Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

BBC HD to close, replaced with BBC Two HD


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-10-2012, 23:53
RickyB
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 343
I think the BBC announced it at some point, but of course it carried on!
RickyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 23-10-2012, 09:42
Mickey_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,871
4hd is currently looking pretty lonely on its transponder on Astra 1N, which is running at 42 Mbps, enough for four HD services.
Pretty sure 4HD shares it's transponder with 4Seven now after being converted back to DVB-S.
Mickey_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 10:00
Paddy C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,953
It does, and I'm also guessing it will house More 4 HD and Film 4 HD for Sky when they launch soon.
Paddy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 10:06
DragonQ
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,326
Yep, 33 Mbps for 3 HD channels and 1 SD channel.
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 10:11
Mickey_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,871
Perhaps Sky will host More4-HD and Film4-HD while E4-HD moves onto the 4HD / 4Seven transponder and goes FTA?

Just a thought.
Mickey_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 10:21
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,819
Reminder - this is the Freeview forum, please stop going on about transponders and Astras!
kasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 11:06
Radiomike
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,533
Reminder - this is the Freeview forum, please stop going on about transponders and Astras!
...not to mention that the recent posts have nothing to do with the thread which is about BBC HD / BBC Two HD
Radiomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 11:11
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,778
Reminder - this is the Freeview forum, please stop going on about transponders and Astras!
Given the topic this thread is in the wrong forum anyway.

I suggest it be moved to Broadcasting.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 11:24
Paddy C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,953
Perhaps Sky will host More4-HD and Film4-HD while E4-HD moves onto the 4HD / 4Seven transponder and goes FTA?

Just a thought.
Oh look, did you see that? That pig almost hit a tree. Fly higher you swine!
Paddy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 12:07
Mickey_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,871
Given the topic this thread is in the wrong forum anyway.

I suggest it be moved to Broadcasting.
I agree. It's certainly covers more than just Freeview.
Mickey_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 13:35
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
To be fair, the thread was having a nice little snooze until Ricky got round to replying to Sexbomb.

And I never thought I'd be typing that sentence
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 17:16
Dansky+HD
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,142
Given the topic this thread is in the wrong forum anyway.

I suggest it be moved to Broadcasting.
They are FTA channels and are in the correct section.
Also is a broadcasting question by default also a Sky+HD and Virgin Media question.
Dansky+HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 17:19
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,778
You seem to be confusing FTA with Freeview.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 23:16
Sexbomb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 12,422
To be fair, the thread was having a nice little snooze until Ricky got round to replying to Sexbomb.

And I never thought I'd be typing that sentence
and took him a year to do so
Sexbomb is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2012, 00:04
RickyB
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 343
and took him a year to do so
Yes, sorry about that...!
RickyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 21:22
tomatospencer
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 38
I wonder if when BBC HD closes, it will jut silently morph into BBC Two HD overnight, or will there be a static caption for say a few hours saying something like:

<BBC HD LOGO>

AS OF <DATE OF CLOSURE> BBC HD HAS NOW CLOSED.
BBC TWO HD WILL LAUNCH HERE IN <COUNTDOWN TIMER>
tomatospencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 21:24
a516
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 4,840
I wonder if when BBC HD closes, it will jut silently morph into BBC Two HD overnight, or will there be a static caption for say a few hours saying something like:

<BBC HD LOGO>

AS OF <DATE OF CLOSURE> BBC HD HAS NOW CLOSED.
BBC TWO HD WILL LAUNCH HERE IN <COUNTDOWN TIMER>
I should imagine a seamless transition. The BBC HD channel closes for the night, a preview loop plays and BBC Two HD appears in the morning.
a516 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 21:26
tomatospencer
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 38
I should imagine a seamless transition. The BBC HD channel closes for the night, a preview loop plays and BBC Two HD appears in the morning.
I bet that knowing the BBC, they will still accidentally keep the BBC HD DOG for a short while after BBC Two HD appears!
tomatospencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 09:11
tghe-retford
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Retford
Posts: 17,725
Possibly a development in BBC Two HD. Not confirmed and caution should be exercised, but BBC Click is now being broadcast on BBC Two and today, the official account tweeted this:

"Thanks for your comments about the BBC2 airing. We're thrilled too! For those asking about HD, that's coming in April!!"

Can't imagine BBC HD carrying BBC News programmes too..?
tghe-retford is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:12
derek500
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 17,889
Possibly a development in BBC Two HD. Not confirmed and caution should be exercised, but BBC Click is now being broadcast on BBC Two and today, the official account tweeted this:

"Thanks for your comments about the BBC2 airing. We're thrilled too! For those asking about HD, that's coming in April!!"

Can't imagine BBC HD carrying BBC News programmes too..?
Perhaps they're holding back the switch until BBC News have moved to HD production from Broadcasting House. I think I read it's the end of March.

There's going to be a fair amount on news channel simulcasts on BBC Two.
derek500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:18
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59,028
End of March seems to be a date being touted by some for BBC Two HD launching. And no, I don't know where they got the dates from either.
mossy2103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:45
Smiggs
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,134
Possibly a development in BBC Two HD. Not confirmed and caution should be exercised, but BBC Click is now being broadcast on BBC Two and today, the official account tweeted this:

"Thanks for your comments about the BBC2 airing. We're thrilled too! For those asking about HD, that's coming in April!!"

Can't imagine BBC HD carrying BBC News programmes too..?
You're reading far far too much into this, might as well have declared Spencer Kelly is going to be Pope. Why wouldn't BBC HD carry Click?
Smiggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:57
Radiomike
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,533
You're reading far far too much into this, might as well have declared Spencer Kelly is going to be Pope. Why wouldn't BBC HD carry Click?
Because BBC HD only operates from around 4pm to 1am and Click won't be shown on BBC Two during that time period.

The sooner BBC HD becomes BBC Two HD the better in my opinion so I hope the hints being posted do point to this happening before Easter hopefully.
Radiomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 16:20
tghe-retford
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Retford
Posts: 17,725
You're reading far far too much into this, might as well have declared Spencer Kelly is going to be Pope. Why wouldn't BBC HD carry Click?
https://twitter.com/BBCClick/status/287230452824170497

BBC Two HD launches in April.
tghe-retford is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 17:02
lotsobear
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sunnyside
Posts: 407
RIP BBC HD! (2006-2013 ).

lotsobear is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:44.