Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Bush BU11FVRSD32 Freeview+ Digital TV Recorder


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23-06-2012, 03:54
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070

I have just bought this and I am looking for any comments regarding how it operates. I cannot find any screen shots of the EPG so if anyone has any please either direct me to them or upload them

Thanks
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 23-06-2012, 08:53
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
Product Information and Reviews from Argos Online.

Q&A from Argos Online

You can always return it if it is not up to scratch.

If you look in the User Manual, there may be a photo of the EPG.
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2012, 16:02
futaura
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 1,898
So, how does it compare to your Vestel T835 box then?

Seriously though, is it not explained in the manual, or isn't there a manual? That said, I guess this shows how unintuitive this box is to use - I still wonder who actually makes them.

I think many people must have returned them to Argos, or they broke, because there a tons of them for sale on ebay, and this is a pretty new model which replaced their Bush T835 boxes.
futaura is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2012, 19:47
angelafisher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 3,430
I bought one today, I really like it. There are some things that were on my Ferguson that I would have liked on this one, but I can't seem to find them. On the Ferguson I had to option to start recording 5 mins before a programme started but that isn't on the Bush.

I like the EPG, some of it is better than the Ferguson, some isn't. I also believe the 14 day EPG is a thing of the past.
angelafisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2012, 02:23
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070
Well what can I say about the Bush 500GB Freeview+ Digital TV Recorder BU11FVRSD50.

I bought it off of Ebay for £13.99. Set it up with series timers and all was fine for a day. I awoke to find the box had completely froze, no button presses would respond so I had to do a power cycle. The next day all my series timers decided to disappear completely like the box had reset itself. So I reset all the timers and and went out for the day. Upon returning my box was still functional apart from the HDD was not accessible so I power cycled the box and found I still cannot access the HDD.

I don't know what is up with this box and I have only had it for 2 days.

I am going back to my Hitachi which is a bit glitchy but alot more reliable.
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 12:17
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070
Double post
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 12:18
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070
This set top box is due a firmware upgrade today. How do I activate the upgrade as their is no option in the menu?

Thanks
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 14:08
captainkremmen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DAVEVILLE, Daveshire DA1 1VE
Posts: 33,623
This set top box is due a firmware upgrade today. How do I activate the upgrade as their is no option in the menu?

Thanks
Normally it's just a case of turning on the overnight check in the menu system. The box should then wake up at around 3am to check for updates and do any housekeeping, if it finds the update it then downloads and applies it automatically. Try leaving your box tuned to BBC One when you switch it into standby and go to bed tonight.
captainkremmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 14:19
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070
Normally it's just a case of turning on the overnight check in the menu system. The box should then wake up at around 3am to check for updates and do any housekeeping, if it finds the update it then downloads and applies it automatically. Try leaving your box tuned to BBC One when you switch it into standby and go to bed tonight.
Cheers for that!
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 18:39
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070
This set top box is due a firmware upgrade today. How do I activate the upgrade as their is no option in the menu?

Thanks
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 19:29
futaura
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 1,898
Do nothing and hope for the best? Seriously though, perhaps there is no option in the menus and it will update automatically whether you want it to or not, probably overnight. Is the current version number shown in the menus anywhere? If so, make a note of it and if you check it again in the morning, you can see if it did update.
futaura is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 04:35
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070
Well for some reason my box did not pick up the update
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 13:13
captainkremmen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DAVEVILLE, Daveshire DA1 1VE
Posts: 33,623
Well for some reason my box did not pick up the update
A quick check of the Freeview update page shows you missed it, it was only broadcast for one night on the 2nd of July, from 1am to 9am.:
http://www.dtg.org.uk/industry/download_schedule.php

The current software version is A30_15_010F. What version do you have?.

Keep an eye on that page for any future updates for your box.

If there is no option in the menu then it usually means you cannot switch off the update check, it should be on by default.
captainkremmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 16:50
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070
A quick check of the Freeview update page shows you missed it, it was only broadcast for one night on the 2nd of July, from 1am to 9am.:
http://www.dtg.org.uk/industry/download_schedule.php

The current software version is A30_15_010F. What version do you have?.

Keep an eye on that page for any future updates for your box.

If there is no option in the menu then it usually means you cannot switch off the update check, it should be on by default.
Fri 06-07-2012
10am
to Sun 08-07-2012
midnight Bush BU11FVRSD50 A30_17_0105 R

Mon 09-07-2012
1am
to Mon 09-07-2012
9am Bush BU11FVRSD50 A30_17_0105 R
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:38
hartcliffe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: bristol uk
Posts: 195

i got a Bush BU11FVRSD50 and it has not updated yet

Firmware version A30_17_0105 for the Bush BU11FVRSD50 is broadcasting now until 23:59 on Sunday 8th July 2012


i have Firmware version A30_17_0103
hartcliffe is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 15:29
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070
Anyone know why our boxes have not picked up the latest update?
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 03:13
Freeview_Viewer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,070
My box missed the update again
Freeview_Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2012, 08:04
hartcliffe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: bristol uk
Posts: 195
box updated this time for me
hartcliffe is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2012, 20:53
tim123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 162
I've just bought one of these (as my Hummy is constantly full! and I'm going on holiday for four weeks) thinking it was going to be the latest Vestel.

And boy am I disappointed (presumably it isn't a Vestel).

Ok not that disappointed, at 99 pounds for a 500Gb disk it's good value, but it's the most basic PVR that I have ever owned, the UI is awful, and that's without the bugs.

The first thing that it did when I started up was prompted me to download the latest software so It looks like I got lucky there and hopefully won't get the lockups reported above but there are still other problems. That is if you think that taking two hours to download is “lucky”.

Most serious bug is the random signals that it sends down the SCART causing my TV to switch the input to a blank screen from whatever it is that I was watching. This is so ****ing annoying that I have to unplug its SCART when I'm not using it!

And whoever it was that thought putting the scheduled recordings and the recorded programs on the same list was a great idea should be shot!

tim
tim123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 13:35
hartcliffe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: bristol uk
Posts: 195
i only paid £45 for a refub one and never had any problems with it except it didnt upgrade one time
hartcliffe is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2012, 22:57
fewkeste
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 444

So, how does it compare to your Vestel T835 box then?

Seriously though, is it not explained in the manual, or isn't there a manual? That said, I guess this shows how unintuitive this box is to use - I still wonder who actually makes them.

I think many people must have returned them to Argos, or they broke, because there a tons of them for sale on ebay, and this is a pretty new model which replaced their Bush T835 boxes.
Do we know who makes them? What's the view - more trouble than they're worth?
fewkeste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2012, 23:20
1andrew1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,464
Do we know who makes them? What's the view - more trouble than they're worth?
I think they are from a Chinese supplier. The model is no longer listed by Argos and a quick Google reveals poor customer experiences.
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 13:54
Bob1942
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Great Wakering,Essex,SS3
Posts: 1,003
Do we know who makes them? What's the view - more trouble than they're worth?
Chinese or Korean or could be assembled in East Europe, my Panasonic Plasma assembled in the Czech republic
Bob1942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 07:59
EABowden
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 40
Hi all

I started another thread asking about the difference between the BU11FVRSD32 and the BU11FVRSD32X and whether one more recent than the other, but it seems that might be better asked here? Both are for sale at £90 in argos or £40 'graded' on Ebay. Are the graded ones likely to be faulty, or just returns from when the signal was a bit weak? Anyone bought one from Fleabay?

Having read this thread though it sounds like I ought to avoid them entirely. I bought my inlaws a Durabrand badged Vestel T816 4 years ago and they absolutely love it. Recently it started losing channels overnight, but thanks to t'internet we worked out this machine has a 99 channel limit and since switchover there are more than that and deleting the porn/shopping channels and switching off auto update has given the box a new lease of life...

Anyway, the long and short of it is I'm hesitant to get the Bush due to the problems reported here, so what should I get them? I'm happy to get a graded one as the new ones are all around £100 or more at the moment which seems excessive. Is the HDR325 Hitachi a vestel?
EABowden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 08:20
EABowden
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 40
Tim, what's wrong with having scheduled recordings and recorded progs in the same place? That's how Sky+ has always worked and it makes perfect sense to me as long as they are clearly marked.

It's like having a library (of books) with a red dot on the ones you haven't read yet. You wouldn't keep the unread ones in a separate room, would you?
EABowden is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:38.