"Software4students.co.uk" - Too good to be true? |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
|
"Software4students.co.uk" - Too good to be true?
Hi there
Is this website all above board?: http://www.software4students.co.uk/p...fessional-plus It's just that I notice, as per the link, that you can get Microsoft Office Professional 2010 for £79 as opposed to the RR price it mentions of £429.99. Just seems a fantastic discount..... I would use it for my son and his secondary schooling, but if I am honest, it's primarily for me! Just seems a very, very cheap way of obtaining this otherwise expensive software.... I know there are free alternatives out there - I just prefer to stick with Office..... Cheers |
|
|
|
|
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 72
|
i googled "software4students reviews" & they seem legit. Though i haven't used them personally
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Inactive Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sheffield, UK
Services: Virgin Media 60mbps broadband
Posts: 502
|
I think that the catch is that you have to have either a college or a university email address as proof of eligibility!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 | |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
|
Quote:
I just signed up using my son's school address and his school is registered so it would appear that once you've done this, you can order..... Don't know what there is to stop anyone at all registering with some local school details (all you need is the school postcode and make sure it comes up as a registered school, which most do apparently)..... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Services: A hoover or some other generic vacuum cleaning machine.
Posts: 27,840
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,762
|
I used this website when Windows 7 was launched to buy myself a copy. Excellent site and excellent prices.
Wouldn't that be obvious, given the website's address? |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Services: A hoover or some other generic vacuum cleaning machine.
Posts: 27,840
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,096
|
their price for microsoft office has doubled since beginning of this year ... they could well be a bit stricter about who gets software for those prices now?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Guest
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 186
|
Yes its entirely legit but you need a .sch.uk or .ac.uk email to buy anything from them.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In my IT Law lecturer's office
Services: TV, MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, iPod Touch 4G, Samsung Galaxy Ace 2
Posts: 40,002
|
There's one for Ireland (where I am) as well: http://www.software4students.ie/
I've never used it but I'm looking at the site now and they do have some Mac stuff. |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Services: Freeview, Sky, Talktalk FTTC 74.5mb/s i7PC W8, Netflix, Lovefilm, YouView
Posts: 6,060
|
Quote:
"The Key Facts About Eligibility: All School, College, University students and their family members are eligible! No Student ID required for Microsoft Software*:As an Official Microsoft Partner, our offers extend beyond academic email address holders so that any family member or guardian can buy on behalf of a pupil or student You receive Full Professional version software at an academic price for lifetime use at home only. Strict licensing restrictions from Microsoft means that each student is only entitled to purchase ONE software license of each product. Pay Less, Get More. And if you have any problems with your transaction our support team are on hand to help: support@software4students.co.uk " If your at university check with the I.T. department, , many have software deals for students. My son's upgrade version of W7 Ultimate was £25 from his uni. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Services: iPhone 5, Nexus 7, Windows 8
Posts: 12,826
|
They are legit. I got Microsoft Office 2010 when it came out from them.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 5,067
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#16 | |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,236
|
Quote:
For Microsoft products, students' parents and members of organisations like U3A are eligible, and you get a normal activation code in the box. However for Adobe products you have to send proof of academic status (eg student ID card or payslip from an accredited establishment) to Adobe, who do check, before sending you an activation code. I've used both with a .org.uk email. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 5,093
|
I've used them to buy MS Office and W7 upgrades as I had 2 students at home at the time.
IIRC the site asked for the student's name and academic institution attended. If only Adobe ran a similar scheme - daughter needs Photoshop CS5 and Illustrator for her course work - have you seen the price? ![]()
|
|
|
|
|
|
#18 | |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Services: Virgin Media: VIP Collection
Posts: 6,249
|
Quote:
Alternatively there is the creative cloud suite which includes the master collection for £22.46 a month at student pricing |
|
|
|
|
|
#19 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 809
|
They are a legit and excellent website.
You do not have to have any specific email address. You do have to be a student at participating establishments or a parent or grandparent or guardian of such a student. I suggest that if you are interested in their prices you carefully read the eligibility criteria on their website. It is plainly laid out and, reading some of the above posts, it is clear that many do not read the T & Cs. This is one instant where the 'small print' is to your advantage. |
|
|
|
|
|
#20 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,096
|
charities can buy from them too ... it's not just for student & their families
|
|
|
|
|
|
#21 | |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,236
|
Quote:
Details here. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#22 | |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,524
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#23 | |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
|
Quote:
I agree! They are 100% legit - the prices are this low because they work with their software partners on education programmes. I bought a few things from them including Microsoft Office for much cheaper than you would find anywhere else. Students, their families or guardians can buy from them. They also sell licenses to schools and charities with educational discounts. Why were you not sure if they were legit or not? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#24 | |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,331
|
Quote:
My dad is doing an OU course so he picked up Office and some of the other bits on the cheap. As others have said the site is totally legit....but it doesn't necessarily mean that because you have bought the software that its licensed if you dont meet any of the criteria on the site. People took the piss with it before, hence why its doubled in price (MS were originally planning on scrapping the scheme altogether with the exception of higher education but thankfully listened to reason). |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#25 |
|
Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Services: too many
Posts: 13,522
|
Yeah, it was earlier this year that they doubled their prices because their checks were pretty much non-existent. MS had originally threatened to pull the plug on the program but relented
|
|
|
|
![]() |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:11.





