Options

Salary opinions/advice

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 24
Forum Member
Hi all,

I'm 19 years old and I'm in my first year of university studying Orthoptics.

I know that I'll be earning about 20,000 - 22,000 straight out the door when I graduate, and I know that this is fairly good for someone that has just graduated. However I know that Orthoptists only really earn up to around 60,000 max, maybe a bit more if you're lucky

I can't really gauge how good a salary this would be because I don't have enough experience, but if I had no kids and was living on my own or with a partner who was also earning would this be a good salary? and what about if I'm working and living in London or not?

thanks in advance

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3
    Forum Member
    I can't pretend to know a great deal about your industry but as a recent graduate, learn from my mistakes.

You can't expect to walk out of University into a job, As harsh as it sounds I can almost guarantee you that you won't. Chances are like me you'll be working an unpaid internship to gain experience or working somewhere as a "stop-gap" or even worse unemployed.

I know plenty of people that got a better degree than me in an area that is alot more conducive to getting a job that are desperately trying to find any form of work.

Harsh, but ultimately you need to lower your expectations.

In answer to your question, Yes 20,000 is a good salary for a new graduate, whatever the field, but seriously, you'll need to work your arse off and get a fair slice of luck along the way to get it.
  • Options
    c4rvc4rv Posts: 29,622
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    people can get by on £25k household income if you really wanted. Is £60k a good salary, it depends on what sort of lifestyle you want to live.
  • Options
    Mumof3Mumof3 Posts: 4,529
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    OP, what's prompted your question? Are you planning early, or having a change of heart on Orthoptics?