Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

sky install and trees


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31-05-2012, 19:48
dodgem22
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 229

Hi I am about to have Sky installed but I am concerned that trees will block the line of sight for the dish.

Can anyone advise if Sky are able to fit the dish to the chimney stack to clear the trees? Would this be classed as non standard install? Also would it require the special heights team or would a normal installer be able to do it?

Thanks for any answers
dodgem22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 31-05-2012, 19:54
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,542
chimney installs are generally not done.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 08:34
sodafountain
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 10,046
How far are the trees from the property, and how tall?

Remember, Sky dishes don't look forwards, they look like they do, but they don't, the signal comes down at an angle.
sodafountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 09:01
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 6,122
How far are the trees from the property, and how tall?

Remember, Sky dishes don't look forwards, they look like they do, but they don't, the signal comes down at an angle.
It's not a very steep angle though, if i recall. I think it's only about 20-30 degrees depending on how far North or South you are.

I had to ditch Sky at one of my old properties due to trees. it was fine when it was installed in the winter, but as soon as the leaves arrived in spring I was scuppered. Luckily Sky allowed me to cancel the contract just 4 months in, as it should never have been installed in the first place.
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 09:07
CTD101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gods country Wales
Posts: 3,952
chimney installs are generally not done.
Of course they are. If that's the only suitable place, that's where it will go, plus they are fitted there if the customer insists that's the only place they will have it.
CTD101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 09:23
sodafountain
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 10,046
Try this website, put in your postcode, and select 28.2E ASTRA 1N : ASTRA 2A etc.

Then, zoom in and move the dish onto your property.

Then click the "enable obstacle" button, and drag the pointer to the trees, it will tell you the distance to the trees, and the height they need to be under (measured from base of the dish, not the floor).

http://www.dishpointer.com/
sodafountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 09:30
jimbgibson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 235
Try this website, put in your postcode, and select 28.2E ASTRA 1N : ASTRA 2A etc.

Then, zoom in and move the dish onto your property.

Then click the "enable obstacle" button, and drag the pointer to the trees, it will tell you the distance to the trees, and the height they need to be under (measured from base of the dish, not the floor).

http://www.dishpointer.com/
Excellent site!
jimbgibson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 09:43
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,542
Of course they are. If that's the only suitable place, that's where it will go, plus they are fitted there if the customer insists that's the only place they will have it.
hence why i said "generally".
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 09:57
CTD101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gods country Wales
Posts: 3,952
hence why i said "generally".
It's a lot more common than 'generally'
CTD101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 10:17
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,799
It's a lot more common than 'generally'
At one time it was standard Sky policy to fit dishes on chimneys, despite it been standard practice in the trade NOT to fit dishes on chimneys. Even worse, Sky generally 'wall mounted' the dishes on the chimney, rather than using a proper lashing kit - which on a weak single skinned structure was a VERY bad idea.

After quite large numbers of chimneys (particularly on council houses) were brought down by this policy, Sky eventually chnaged it, and started correctly wall mounting them.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 10:46
CTD101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gods country Wales
Posts: 3,952
At one time it was standard Sky policy to fit dishes on chimneys, despite it been standard practice in the trade NOT to fit dishes on chimneys. Even worse, Sky generally 'wall mounted' the dishes on the chimney, rather than using a proper lashing kit - which on a weak single skinned structure was a VERY bad idea.

After quite large numbers of chimneys (particularly on council houses) were brought down by this policy, Sky eventually chnaged it, and started correctly wall mounting them.
Ah the good old lashing kit. Have seen some AVC installs where they are using web straps to hold the corner brackets in place.

Only drill dishes into larger, thicker chimneys. Half the time they are only single skin so too weak to be wall mounted
CTD101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 10:55
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,490
At one time it was standard Sky policy to fit dishes on chimneys, despite it been standard practice in the trade NOT to fit dishes on chimneys. Even worse, Sky generally 'wall mounted' the dishes on the chimney, rather than using a proper lashing kit - which on a weak single skinned structure was a VERY bad idea.
A house near me has a Sky dish mounted on a chimney and that looks to have been done totally correctly - proper lashing kit including whatever the bits of metal at each corner are called (to prevent the lashing wire digging in).
BKM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:28
Clatter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 410
Of course they are. If that's the only suitable place, that's where it will go, plus they are fitted there if the customer insists that's the only place they will have it.
Will require the special heights team, so could end up with a delay to the install. I would contact Sky and let them know them know the score and they might send the right people first time.

I am of course assuming nothings changed regarding the install teams.
Clatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 13:05
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,799
A house near me has a Sky dish mounted on a chimney and that looks to have been done totally correctly - proper lashing kit including whatever the bits of metal at each corner are called (to prevent the lashing wire digging in).
They are called 'corner plates' - and chimney mounts aren't 'too' bad if done using a proper lashing kit (and preferably two lashing kits, with a pole mounted between them and the dish between the two lashings).

It was the wall mounting brackets fitted on chimneys that were the real disaster though, chimneys are far too weak for that.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 23:11
dodgem22
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 229
hi thanks for all your replies I have spoken to Sky and they are sending the special heights team to do the install
dodgem22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 14:47
bayards
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: East Northants
Posts: 1,819
I had tree issues when i lived in East London. The special heights team tried their best but could only get intermittent signals - so had to cancel.

This was in winter when the trees were bare - the signal would have been washed away in summer when the leaves were out.

Had to go VM

Now in the country I am back with SKy
bayards is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 16:18
dodgem22
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 229
Well I have got to say the special heights team who turned up to do my install tried and tried and tried again. They tried everything they could think off but unfortunatley the trees won .

I was impressed at just how hard they did try especially as they were out in the pouring rain. Im gutted I cant have sky but as I say I cant fault the install team who did there best to try and find a solution.
dodgem22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 16:30
suffolktoon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sunny Suffolk by the Sea
Posts: 1,439
Well I have got to say the special heights team who turned up to do my install tried and tried and tried again. They tried everything they could think off but unfortunatley the trees won .

I was impressed at just how hard they did try especially as they were out in the pouring rain. Im gutted I cant have sky but as I say I cant fault the install team who did there best to try and find a solution.
Can't you just mount it on a pole in your garden, if you have one. I live in what could be described as a typical modern (20 year old) house. I have a motorised dish in the back garden about 10 or 11 metres from the back of the house. It clears the roof and gives me a clear line of site to everything from 28E to 30W.
suffolktoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 18:13
BOOTHY2905
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,078
Obviously his situation is going to be different.
BOOTHY2905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 18:42
suffolktoon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sunny Suffolk by the Sea
Posts: 1,439
Obviously his situation is going to be different.
Not obviously at all. Some people obsess about mounting a dish high up on a house. Do Sky installers ever go for this solution?
suffolktoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 19:57
dodgem22
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 229
The poor guys spent almost 2 hours trying to get a signal they did look in the garden but that was never suggested, They went up on the roof to the chimney which they said is a last resort but to no avail. The trees im afraid have won this one.
dodgem22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 20:22
BOOTHY2905
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,078
Not obviously at all. Some people obsess about mounting a dish high up on a house. Do Sky installers ever go for this solution?
So your house is identical to his with identical LOS and tree line direction.
I've installed dishes on telegraph poles, tree's and out buildings quite a few times but it's easier and more practical to install it to brick work on a house as close to the tv as possible.
BOOTHY2905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 20:36
dodgem22
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 229
The Sky guys suggested we try from next door (semi detached house) as there is a slight gap in the trees the next door neighbour had no objection to this so they tried that option to but signal still obstructed.

I must say you hear some scare stories of engineers who dont try very hard if an install seems difficult but I was impressed at how patient these guys were as they tried various positions for the dish and a mounting pole but nothing was getting a strong enough signal.
dodgem22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 21:11
suffolktoon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sunny Suffolk by the Sea
Posts: 1,439
So your house is identical to his with identical LOS and tree line direction.
.
Is that what I wrote? You're coming across as your typical DS know it all that can't wait to get on his high horse. I asked the question because it wasn't clear that the installers had investigated this solution or ruled it out for other reasons.

I've installed dishes on telegraph poles, tree's and out buildings quite a few times but it's easier and more practical to install it to brick work on a house as close to the tv as possible
I think the word easier is relevant here. Too much effort to dig a hole, concrete a pole in, come back a few days later to put dish on and then run cable around the garden.

BTW, did you get BT's permission to put a dish on their pole?
suffolktoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 21:58
BOOTHY2905
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,078
Is that what I wrote? You're coming across as your typical DS know it all that can't wait to get on his high horse. I asked the question because it wasn't clear that the installers had investigated this solution or ruled it out for other reasons.


I think the word easier is relevant here. Too much effort to dig a hole, concrete a pole in, come back a few days later to put dish on and then run cable around the garden.

BTW, did you get BT's permission to put a dish on their pole?
Sorry but I said his situation isn't ever going to be identical to yours and frankly cant believe it will be, And also sky engineers dont carry cement, shovel's and suitable mixing equipment to be able to even warrant this method of pole install. So what your saying is we go round and dig holes. Then go buy concrete out of our own money. Set pole in ground and then go back in our own time to install the dish. Sorry mate but that's is the silliest thing I have ever heard suggested on this forum. And frankly just because you have a dish on the lawn doesnt automatically mean it needs to be there.
And also just because someone has a telegraph pole in the garden doesn't mean it belongs to BT. They had it put there because of tree's and mainly based on my suggestions this was the best one for that customer.
BOOTHY2905 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:41.