Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Technology - becoming easier or more complicated - Blueray setup


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-02-2012, 16:01
rasbo
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,582

So last night on my dads Blueray DVD player and brand new 3D TV (both LG) we decided to watch Piranah 3D. To start with, we couldn't get the 3D settings to work correctly, however, that was our fault as my mum had put the 2D Blueray in. Next, there was an envelope around the screen. Widescreen is the worst thing ever invented, I thought we had moved on from the days of widescreen VHS with the envelope and the film not filling the screen, but I was wrong. I tried to find the button on both the TV and DVD remote that lets you zoom in.

The remote controls had way too many buttons and there wasn't really a system of say, colouring the most used buttons another colour so they were easier to find. The "ratio" button was the only one that I could see but it came up the operation was unavailable at this time. I couldn't see any other button other than optical, but that stopped the DVD and brought up a menu and instructions on how to attach further speakers.

To top it off the DVD Player has internet features on it - its a new player only purchased 4 months ago. It doesn't have wireless internet I'm not sure if its ethernet only I
didn't go into that but the router is in the next room.

Have you any reletives that struggle to cope with the sheer rocket scince degree you need for these modern setups? Gone are the days of plugging in the ariel, plugging in the power socket and boomf.

Also, with no videoplus anymore finding a program on an EPG, especially Sky and Virgin, is frustrating. The HD channels should be grouped together and the +1 channels next to their respective channels.
rasbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-02-2012, 16:14
MeanMint
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 359
Generally when I buy a new TV or Blu Ray player there are these strange paper booklet things call instruction manuals. I read them through twice before I even turn the things on.
MeanMint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 16:24
Deacon1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 6,294
Speaking from a personal point of view, I think we have moved on, hurray for TV's that don't allow you to override the OAR, why would anyone want to zoom a 2.35:1 movie to full screen, surely if you have paid good money for HD equipment for the best quality video you wouldn't want to degrade that by zooming the image to full screen.

We have also moved on from videoplus, Sky is so easy to use, recording a programme at a push of a button, why would you want to punch in a row of numbers?

All the HD channels are grouped together on the EPG, you also have Favorites where you can organise 50 of your favorite channels.

I can't see why a Bluray player is any harder to connect and use than a video player, they both have one connection to the TV and both have a remote, some video remotes were crammed with buttons, basic playback shouldn't be any harder.

Even if someone is not technically minded, a read through the instructions can normally get you up and running without to many problems.
Deacon1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 16:24
rasbo
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,582
Generally when I buy a new TV or Blu Ray player there are these strange paper booklet things call instruction manuals. I read them through twice before I even turn the things on.
My parents are a tad behind with these things. Saying that, their new PC which is a touchscreen monitor, TV and hard drive tower in one did not come with paper instructions and they couldn't find the electronic ones in among all the Toshiba nonsense that came pre installed.
rasbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 16:27
rasbo
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,582
Speaking from a personal point of view, I think we have moved on, hurray for TV's that don't allow you to override the OAR, why would anyone want to zoom a 2.35:1 movie to full screen, surely if you have paid good money for HD equipment for the best quality video you wouldn't want to degrade that by zooming the image to full screen.

We have also moved on from videoplus, Sky is so easy to use, recording a programme at a push of a button, why would you want to punch in a row of numbers?
Why sell 40" TV sets when the movies you watch only fill 32"?? It would be nice if they gave you the option.

Also, if Sky had a spell check and search function like Google it would work so much better.
rasbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 16:41
Deacon1972
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 6,294
Why sell 40" TV sets when the movies you watch only fill 32"?? It would be nice if they gave you the option.

Also, if Sky had a spell check and search function like Google it would work so much better.
You have the option when viewing ordinary TV or anything over scart, some manufacturers remove this option over HDMI as rightly/wrongly they assume everything shown on this connection will be HD because HD is inherently 16x9.

I agree you should have the option, what TV have you got and were you looking on the Bluray remote for aspect ratio switching?

Just be aware, when you zoom a 2.35:1 movie to full screen you will lose a lot of information from the screen, is that what you really want, especially on 3D presentations?

I use the search function on Sky and have no problem with it, it's a 100 times better than it was.
Deacon1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 16:42
MeanMint
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 359
My parents are a tad behind with these things. Saying that, their new PC which is a touchscreen monitor, TV and hard drive tower in one did not come with paper instructions and they couldn't find the electronic ones in among all the Toshiba nonsense that came pre installed.
A PC is even more easy to use than a TV or Blu Ray. Generally with a PC there is the button thing called an on/off switch. You press that and the PC turns on.

The trouble is a PC has strange stuff on it call software now that is a nightmare to use at the best of times unless you have a nice easy piece of software to use like MineSweeper or Spider Solitare.
MeanMint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 23:07
rasbo
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,582
I also had to format an old pc once to install a new operating system on it. I ended up having to download boot n nuke, download imageburn, burn boot n nuke iso to bootable cd, run boot n nuke, then install linux mint, which didn't work, so when we recieve the next linux disk I'll have to do it again! Mint did install but it was painfully slow and you couldn't exit any windows you opened
rasbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 23:13
ironjade
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Posts: 8,122
If you zoom in on some 3D movies the 3D effect disappears as the 2 images diverge.
Filling the screen should be the default for 3D movies, even if a bit is missing from the edges.
ironjade is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2012, 23:57
spiney2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 16,223
used to be, people couldn't work out how to program their video recorder, from the badly written little booklet.

Now, they can;t work the computer to open the 500 pages pdf instruction file for the PVR ........

(back in the days when bluetooth = visit dentist!).

....... people used to wonder what the "Dolby" button on their tape deck did ....... now they watch HD pictures in wrong aspect ratio, everyone got a squished head.
spiney2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2012, 01:23
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,550
The key difference now though is the 'net.

In days gone by the owner had to at least have a go at reading the instruction book. Now the lazy sods don't even bother and we end up getting asked stoooopid questions. What I wouldn't give for a return to Darwinism.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2012, 01:27
pocatello
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,623
Its the opening for apple, if you can afford their solution.

But yes, remotes are a mess, tv/recievers and everything else in between have interfaces of ****. I can handle it, but no one could say that is the best way to do such things.
pocatello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2012, 08:34
XxBlaKOuTZxX
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edinburgh / Scotland
Posts: 2,773
It's all trial and error.
XxBlaKOuTZxX is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:15.