launch this channel on Freesat and Freeview, we are keeping the option under review for the future and your interest in seeing it made available on these platforms has been noted in our Viewer Enquiries Report. This is circulated throughout the company and seen by all relevant personnel.

Thank you for your interest in Channel 5."
The above is the current official line from Channel 5 as of yesterday. It's a case of maybe sometime but not now or in the near future and they are certainly letting their viewers down.
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 15:21
SimonB79
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,920
This vvv:



The above is the current official line from Channel 5 as of yesterday. It's a case of maybe sometime but not now or in the near future and they are certainly letting their viewers down.
not having channel5HD makes freeview abit of a joke doesnt it?
SimonB79 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 15:36
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
not having channel5HD makes freeview abit of a joke doesnt it?
Not really but, as a PSB, some pressure should have been put on Channel 5 to get the HD version on all platforms. I'd have thought that the PSB licence renewal would have been an ideal opportunity to do this.
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 17:44
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59,058
not having channel5HD makes freeview abit of a joke doesnt it?
Not Freeview, but more like Channel 5 and/or the licence being the joke.
mossy2103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 20:42
ntscuser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,216
not having channel5HD makes freeview abit of a joke doesnt it?
There are Freeview channels I'd much rather have in HD than Channel 5.
ntscuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 21:32
AJRevitt
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Yorkshire, Emley Moor TX
Posts: 1,053
There are Freeview channels I'd much rather have in HD than Channel 5.
Seconded. I would happily see the slot go to someone else.
AJRevitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 23:28
Colin_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Essex
Posts: 2,907
I think one of the main problems is that Sky are making money out of upselling HD channels to their subscribers. Thus they are happy to subsidise channels to broadcast in HD as long as they are kept off Freeview (which would be a disincentive to pay their HD subs).

Whilst this money stream is there commercial broadcasters are going to continue to favour taking Skys shilling, as it's probably more money than the extra they would make from commercials from Freeview HD carriage at the moment.
Colin_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 01:29
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
probably more money than the extra they would make from commercials from Freeview HD carriage at the moment.
As anyone wishing to view the content can still watch the SD channel, any additional advertising revenue from adding the HD channel would probably be quite small.
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 10:03
Mickey_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,871
Not to mention you lose specific regional advertising with only having a single version of an HD channel too.
Mickey_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 10:27
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,781
Does Five *have* any regional advertising?
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 11:17
Mickey_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,871
Yes, the regional variations are what takes up a lot of the room on their satellite transponder. I think there's about five in all.
Mickey_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 11:20
DragonQ
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,326
It's not the number of channels on the transponder that causes the poor quality though, it's their out-of-date encoders. Channel 4 manage to have the same number of channels per transponder without issues.

But yes, they have 5 regional variations.
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 17:43
Paddy C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,953
The latest?

It's not on Freeview, it's not coming any time soon, and probably won't be coming at all.
Paddy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 18:03
jimbo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 3,634
It's not the number of channels on the transponder that causes the poor quality though, it's their out-of-date encoders. Channel 4 manage to have the same number of channels per transponder without issues.

But yes, they have 5 regional variations.
C4 have 6 regional variations. C5 has 5.
jimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:37.