Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Firefox problem, I think ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2012, 01:40
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,363

I have noticed for a couple of months now that if I try and book or just view flights on the Ryanair website using Firefox 15.0.1 with adblock+ turned off, all I get is this. It won't go any further, clicking continue just refreshes the page.
If I try in IE8 I get a captcha which (after getting it right) goes on to the flights as normal. Not sure when or why Ryanair brought this system in to use, it never used to be there.
I had presumed it was a glitch with Ryanair's site until I tried booking a car, with FF this is as far as I got ...clicking 'find cars' should lead to a choice available on that date but it does nothing at all, again IE8 has no problem.

Any ideas as to why this might be ?? Everything is up to date in Firefox.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-10-2012, 01:50
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
You got scripting turned off? Flash?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:10
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,363
You got scripting turned off? Flash?
No I'm OK on that score, I have 'accept 3rd part cookies' unticked but I've always had it that way and can't see that being the problem. I have an ad-on called Google disconnect but tried with that disabled as well.

I'm not blocking ads in any other way just ABP and a hosts file which of course applies to both browsers.

No problems signing in to anything else that I have noticed , Ebay, Online banking, anything flash related games etc are all fine.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:48
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,363
I have tried Firefox in safe mode and it works fine on Zipcar, will try Ryanair later ... I can't think of any ad-on that would be causing this, I don't have many. Call in Inspector Clouseau .

Edit: Ryanair working fine as well in safe mode.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:19
Beachcomber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 638
I was having to use the Ryanair web site in safe mode until I realised that it was the Google Disconnect add-on which was blocking the captcha words.

I now click on the red Google icon in the address bar to unblock the site and it works fine.
Beachcomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 11:25
barky99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Scotland - near a whirly thing
Posts: 2,826
there are still a few sites coded for internet explorer and only way I can get them to work properly without resorting to that other browser is to install the IE tab 2 firefox plugin
barky99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 15:15
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,363
I was having to use the Ryanair web site in safe mode until I realised that it was the Google Disconnect add-on which was blocking the captcha words.

I now click on the red Google icon in the address bar to unblock the site and it works fine.
I thought I had discounted Google disconnect as a reason by disabling it but I must have not restarted Firefox.
This was the reason and both sites mentioned work fine with the requests unblocked.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:49.