Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sausages on a George Foreman grill?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-11-2011, 17:43
Clank007
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,433

Hi,

I;ve been trying to decide whether to buy a George Foreman grill but cant find many comments online about it's ability to cook sausages, other than 'it squashes them'.

People seem to love them for cooking chicken and fish etc, but are they any good for cooking sausages?

Any advice gratefully received.
Clank007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-11-2011, 17:54
tangsman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,418
The only sausage I do in my GF Grill is Lorne Sausage (Scottish Square Sausage).

Links I do under a proper grill or very rarely in a frying pan.
They taste better that way..
tangsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 18:38
Espresso
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15,892
I cook sausages on my George Foreman. Wouldn't cook them any other way now. I think it does a great job. I align them up in the grooves so as I get perfectly straight sausages, which is vitally important to me, seeing as I only ever use sausages for making sausage butties.

Never had any issue with George squashing them.
Espresso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 18:41
Clank007
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,433
I cook sausages on my George Foreman. Wouldn't cook them any other way now. I think it does a great job. I align them up in the grooves so as I get perfectly straight sausages, which is vitally important to me, seeing as I only ever use sausages for making sausage butties.

Never had any issue with George squashing them.
Hi,
Do you know the model number of your George Foreman at all please?
I was looking at this one here
Clank007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 19:01
Espresso
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15,892
Hi,
Do you know the model number of your George Foreman at all please?
I was looking at this one here
Mine is about ten years old and a quick look at the George Foreman site shows it isn't on there, but it looks like this is the updated version of mine, this little one here. I

When mine ever decides to croak it, I would get a slightly bigger one, I reckon.
Espresso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 19:14
coopermanyorks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Gods Own County
Posts: 20,021
We have this one

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/George-For...#ht_500wt_1029

And it deffo squashes the Sausages as its quite big,maybe you simply need a smaller version with a lightweight lid
coopermanyorks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2011, 07:55
BrunoStreete
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,071
I cook sausages on there, probably work better under the grill or in a pan to be fair.
BrunoStreete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2011, 11:16
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,934
Hi,

other than 'it squashes them'.


They will cook fine.
It all depends on what sausages you use to be honest.
If your using those cheap value sausages that hardly have any meat in them then yes they will probably get sqaushed.
Nice thick proper meaty sausages don't get that squashed.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2011, 14:25
Clank007
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,433
Well, I bought a George Foreman Grill last night and grilled some posh Marks and Spencers sausages on them.

The sausages were in fact squashed by the heavy lid of the grill, and i cooked them for 10 minutes thinking that might not be enough time - in fact it was too much time as they were dry as old Harry.
But hey it was a first time effort and i'll be re trying tonight.

One question though - it says to wipe the grill plates with oil or butter before every grill session - is that what other people that own one do too?
Clank007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2011, 14:40
molliepops
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: woking
Posts: 17,339
After washing our plates we just rub a little oil into them with kitchen paper, just helps food not stick to the top plate especially.
molliepops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2011, 00:25
paulyoung666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,151
The sausages were in fact squashed by the heavy lid of the grill, and i cooked them for 10 minutes thinking that might not be enough time - in fact it was too much time as they were dry as old Harry.
But hey it was a first time effort and i'll be re trying tonight.
invest in a meat thermometer , IKEA do a good electronic one for about 6 , dont turn the grill up too high , i dont think 10 minutes would be to long unless you had the grill on full power ....
paulyoung666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2011, 17:05
Clank007
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,433
invest in a meat thermometer , IKEA do a good electronic one for about 6 , dont turn the grill up too high , i dont think 10 minutes would be to long unless you had the grill on full power ....
The grill I've bought doesnt have a power setting option unfortunately, so its on a constant heat setting.

I cooked sausages for 7 minutes this morning and they were superb, apart from the very tips which werent cooked unfortuntely. I guess I'll have to turn them round half way through cooking to get around that do you think?
Clank007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2011, 20:38
paulyoung666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,151
The grill I've bought doesnt have a power setting option unfortunately, so its on a constant heat setting.

I cooked sausages for 7 minutes this morning and they were superb, apart from the very tips which werent cooked unfortuntely. I guess I'll have to turn them round half way through cooking to get around that do you think?
sorry , i thought all GF grills had heat settings ....
paulyoung666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2011, 20:42
GrizzyDee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Heaviside Layer
Posts: 1,219
I agree with cooking them in the grooves instead of across. it keeps them in place, and they get less squashed (this goes for veggie sausages too which usually come out like pancakes!)
GrizzyDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2011, 20:46
paulyoung666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,151
The grill I've bought doesnt have a power setting option unfortunately, so its on a constant heat setting.

I cooked sausages for 7 minutes this morning and they were superb, apart from the very tips which werent cooked unfortuntely. I guess I'll have to turn them round half way through cooking to get around that do you think?
can you link to the grill you have ? ..
paulyoung666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2011, 21:43
Clank007
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,433
can you link to the grill you have ? ..
I can indeed - it is this one
Clank007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2011, 17:49
Clank007
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,433
Does anyone know if it is possible to cook frozen food on a George Foreman?

I have a bag of frozen burgers and would like to cook one for tea but dont have time to defrost it.
Clank007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2011, 18:02
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,934
Does anyone know if it is possible to cook frozen food on a George Foreman?

I have a bag of frozen burgers and would like to cook one for tea but dont have time to defrost it.
Yes
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2011, 22:54
Gaz125
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burnley
Posts: 225
just bought a phillips air fryer here,sausages cook a treat in only 15 mins,no fat either!!! if you get a good quality sausage!!!!!
Gaz125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2011, 07:22
paulyoung666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,151
for that sort of money i would have thought it would have had adjustable heat , i have a cheap 10 yo GFG and it has adjustment ....
paulyoung666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2011, 07:43
BrunoStreete
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,071
Does anyone know if it is possible to cook frozen food on a George Foreman?

I have a bag of frozen burgers and would like to cook one for tea but dont have time to defrost it.
Yes. Frozen burgers are one of the best things to cook on it.
BrunoStreete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2011, 15:07
Clank007
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,433
Yes. Frozen burgers are one of the best things to cook on it.
And they were too

This may sound like a daft question but can beef mince be cooked on a GF do you think (for a spag bol) or is that overkill?
Clank007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2011, 20:27
Espresso
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15,892
And they were too

This may sound like a daft question but can beef mince be cooked on a GF do you think (for a spag bol) or is that overkill?
Don't see any reason why you couldn't cook mince on it. But then again, I see no reason why you would, either.
You'd have to transfer the cooked mince into a pan to add the tomatoes and herbs, then you've got a pan and a grill to clean. Whereas if you cook it all in a pan, you've only got one thing to clean.

If it's a case of you wanting to get all the fat out of your mince by using the George, either buy better quality mince or boil it in water and discard the fat with the water. Mind you, it'll taste of nowt if you do that.
Espresso is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:59.