Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

iOS 6 Thoughts?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-09-2012, 00:57
Legacy o9
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,415
I had this problem but you just skip it and go into Wifi after you have finished the set up and your internet will be there.

Maybe people can stop shitting a proverbial brick now.
Legacy o9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-09-2012, 00:58
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: simply, no answer to Kidspud.
Posts: 24,400
What worries me is that it might have gone down due to volume of traffic which could result in this happening often.
So it can also act as a kill switch.

I can see a fair few uses.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:03
-ajm-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hedge End, Southampton, Hants.
Posts: 2,447
That sounds like a terrible idea.
Good idea on paper, in reality however...
-ajm- is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:03
-ajm-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hedge End, Southampton, Hants.
Posts: 2,447
So it can also act as a kill switch.
Looks like it.
-ajm- is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:04
SnowStorm86
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincs
Posts: 12,191
Stupid wifi issue lol. I had to reset my network settings and re add my wifi settings else it would drop my wifi and send me to some apple page that didn't exist. Seems quite a few people had the same issue lol. See this 40+ page thread.

https://discussions.apple.com/message/19619592#19619592

Lucky I had some credit on my 3g to find out what the hell was going on. And to think this ios6 was being beta tested for months now lol.
SnowStorm86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:08
SnowStorm86
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincs
Posts: 12,191
That sounds like a terrible idea.
So basically if a hacker floods that web site... Everyone loses their wifi? Lol oh my...
SnowStorm86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:10
swordman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5,848
can't even connect to your home Wi-Fi without apples ok
swordman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:12
wilt
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Potterspury
Posts: 883
So basically if a hacker floods that web site... Everyone loses their wifi? Lol oh my...
Sounds that way - though I suspect many have tried and failed to DDOS apple.com to the ground.

What is much more likely, like we have seen tonight, is that Apple removes that page.
wilt is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:13
SnowStorm86
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lincs
Posts: 12,191
Curiously my ipod touch on ios 5 did not lose wifi...
SnowStorm86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:17
wilt
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Potterspury
Posts: 883
Curiously my ipod touch on ios 5 did not lose wifi...
From what I have read so far, iOS5 and lower only check that page on open wifi networks - however as of iOS6, it always checks.
wilt is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:19
-ajm-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hedge End, Southampton, Hants.
Posts: 2,447
can't even connect to your home Wi-Fi without apples ok
It's supposed to make it easier.
-ajm- is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:20
late8
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,032
Has anyone else noticed wifi isn't working - If you try to join a wifi network you are re-routed to apple.com which then comes up with an error and drops your wifi connection!

Can't use my device since the upgrade.. Useless!!!!!!
Yes. I'm on iPad and wifi just cuts out.!
late8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:28
late8
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,032
Well my first iPad install totally cocked up. iPad went into recovery mode and was stuck there. Had to restart the pc + itunes and iPad. After a few more goes got it to work. It went straight to ios6 after recovery but all my stuff was gone. Lucky iCloud was there however the restore is no way as good as Android and google backup. On that my whole device automatically went back to just how I had it.
late8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:29
Matt D
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 11,166
I had this problem but you just skip it and go into Wifi after you have finished the set up and your internet will be there.

Maybe people can stop shitting a proverbial brick now.
That didn't work for me, nor did resetting, nor did forgetting and re-adding the WiFi network.

Ditto for a shitload of other people too (check the forum at Apple.com, or try Twitter...).

It was caused by Apple screwing up.

It is working fine now... because Apple put the missing page back up that iOS6 was trying to check.
Matt D is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:40
mjdj1689
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 2,102
If you're missing Google Maps. Just open up Safari and go to http://maps.google.com and it will automatically offer to put a shortcut on your home screen (web app).
Thanks for this , but how do you get it to do street view please ?
mjdj1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 01:55
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,791
Thanks for this , but how do you get it to do street view please ?
You can't. This is why the removal of Google Maps isn't good at all. The Flyover thing is a total gimmick and not useful in practical terms like StreetView.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 02:50
i love sky
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,786
Did my ipad 2 all ok but what is the Do not disturb thing all about?
i love sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 02:53
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,791
Did my ipad 2 all ok but what is the Do not disturb thing all about?
It's a feature where you can silence all notifications (but still allow calls from certain numbers, if you want to) between certain hours.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 05:42
i love sky
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,786
I use iMailG app for my emails and before the IOS 6 update yesterday the icon for the app would change numbers when ever i got a email(the email count).

but now it does not seem to update itself so have to refresh it myself and also if i delete a email on my desktop pc the email would also delete on my ipad without me doing anything but this has stopped now.

also i have AOL mail set up in my normal mail that is already on ipad when it came and that does not refresh as well unless i do it myself.

does anyone know what the problem could be? as it didnt do this before the update yesterday.
i love sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 06:07
AxeVictim
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,311
I read on another forum theres an app called ifindview that has Streetview.
AxeVictim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 06:30
satman17
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,634

So what can I do with Passbook right now and why is there a tab to the App Store at the bottom when I still have the individual App Store and iTunes Store icons? I thought they were both going to be integrated under 1 tab ?
satman17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 06:40
Wynne Evans
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,008
A case of the Emperors new clothes for me i'm afraid, the maps are awful, no street view which i found useful, Apples only redeeming quality was not charging us for it, and no Siri support for iPod Touch is pissing me of so i guess i'm jailbreaking it so i can get it.

I want street view back, the new maps are shit.
Wynne Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 07:27
horwichallstars
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Howich
Posts: 10,162
Installed last night. Now, when I use a Google app (google + / google earth), and press the icon to locate myself, the app crashes ...
horwichallstars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 07:33
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
It is the first major update whilst in a declared war.

Staff will have been under intense pressure to get those alternative maps working they simply took their eyes off the ball.

It happens.
That's very forgiving of you. You think it's the same guy that deals with the WiFi as the maps?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 07:45
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,877
For those that will be using maps, this is a great addition if your only using Satellite mode, not only in black and white, but
http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z...psf4fb7de8.jpg
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:14.