Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

BT Reveals 114 New UK Locations for its Superfast Fibre Broadband


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-01-2013, 18:04
Mystic Eddy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,662
Is it possible that BT Infinity can be over subscribed to? I wonder because my local exchange was enabled during october (Just as I signed up to a 12 month contract on the old ADSL with aquiss) Anyway, My exchange was enabled and I could get 41.6MB down and 6.9MB up I think it was. Now I check my exchange and all of a sudden it's not available? Is it possible?
Yes it is. The fibre cabinets can only take a certain number of connections - this is often less than the PCP it is connected to. It could be that the cabinet simply needs a new line card installing along with a tie pair cable to enable more subscribers. However, it's also possible a new cabinet will be required. This can happen when Openreach underestimate demand and install a small 128 line cab. I've read of the larger 288 line cabs becoming full necessitating the installation of another twin, too.
Mystic Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 13-01-2013, 18:06
JSemple3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,478
Yes it is. The fibre cabinets can only take a certain number of connections - this is often less than the PCP it is connected to. It could be that the cabinet simply needs a new line card installing along with a tie pair cable to enable more subscribers. However, it's also possible a new cabinet will be required. This can happen when Openreach underestimate demand and install a small 128 line cab. I've read of the larger 288 line cabs becoming full necessitating the installation of another twin, too.
I guess that explains why it's mysteriously disappeared again. Oh well.
JSemple3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2013, 18:12
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,180
my exchange gets it in a few months.

But trying to figure out prices
going off
http://www.productsandservices.bt.co...s?Infinity=yes

means you have to take the phone with them in order to get infinity?
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2013, 18:29
coopermanyorks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Gods Own County
Posts: 20,012
my exchange gets it in a few months..............
My exchange got it quite a while ago and BT are still telling me its spring 2013 before my part of town gets it

This date keeps getting pushed back though
coopermanyorks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2013, 18:32
coopermanyorks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Gods Own County
Posts: 20,012
...............
means you have to take the phone with them in order to get infinity?


seems pretty a standard requirement , to me ?
coopermanyorks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2013, 21:08
Kolin Klingon
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,198
Oh look! Dover gets it again and Folkestone gets left out!
Kolin Klingon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 10:56
Nick_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 473
Is it possible that BT Infinity can be over subscribed to? I wonder because my local exchange was enabled during october (Just as I signed up to a 12 month contract on the old ADSL with aquiss) Anyway, My exchange was enabled and I could get 41.6MB down and 6.9MB up I think it was. Now I check my exchange and all of a sudden it's not available? Is it possible?
Could be considering its still under construction and various other providers clog it up.

I think Ofcom has ruined BT's finances to roll out Broadband, too much competition has short changed BT over the years.
Nick_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 18:37
*MikeB*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,807
Could be considering its still under construction and various other providers clog it up.

I think Ofcom has ruined BT's finances to roll out Broadband, too much competition has short changed BT over the years.
Their profits wouldn't suggest that.
*MikeB* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2013, 11:31
richardcdon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 465
My exchange was enabled dec 2010 and I'm still waiting bt just say il get it by 2014 thanks
richardcdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2013, 16:57
JSemple3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,478
I was looking at the fibre box thingy in my area today and BT have put the Fibre Broadband is here sticker on it now (which I guess is the same as your ordinary infinity)
JSemple3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 10:55
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,912
Is there any chance of me getting FTTP on Demand when it comes out?
The exchange is just across the road about 25 meters how much could that cost?
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 12:16
Rossby41
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 596
Is there any chance of me getting FTTP on Demand when it comes out?
The exchange is just across the road about 25 meters how much could that cost?
Probably you are talking hundreds of pounds.
Rossby41 is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 12:35
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,912
That is not good then.
It might be much cheaper option to get new phone and 4G maybe
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 00:12
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,912
I notice there now two green box things out side the main Post Office in town I think this is about 200 to 250 meters from our road however the post code still says its unavailable but maybe its just not been updated?
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:17.