Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Unlock a Huawei Ascend G300?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-04-2012, 21:15
Darthchaffinch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,423

Missed out on a budget android phone recommended here, and now going to get a Huawei Ascend G300 (vodafone PAYG)- but does anyone know if it can be unlocked please?
Thanks!
Darthchaffinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-04-2012, 21:31
Steve™
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Glos / Hereford[shire]
Posts: 6,540
Missed out on a budget android phone recommended here, and now going to get a Huawei Ascend G300 (vodafone PAYG)- but does anyone know if it can be unlocked please?
Thanks!
£19.99 from Vodafone (taken from calling credit)
Steve™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 21:44
Darthchaffinch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,423
excellent, thanks Steve!
Darthchaffinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 07:16
Steve™
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Glos / Hereford[shire]
Posts: 6,540
excellent, thanks Steve!

Found a cheaper better way....this guy is really fast and cheaper (only £9.98) than the options i initially gave you:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/UNLOCK-COD...item2a1cb51b54

Got his details off the Modaco forums

Good luck
Steve™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 15:53
LeoMalet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Quick follow up question: when I unlock the Huawei G300 I bought from vodafone, does it still have the vodafone software installed on the phone?
LeoMalet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 16:22
Darthchaffinch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,423
wife's just been told by vodafone that it cannot be inlocked for several months- is this true?!?
Darthchaffinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 17:13
Steve™
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Glos / Hereford[shire]
Posts: 6,540
wife's just been told by vodafone that it cannot be inlocked for several months- is this true?!?

Use the ebay link I gave you...its cheaper anyway.

Steve™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 17:42
Darthchaffinch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,423
Use the ebay link I gave you...its cheaper anyway.

will do cheers Steve- just wasn't sure if vodafone could do that!!
Darthchaffinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:50
FamilyMan_UK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 20
Quick follow up question: when I unlock the Huawei G300 I bought from vodafone, does it still have the vodafone software installed on the phone?
Yes.

I have tried to find a developer site that would do a custom or even a 'vanilla' ROM for the phone but no luck on a quick Google browse. That would only work if you're any good with technology anyway. I have nuked my original HD2, a Windows Mobile phone, into an overclocked Android device. Could even put Win Phone 7 on if I wanted to.

if you want to dabble in the fine art of de-cluttering your phone and getting a modified, possibly overclocked Android ROM, just do a Google search for "custom ROM huawei G300" and see what pops up.
FamilyMan_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 10:16
LeoMalet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Yes.

I have tried to find a developer site that would do a custom or even a 'vanilla' ROM for the phone but no luck on a quick Google browse. That would only work if you're any good with technology anyway. I have nuked my original HD2, a Windows Mobile phone, into an overclocked Android device. Could even put Win Phone 7 on if I wanted to.

if you want to dabble in the fine art of de-cluttering your phone and getting a modified, possibly overclocked Android ROM, just do a Google search for "custom ROM huawei G300" and see what pops up.
Thanks for your help! Will do!
LeoMalet is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:52.