Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Hard drive for Panasonic Viera


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-06-2012, 21:06
micwhitmore
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: normandie,france
Posts: 57

I would like a cheap hard drive for my Panasonic TX-L37DT30B tv, 60GB would be fine. As per the Panny site they have tested drives over 160GB which, they say , require an transformer power supply. Many of the cheap hard drives take power from a USB socket. My tv gives 500mw to USB, would this be enough to power say a Core 60GB 2.5 drive? I can not find any technical details on this and other small hard drives apart from the fact that they take power from the USB socket.

Last edited by micwhitmore : 30-06-2012 at 21:11. Reason: typo
micwhitmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-06-2012, 23:50
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,826
USB ports will supply 100mA while negotiating with the connected device, and then up to 500mA max depending on the requirements of the drive or device.

If the drive is designed to work off a USB port then you'll be fine. Something bigger such as a 3.5" drive would be a problem, but the 2.5" USB HDD should be fine.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 21:44
micwhitmore
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: normandie,france
Posts: 57
Thanks Chris but my Panasonic does not want to be friends with the Core hard drive. It works fine with the PC and will playback on the tv, if the video is changed to MKV. Any ideas as to why the tv says"no recording device" ? Does anybody know of a cheap hard drive that will work?
micwhitmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 22:07
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,591
According to the manual I downloaded from the Panasonic website you have to format the hard drive from the TV before you can use it for recording.

Page 69 of the manual downloaded from here

http://www.panasonic.co.uk/html/en_G...trackInfo=true
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 23:20
micwhitmore
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: normandie,france
Posts: 57
The tv does not recognise the hard drive as a recording device, so will not format it. I understand that Panasonic tvs are a bit fussy as to what is plugged into them !!
micwhitmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 23:47
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,591
According to a link in the manual the only drives Panasonic have tested the TV with are made by Buffalo, sizes from 160GB to 3TB. And using an AC adapter to power the drive.

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...ption1_1a.html

Ignore the line at the top that says 2010 models for the Middle East. It links from this page which is for UK & Ireland

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...ty/usb/uk.html
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2012, 11:16
micwhitmore
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: normandie,france
Posts: 57
Thanks chrisjr. I contacted Panasonic a month or so ago and was told that many hard drives would work but they did not give makes and models due to the fact that they had only fully tested the Buffalo.
If anyone uses a small hard drive with this model Panasonic, please let me know.
micwhitmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2012, 21:10
micwhitmore
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: normandie,france
Posts: 57
I am still trying to find a cheap hard drive that will work with a Panasonic Viera. Has anyone found one that works?
micwhitmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2012, 15:25
bigdayvee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
I have a 2010 TX-P42V20B and use a Samsung S2 - 500GB USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive. This is USB powered and works fine. Had to be formatted using telly and when TV is powered on a message comes on screen signaling USB device detected.
bigdayvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2012, 12:28
snaggled
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 65
I've got a 400GB (Samsung) hard drive which I can either format (via the TV) to use as a PVR, or via my PC to use as an external Hard Drive (i.e. to store JPGs, MP3s and play back via TV & Computer)

I wish to be able to partion the Drive intwo 2 x 200GB partitions, and allow 200GB to be used by the TV as a PVR, and teh otehr 200GB as an external hard drive.

has anyone managed this.

I have tried partioning the drive into 2 partitions via my PC, but the TV insisits in re-formating/partioning it back to a 400GB drive (which the PC cant use).
snaggled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2012, 12:47
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,656
I've got a 400GB (Samsung) hard drive which I can either format (via the TV) to use as a PVR, or via my PC to use as an external Hard Drive (i.e. to store JPGs, MP3s and play back via TV & Computer)

I wish to be able to partion the Drive intwo 2 x 200GB partitions, and allow 200GB to be used by the TV as a PVR, and teh otehr 200GB as an external hard drive.

has anyone managed this.

I have tried partioning the drive into 2 partitions via my PC, but the TV insisits in re-formating/partioning it back to a 400GB drive (which the PC cant use).
As far as I'm aware it can't be done? - the TV specifically formats the entire drive in a special format - it's a TV not a computer, so it doesn't have the flexibility to do otherwise.

If you want to use a drive for two purposes, get two drives
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2012, 13:39
stanandjan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scouser in Chilterns
Posts: 692
As far as I'm aware it can't be done? - the TV specifically formats the entire drive in a special format - it's a TV not a computer, so it doesn't have the flexibility to do otherwise.

If you want to use a drive for two purposes, get two drives

i use two for Photos etc and the drives show up as Natty Icons
at the bottom of screen..
stanandjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2012, 08:08
snaggled
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 65
....
If you want to use a drive for two purposes, get two drives
yep.... currently using 8GB USB drive as a drive to view MP3s, JPGs, and the 400GB HDD as PVR (only using a fraction of it's space)

but why does Panasonic see this drive as a 'single' partition.

(I have even tried hiding a partition, so that the panasonic will only see the 'un-hidden' partion to format, but still the TV wants to partion the drive as a single partition.)

Will see what offers are out there - don't really want to spend much on a HDD that will only be used a few times a month as a PVR.
snaggled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2012, 10:55
jkg.fr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: France
Posts: 9

I have a Panasonic Viera TXL37V20E, and was attracted by the functionality of adding a HDD. Then I found that Panasonic only recommend the Buffalo JustStore Desktop HD-EU2-UK, OK so then I tried to source one and it’s not so easy (don’t seem to be current on the Buffalo website).

It seemed to me that the requirements are (1) external power supply (as the USB power maybe limited); (2) USB driver compatible with a UNIX operating system called FreeBSD 5.0 (uses UFS2 file system so incompatible with PC, Windows/MacOS).

I happened to already have a Sumvision 3.5 Hard Drive Caddy from eBuyer, to which I inserted a Western Digital 160 GB SATA to IDE 3.5 inch Hard Drive from Amazon.

This configuration is recognised by the TXL37V20E, and performs fully according to the user manual instructions. It has been running perfectly for some weeks now, the only inconvenience is disconnecting the drive, this should not be done during operation to avoid malfunction or data damage, except by “safely removing USB HDD” from the TV Media Player menu. This is tiresome, an alternative procedure is to turn of the TV (not Standby) and then switch off the Sumvision power supply. It can be reconnected later by simply by restoring the power.
jkg.fr is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2012, 14:04
scgf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Market Harborough
Posts: 100
I have a Viera TX-P42ST50B and Panasonic give the same advice - the Buffalo drive.

I have an Aldi Medion 2.5" external USB drive and thought I'd give it a go. I was surprised to find it was recognised and the TV offered to format it.

It works fine for recording, so I'm well pleased!
scgf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2012, 21:51
micwhitmore
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: normandie,france
Posts: 57
scgf, is the aldi medion drive 160GB or more? It seems from the many replies that the Panasonic Viera can only see a drive of more than 160GB and that quite a few USB powered drives will work.
Many thanks to all.
micwhitmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2012, 21:53
scgf
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Market Harborough
Posts: 100
My Aldi Medion drive is 320 GB.
scgf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2013, 15:16
micwhitmore
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: normandie,france
Posts: 57
After all this time I bought a Buffalo ministation 500gb USB powered hard drive from Amazon for approx £45. I was not sure if it would work with the tv or not but it works very well. It can be programed from the EPG, Freesat or TNT( Freeview in the uk) or be used as rewind. For other sats without EPG I can use instant record. Playback is super in SD, HD or 3D.
Many thanks to all who posted a reply.
micwhitmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2013, 23:45
Thunderballs
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 39
I have a 2010 TX-P42V20B and use a Samsung S2 - 500GB USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive. This is USB powered and works fine. Had to be formatted using telly and when TV is powered on a message comes on screen signaling USB device detected.
Thanks. I have same model of Plasma and have bought a Samsung M3 500gb drive.
Thunderballs is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:45.