Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

BBC HD to close, replaced with BBC Two HD


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2011, 14:11
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 57,919
There is quite a lot of HD in children's programming. Remember the proposal is for it to be removed from BBC1. Which rather makes the recent fanfare about Blue Peter's move to Salford and HD production a bit of a nonsense.
Unless of course Blue Peter remains a BBC one programme (as it always has been).
mossy2103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-10-2011, 14:16
Ray Cathode
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Guildford / Crystal Palace
Posts: 13,114
I suspect when the BBC management wake up and realise the contradiction in their plans, children's programmes will be back on BBC ONE & BBC TWO especially as they have no watershed problem.
Ray Cathode is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 14:53
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 57,919
Well, that's what the Public Consultation is all about, so as long as those issues are raised .......
mossy2103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 16:37
technologist
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London
Posts: 6,076
Well I'm quite disappointed about this. There isn't enough HD content to fill the current BBC HD channel as it is.
As the BBC has ALL new programming HD - why is there not enough to fill the HD channel?
technologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 17:00
late8
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,030
DAM - That means no HD Family Guy.
late8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 17:48
ejstubbs
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 353
When I get home, I must tot up the number of BBC 3 and 4 programmes that are shown in HD on BBC HD. I don't think it's actually that many, is it ? (I exclude repeat showings)
One example close my heart was the HD-remastered version of 'Civilisation' which was shown only on BBC HD (though I suppose at a push you could call that a repeat showing...) I guess I'll just have to hope that content of that nature (if they can ever afford to do any more) would be aired on BBC Two in future.
ejstubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 17:51
ejstubbs
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 353
DAM - That means no HD Family Guy.
Are you being serious? I've never been able to justify the extra HDD space which would be required to record the HD broadcasts of block-coloured cartoons like 'The Simpsons' and 'Family Guy'!
ejstubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 19:58
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,668
As the BBC has ALL new programming HD - why is there not enough to fill the HD channel?
Well there certainly isn't at the moment. Much of BBC1 HD's programming isn't and the BBC HD channel spends loads of time broadcasting "HD Preview"
kasg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 23:40
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,125
I'm going to miss the HD test card once BBC HD goes.
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 23:55
Ray Cathode
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Guildford / Crystal Palace
Posts: 13,114
I'm going to miss the HD test card once BBC HD goes.
But you will have "Pages from Ceefax" in High Definition to look forward to instead. The BBC have no money to put anything else on.
Ray Cathode is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:47
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,668
I'm going to miss the HD test card once BBC HD goes.
Geeky question - at what times is this broadcast?
kasg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 10:00
XxBlaKOuTZxX
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edinburgh / Scotland
Posts: 2,773
That is totally incorrect for two reasons, everything on BBC2 HD will be in HD

Reason 1

The BBC has already stated that they are moving slowly to all HD Production from 2012, so after 2012 everything will be in HD on BBC1 and BBC2
and maybe other channels too, we'll see

Reason 2

It is mentioned in the BBC Arial Article that BBC2 HD will be solely in HD meaning only HD programming will be on their until there is another Switchover,
whereby everyone will need new TVs or set top boxes to watch in HD or not as the case may be, as I do not think a lot of people can afford new TVs,
just to watch things in HD unless the Price comes down a lot with high demand - unlikely

In addition, you cannot watch HD programmes in HD from a CRT TV that a lot of people I know still have to this day,
so they will be needing to upgrade their TVs to watch things properly in HD
and Scart Leads and Sockets will need to be replaced with the HDMI equivalent
Hi-Def Tv's are becoming cheaper as are HD boxes/recorders. You can get some excellent deals on them.
its the new 3D smart Tv's that can be expensive but if u just want a 32inch HD screen then shop around.
XxBlaKOuTZxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 11:12
Muzer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Andover, Hampshire, UK
Posts: 3,571
Geeky question - at what times is this broadcast?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/bbcintern...rom_the_h.html
Muzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 11:23
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,668
So, 90 seconds every two hours. I'll try to find some time to kill!
kasg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 12:00
technologist
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London
Posts: 6,076
One example close my heart was the HD-remastered version of 'Civilisation' which was shown only on BBC HD (though I suppose at a push you could call that a repeat showing...) I guess I'll just have to hope that content of that nature (if they can ever afford to do any more) would be aired on BBC Two in future.
It Was stunning - But I can imagine if it was made now the outcry as it was shot on 35mm film ( about the only BBC TV programme shot in this format) rather than the usual 16mm
at some tremendous cost ... and the shooting was done episodically not all shots from one place at one time - so a lot of travel expenditure
But Am I glad that they made it .. and that the BBC has restored it.
technologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 12:53
Mark C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 4,980
I'm going to miss the HD test card once BBC HD goes.
It could replace Pages From Ceefax during BBC 2's down time ?
Mark C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2011, 23:44
RickyB
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 343
It could replace Pages From Ceefax during BBC 2's down time ?
Pages from Ceefax "in vision" is finishing in April 2012 with the teletext version closing with analogue in October of that year (Northern Ireland will be the last place to shut down Ceefax).

So they'll need to put something in its place. But I don't think it could be a static Test Card due to burn-in concerns. It'd have to be like the current BBC HD preview loop.
RickyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2011, 18:33
Mark C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 4,980
Pages from Ceefax "in vision" is finishing in April 2012 with the teletext version closing with analogue in October of that year (Northern Ireland will be the last place to shut down Ceefax).
How predictably London-centric of them !

So they'll need to put something in its place. But I don't think it could be a static Test Card due to burn-in concerns.
No more or less risk of burn in than from news channel tickers, 'PRESS RED' DOGs, or those MHEG captions for the non 24/7 channels ?
Mark C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2011, 19:17
DragonQ
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,191
I HATE the "press red" graphics. Fortunately, I don't get them with my HTPC but every time I go to a friend's house I have to press the Green button pretty much every time a programme starts.
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2011, 02:53
Sexbomb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 12,029
Pages from Ceefax "in vision" is finishing in April 2012
Source?
Sexbomb is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2011, 14:55
TV Time Mike
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northwest England
Posts: 806
So will there only be the HD version of BB2 running or will it run along side the SD version?

May seem a stupid question but the responses don't seem, to me, to clearly state which situation will the case.

As a general additional question if I was to get a Freeview HD PVR and hook it up to an old analouge TV via a scaret lead would I be able to view HD channels, I know if I could view them they would be in SD, but would I be able to view them?

I currently watch via an old TV hooked up to VCR which is inturn hooked up to a DTR for TopUp TV. The TUTV box is linked to the VCR via a scaret lead.

I have asked in one or two shops and not got a valid response
TV Time Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2011, 15:27
PhilH36
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London
Posts: 13,840
As a general additional question if I was to get a Freeview HD PVR and hook it up to an old analouge TV via a scaret lead would I be able to view HD channels, I know if I could view them they would be in SD, but would I be able to view them?
Yes,this will work.
PhilH36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2011, 15:29
DragonQ
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,191
It would also look better than the SD channel (due to codec and bit rate improvements).
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2011, 15:41
technologist
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: London
Posts: 6,076
So will there only be the HD version of BB2 running or will it run along side the SD version?
The intention is to have a HD only playout (As for BBC one) - saving the costs of playing out BBC HD...
and to not have any National variations - thus saving 3 playout suites.....in Belfast Cardiff and Glasgow.

As a general additional question if I was to get a Freeview HD PVR and hook it up to an old analouge TV via a scaret lead would I be able to view HD channels, I know if I could view them they would be in SD, but would I be able to view them?
YES ...... and a Freeview HD receiver is very clever at dealing with retunes as well...
technologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2011, 19:25
kruador
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Reading
Posts: 449
So will there only be the HD version of BB2 running or will it run along side the SD version?
The intention is to have a HD only playout (As for BBC one) - saving the costs of playing out BBC HD...
and to not have any National variations - thus saving 3 playout suites.....in Belfast Cardiff and Glasgow.
BBC Two in SD will continue for the immediate future. There are specific requirements in its service licence for providing the Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales services; the BBC Trust would surely have to consult on removing these. In the BBC Executive's DQF summary for Scotland, they say "BBC Two Scotland will be maintained in SD until at least 2015 while we review its long-term future." Similar statements appear in the Wales and Northern Ireland documents.

BBC Two HD will be a simulcast of BBC Two England, much as BBC One HD is currently a simulcast of BBC One London, except in periods set aside for regional opt-outs (generally news). Or, rather, the SD services are a simulcast of the HD sustaining service from London. All that will happen is that the sustaining SD stream, from which the nation or region opts out, is or will be derived from the HD stream, rather than being a separate SD playout.

BBC One HD is soon to get Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales variants, to allow those nations to run their own schedules in HD. That means an upgrade of the sustaining service sent to the nations, to make it HD, and carriage of the modified service back to the central multiplexing centre for distribution. On Freeview, it's statmuxed with BBC HD/BBC Two HD, ITV1 HD/STV HD or in future UTV HD, and 4hd or S4C Clirlun in Wales. There's also satellite back-up distribution where currently all services on BBC A and BBC B multiplexes - except Sky Sports, for Mux B before switchover - are transmitted on the same transponder, in case the fibre-optic feeds break down. For satellite viewers, BBC One HD and BBC HD are currently on the same transponder and combined with an ITV1 HD variant; the BBC will need more capacity for BBC One HD national opt-outs and may still need to share with someone. 4hd is currently looking pretty lonely on its transponder on Astra 1N, which is running at 42 Mbps, enough for four HD services.

Practically speaking, any switch to HD-only transmission has to wait until a sufficient number of people have voluntarily purchased HD equipment - that is, equipment that can decode the newer DVB-T2 standard and MPEG-4 AVC video encoding. Even if you only have an SD TV set, you should now strongly consider getting a DVB-T2 Freeview HD box, if you haven't already bought a box, or if you need to buy a replacement.

For analogue switch-off, the government set a threshold of 50% of viewers switching to some form of digital TV, and widespread availability of equipment before announcing a compulsory timetable. That was reached, and the plan announced, in 2004. It would still take 8 years for the compulsory switchover to complete, after that point. The PSBs' HD services should be approximately equal in coverage to their SD equivalents, so the problem of availability doesn't arise, but there may be greater resistance to buying yet more replacement equipment just a short time after the first switchover. In addition, many surveys indicate that picture quality is actually less important to the majority of viewers than variety of content; HD might have trouble 'crossing the chasm' as, at least on Freeview, it only duplicates services that are already available to everyone in SD. Relying on natural turnover of equipment may take a very, very long time.
kruador is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:17.