Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Transfer number to new contract with same network


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-08-2012, 15:53
dah07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 105

I'm currently on the one plan sim only on 3, looking at taking out a new 24 month contract also on the one plan to get an S3, if I take out a new contract through CPW online, so I can get cashback through top cashback can they transfer my number across or will I need to port out and back in?
Thanks
dah07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-08-2012, 15:56
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,600
I'm currently on the one plan sim only on 3, looking at taking out a new 24 month contract also on the one plan to get an S3, if I take out a new contract through CPW online, so I can get cashback through top cashback can they transfer my number across or will I need to port out and back in?
Thanks
You have to convert it to pay as you go. (which requires 30 days notice) then three can internally port your number. Try and ring retentions and see if they'll match the deal firs.t
jabbamk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2012, 21:21
dah07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 105
You have to convert it to pay as you go. (which requires 30 days notice) then three can internally port your number. Try and ring retentions and see if they'll match the deal firs.t
Cheers I'll give them a call tomorrow
dah07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 15:28
Erlang
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Weston-s-Mare
Posts: 2,726
dah07
how did that go? I have a very similar problem, I have a SIM300 with my keeper number, and a new One plan with iPhone 5 and a new number, I want to transfer keeper to One Plan, but 3 shop can't help, they say I need to go PAYG on SIM300 first, and I have to do that via 333.
Erlang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 17:45
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,968
I had a SIM only plan on Three and I wanted to keep the number for my new iPhone 5 contract, so I ported the number to an O2 PAYG SIM, and then ported from that O2 SIM to the iPhone 5 contract.

It takes a few days to get it sorted, but that's better than having to wait a month to be put on PAYG.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:21
Erlang
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Weston-s-Mare
Posts: 2,726
I think I'll try the port out, port in route, I'll pick up an O2 sim today and ring 3 for a PUK.

What a crazy situation.
Erlang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 22:14
Erlang
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Weston-s-Mare
Posts: 2,726
PAC not PUK

Well I got an O2 sim and of course day of days O2 falls over, by the time I got the O2 sim running I missed the Three support hours, so now will ring tomorrow.

I have spent years in telecoms and IT and this nonsense still makes my teeth grind.
Erlang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 00:12
moox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,567
I don't understand why the networks' IT/support systems can't comprehend the idea of transferring a number to another account or line. They can presumably change numbers on request (for a fee, naturally) so why not?

I had to port out of and back into T-Mobile when going to contract - but only because I didn't call customer services to order that contract (I wanted cashback) - if I had done so they could do it.
moox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 02:40
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,968
My understanding is that it's to make it harder for people to get out of their contract early.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 06:01
kevin619
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 36
you will have to port your number to another provider then port back to tmobile, well think thats how it works, as you cant port/keep ya number when with same provider, well we couldnt and that was with t-mobile
kevin619 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 14:43
nigelbb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 671
For all the networks the mechanism for internal transfer of numbers is clearly available as they are all happy enough for you to convert from a PAYG phone to a contract & keep the same number.
nigelbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 19:45
Dave23
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Preston
Posts: 303
I had no trouble with virgin, I was on a monthly sim only and switched to an 18 month contract with a new phone and kept the same number. This was done in the store and I walked out with my new phone working
Dave23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2012, 08:18
Erlang
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Weston-s-Mare
Posts: 2,726
The determining factor is can they keep the same revenue stream or increase it? Certainly if the latter then no problem sir.

My gripe is that the number isn't theirs, they are custodians of it, you are the only one who has an investment in it, giving it value.
Erlang is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:01.