Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Is 500MB data enough per month?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2011, 17:26
Jaymitch1
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,190

i have got a new contract with o2 this week on the HTC sensation XE.
i am used to 'unlimited' data, but with this contract i get 500mb. is this enough? and do you get a warning when the useage is nearing 500mb?
i only really browse webpages and and use messaging services such as 'whatsapp' and 'ping' with the 3G, i rarely watch youtube or download music. will 500mb be sufficient?
Jaymitch1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-12-2011, 17:50
snuffdaddy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London
Posts: 386
Your should get a warning text before you reach your limit on O2.
If you dont use any streaming sites, No Skype calls or similar services & only browse sites for information only, twitter/facebook & emails, the 500MB for most people is Ok.
snuffdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 17:52
Darth-Habib
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 403
i have got a new contract with o2 this week on the HTC sensation XE.
i am used to 'unlimited' data, but with this contract i get 500mb. is this enough? and do you get a warning when the useage is nearing 500mb?
i only really browse webpages and and use messaging services such as 'whatsapp' and 'ping' with the 3G, i rarely watch youtube or download music. will 500mb be sufficient?
Given your usage, 500MB will be more than enough.

When you have used 80% of your allowance, o2 send a text telling you and giving you the option of buying a further bolt on, or when you exceed your allowance, they slow your speed right down.

Also you can check your data allowance on your online billing.
Darth-Habib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 17:58
interactiv-uk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 343
You must hand picked the 6 All Rounder bundle. There is a higher bundle for 10/month which gives 1GB and 50 MMS messages if you feel you need more.
interactiv-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 18:28
asyousay
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Posts: 33,898
Personally it is not enough for me. I hate the fact they have done this and its just another way to get more money out of you.

With 02 if you go over your 500mb they then throttle the speed so you can still use it but it moves slow.... oh so slow. But its better than giving them more money.
asyousay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 02:00
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
I'm getting through about 6gb on 3's one plan. Its quite amazing really how much of a smartphone is removed from the consumer by data allowances. To the point I am starting to question myself that if my data was limited if I would even bother having anything more than a voice and SMS handset.
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 04:59
swills
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Essex
Posts: 3,766
And of course all of us on 'unlimited' data on Vodafone contracts taken out a year ago, have found out that VF have found a new dictionary that says 'Unlimited' means 500MB !
swills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 08:43
wavejockglw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 9,996
The answer to the question depends a lot on your lifestyle and your work situation. I have 1GB a month on Vodafone which Iuse very little of as I have fast Wi-Fi at home which the handset uses, I drive to and from work, so not much opportunity to use data other than occasionally listening to some streaming audio and at work I have unlimited access to my employers data.

At weekends I check Facebook, DS and other sites whilst out and about and upload a few pictures etc but my circumstances don't make me feel restricted by the data limit and I am sure the same will apply to many casual users of smartphones.

If you are trying to replace standard connections with mobile data use then I think you could have issues but I think the networks are correct when they say that caps only affect a very small number of users and I further agree that if that guarantees reliable access for the majority then it's probably best practice to ensure high levels of customer satisfaction.
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 09:42
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,877
With what you are doing for it, 500mb is plenty. The heavy data uses are video streaming and conferencing.

Don't forget at home you can connect to home wifi.
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 10:24
stephen122333
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 667
It is for me.
I have only twice been 'warned' by o2 I was nearly at my download limit and both times it was a few days before my new allowance.
On my phone I use Facebook, twitter, maps, train times....
stephen122333 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 10:52
spendleb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,841
I am with O2 and didn't think I was a heavy user but in the first month went over, it did slow right down but was only for two days, might be because I am new to the phone and using it for lots of things as it's a novelty but after 9 days this month I have used 24%, I do find that Google Navigation seems to use loads though, might have to revert back to my dedicated sat nav for that side of things!

PS I also use wifi at home.
spendleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 10:54
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
I have no wifi access at work and stream spotify all day at my desk.
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 11:53
The Phazer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,063
Without any AV and saving things like app downloading I use more or less exactly 500mb a month.

So depending on your use you may find that you start running up against the limit at the last couple of days of the month. You could always go up if you find that.

Phazer
The Phazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 12:07
paulbrock
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wapping, London
Posts: 15,645
there are apps available that will track it for you, predicting if you're likely to go over your monthly allowance. I use one on Android called 3g watchdog, but I'm sure there are similar in Apple's App store.
paulbrock is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 13:09
Kenny Maclean
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: London
Posts: 918
Another recommendation for 3g watchdog. You set your allowance and your billing date, and it will alert you when you are approaching the cap. The app can be accessed at any time to find out how much you have currently used.
Kenny Maclean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 14:24
tdenson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,809
I'm getting through about 6gb on 3's one plan. Its quite amazing really how much of a smartphone is removed from the consumer by data allowances. To the point I am starting to question myself that if my data was limited if I would even bother having anything more than a voice and SMS handset.
To each his own. I have had an iPhone since day 1 (literally day 1, an iPhone 1 shipped from the States) and over the years I have never exceeded 200MB and yet I consider myself a pretty sophisticated smartphone user, it's just that I have no need or desire to stream anything.
tdenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 14:59
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 23,938
iPlayer can use 500MB in an hour to two so any large sort of downloading may exceed that total massively.
But general browsing it is hard to exceed.


I'm on an 8 a month 500MB 300 mins contract which suffices..
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 15:10
Pepperoni Man
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7,216
I was worried about this when I fist got a smartphone - I shouldn't have bothered. Max I have used is 80 mb in a month !

I guess there's not much opportunity to use it. Can use my own wi-fi at home on it and at work my PC does everything I need .
Pepperoni Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 16:41
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 23,938
It is still worth having something to check.

t-mobile capping system means there is no risk of overcharging but for others which can charge 1000 per GB its certainly worth having some peace of mind.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 17:50
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
Who charges a grand per gig.
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2011, 19:58
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,999
Who charges a grand per gig.
Tesco do I think!, used to be 4,000 a gig before they reduced it.

They actually sent bills out to customers for over 1000 for data use in the UK, people posted on forums like here, MSE, 3G forums, etc with scans on the bill! Most of them managed to negotiate it down to 100 or even get it wiped all together depending on the circumstances.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2011, 02:56
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
That's outstanding really
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2011, 10:15
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,383
Mine is unlimited (They do get touchy around the 20 gig mark though!!) I don't use anywhere near that and am usually around the 1 - 1.5 gig. I object to the company's restricting data to ridiculous levels. They are the ones holding back any progress. They should have learnt from the home broadband issues and not restrict the amount of data. Obviously it's the new cash cow and it's easier and cheaper to give away silly amounts of minutes and texts.
You know what...Sod em! If I have to have my data restricted then the smartphone goes as IMO it becomes obsolete without being able to use it's full potential when needed.
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2011, 11:45
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 23,938
It won't be just Tesco.

A nice little earner for them though that may even keep the costs down for those that don't get caught in their 'spider web'.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2011, 12:34
natbike
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 222
To be fair to the companies, they are not restricting the use of data, just encouraging the people that use more to pay more (if they want to) or use less.

I'm not against it in principal, I just hope that the prices reflect the true costs rather than what we have seen in the past.

At about 10 per GB, for a fast and reliable service, I think they have the right balance. After all, if everyone started using mobile data like they use home ADSL, we would have issues with performance due to lack of spectrum.

I'm a heavy user and make the most of Wifi where possible. So long as the prices are reasonable, I understand that a good service does cost money.

I agree, the slow down after limit is far better than the "you have used 1000" approach.
natbike is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:59.