Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Radio


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-09-2012, 18:40
xxtimbo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,062

I bought a sony radio tuner 6
obviously at one time it was part of a
stack sterio music centre.

It has settings for mw lw and fm
It has 6 presets ... which probably dates it .... (maybe 6 for each radio band .)

I put in a 10 ft copper wire at the back for an ariel.
On fm I managed to get some channels in exellent quality .... no probs there.

But going on to LW and MW I could hardly get one channel, just a lot of fuzz as the digital number moved up and down.

Do I need some kind of special ariel to get mw and lw channels ?

I m getting more or less the same result in my pioneer music centre.
xxtimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-09-2012, 18:56
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,187
Look on the back of the tuner again. You will see a couple of terminals that look a bit like some amps use for speakers. That will be for the AM aerial. Just stuff a bit of wire into them and see what happens.

You'll need a reasonable length in most cases to get a decent signal. I've got results with 3 or 4 feet but it can depend on where you are.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 19:15
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,571
Yes, the AM aerial is completely separate to the FM one, essentially you just need a long wire.

However, AM is such awfully bad quality it's hardly worth bothering with.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 19:43
xxtimbo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,062
there are 3 terminals for ariels
just for fm
there's one terminal for lw and am ariel.
Maybe a longer wire might help, but I have a feeling the reception is so poor its hardly worth bothering.
xxtimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2012, 19:49
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,187
there are 3 terminals for ariels
just for fm
there's one terminal for lw and am ariel.
Maybe a longer wire might help, but I have a feeling the reception is so poor its hardly worth bothering.
Increasing the length of the wire attached to the FM terminal will have zero effect on the MW/LW reception. That terminal is not even connected to the AM tuner stage.

To get AM reception you must connect something to the AM aerial terminal.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2012, 03:35
David (2)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 15,967
Thats if it has an AM aerial port...my one didnt. If no port its built-in which means you need to move the unit around to effect reception-very common and not very good. Use the internet instead
David (2) is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2012, 15:24
xxtimbo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,062
Maybe Ill get 20 or 30 feet of wire together and put it in the attic,
theres a lot of medium wave stations out there.... surely it can pick some of them up !
xxtimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2012, 15:41
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 22,764
However, AM is such awfully bad quality it's hardly worth bothering with.
Unless you like to listen to R5L and / or Talksport. Which reminds me that I need to replace the AM aerial to my AV amp with a longer wire to get the aerial itself futher away from the noisy interference it picks up round the back of my TV and other AV kit.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2012, 20:33
David (2)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 15,967
I know digital radio is not perfect but provided you have reception R5 + talksport are far better on there than AM.
David (2) is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2012, 20:35
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,571
I know digital radio is not perfect but provided you have reception R5 + talksport are far better on there than AM.
I wouldn't want to listen to either of those - but obvious poor quality isn't of any concern for such stations

Assuming you're in an area that can get DAB?, then that would certainly improve quality greatly.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2012, 22:25
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 22,764
I know digital radio is not perfect but provided you have reception R5 + talksport are far better on there than AM.
I am assuming that someone who got themselves a tuner on the cheap as the OP did is not so interested in spending their money on a DAB radio.

And my own set up is such that I can switch to AM radio on my AV receiver from the comfort of my armchair while I would need to get up off my fat arse to switch my DAB radio on.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2012, 12:10
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 6,746
there are 3 terminals for ariels
just for fm
there's one terminal for lw and am ariel.
Maybe a longer wire might help, but I have a feeling the reception is so poor its hardly worth bothering.
From memory mine used something like this for AM
http://www.amazon.co.uk/LOOP-ANTENNA...dp/B008Y3XARA/

And this for FM
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Electrovisio...dp/B000L1ONW4/

But as with others, LW & MW reception were not great
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 16:34
raretronics
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
I bought a sony radio tuner 6
obviously at one time it was part of a
stack sterio music centre.

It has settings for mw lw and fm
It has 6 presets ... which probably dates it .... (maybe 6 for each radio band .)

I put in a 10 ft copper wire at the back for an ariel.
On fm I managed to get some channels in exellent quality .... no probs there.

But going on to LW and MW I could hardly get one channel, just a lot of fuzz as the digital number moved up and down.

Do I need some kind of special ariel to get mw and lw channels ?

I m getting more or less the same result in my pioneer music centre.
Its great to see people still have a keen interest in technology that inspired the future of present day radio. Only problem you will have is modern devices around the home these days cause many interference problems to the old radio bands i.e MW,LW, things start to get better at the bottom end of the HF band like SW. If you wish to listen to AM or LW then I suggest you move the receiver to somewhere in your home which isn't near anything like Laptops, Computers, TV's, etc. most of these unit contain either crystals or ceramic filters which normaly operate on simular frequencies to the MW and LW bands. anything that has a MCU or Controller like Programmable Pic's etc all use Xtals, which will cause major interferance on these bands.

I'm sure your sony receiver you purchased will have is own VHF Antenna connector for FM and a joint LF Antenna connects for MW and LW. Some older units will have a Ferrite Core Antenna located on the back of the unit. Many people think its a handle or something like that. If does you should be able to move it away from the unit which will help alot with the signal and interferance problems..
raretronics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 16:37
wavy-davy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW England
Posts: 6,469
These days the limiting factor is more likely to be the level of interference than the length of the aerial on mw/lw. I tend to find a battery powered radio sat on a window ledge is the best bet.
wavy-davy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:40.