Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

SSD's So many, which one?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2012, 18:37
jaydogz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 288

Im after a 128gb SSD drive, it will be my primary drive for OS and important progs etc.
After browsing around there are so many out there.
Ive rounded it down to these two, but are there others of a better spec/price?

Budget of around 80

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/128gb...-s-new-version

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/128gb...320mb-s-pc-mac

This is a link to my Mobo, its sata2 so i know i wont get the full speed benefit, but anythings got to be better than my current hd.

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/Produc...U=en-us0000346

Thanks

Last edited by jaydogz : 07-10-2012 at 18:38. Reason: added budget
jaydogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-10-2012, 18:41
flagpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,504
I would say that they are all much more similar than they are different when compared to HDD.

The best performance advantage IMHO will come from getting the biggest one you can. Thus allowing you to put more apps and app data on it.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 19:01
jaydogz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 288
I would say that they are all much more similar than they are different when compared to HDD.

The best performance advantage IMHO will come from getting the biggest one you can. Thus allowing you to put more apps and app data on it.
TBH flagpole, 128gb will be ideal, as i said it will hold the os and a few important progs, my current 1tb hd will be used as storage and lesser important progs.
jaydogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 19:07
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,209
I would recommend the M4 product line personally.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 19:28
jaydogz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 288
I would recommend the M4 product line personally.
Have the firmware issues been sorted?
jaydogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 20:00
Igotyoubabe
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,415
I just installed one.

Here is the thread I started

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1741067

It was this one I ended up getting.

http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Stora...roductId=47341

Seems to be running fine, no problems and I did some quick research first. There were so many positives and negatives about them all, you can end up looking and looking. Seemed a decent compromise between size/price
Igotyoubabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 20:07
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,209
Have the firmware issues been sorted?
Every ssd has firmware issues. My fav ocz vertex 2 did a year ago.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 21:00
Smudged
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,168
Go with the Samsung. Very good drive.
Smudged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 21:29
Orbitalzone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sussex
Posts: 11,191
I'd go for the Samsung 830, in fact I did!
Orbitalzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 21:41
jaydogz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 288
Go with the Samsung. Very good drive.
I'd go for the Samsung 830, in fact I did!
Samsung orderd , it was my fave choice tbh, and after reading lots of reviews it does seem a good drive.
Thanks all for you help.
jaydogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 05:56
smcbeath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,692
I bought the 128gb samsung 830. Think it was 82 with brackets, amazon.

My set up was-

i7 860
6gb ram
500gb western hdd
dell sata 2 mobo

It took me 2 mins 30 secs, on average, to boot up pc and launch internet explorer and bbc sport web page. Loading the web page could easily take 30 secs, just soooo slooow.

With the mighty sammy ssd installed the same process takes 38 secs. What a difference
smcbeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 06:54
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,922
Another vote for the Samsung 830.

Great drive and the 256GB is only 116.99 at amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007BBQQ04/
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 07:14
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 16,144
Every ssd has firmware issues. My fav ocz vertex 2 did a year ago.
Yep, my Corsair did. twice. sorted now and running lovely
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 07:16
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 16,144
Another vote for the Samsung 830.

Great drive and the 256GB is only 116.99 at amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007BBQQ04/
Wow, i paid more than that for my 120GB corsair last year.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 15:40
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,209
Another vote for the Samsung 830.

Great drive and the 256GB is only 116.99 at amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007BBQQ04/
Check again, its 147.19p you SAVE 116.99 on RRP.

Its 159 at novatech but you get Norton Ghost and a 2.5" installation kit with it.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 18:35
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,922
Check again, its 147.19p you SAVE 116.99 on RRP.

Its 159 at novatech but you get Norton Ghost and a 2.5" installation kit with it.
I'm not lying mate, yesterday when i posted this it was 116.99, here is the hot deal page to prove it http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/sams...-co-uk-1330406

No doubt they got loads of orders and the price went back up.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 03:19
smcbeath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,692
Think i read on hotukdeals that the sammy 840 is due out any time now, so the 830 will probably continue to drop to clear stock. The 840 only seems to be more energy efficient.

Specifications

Capacity: 64GB, 128GB, 256GB, 512GB
Sequential Read: 540MB/sec
Sequential Write: 450MB/sec
Random Read: 100,000 IOPS
Random Write: 87,000 IOPS
Active Power Use: 0.068W (down from 0.24W for 830 Series)
Idle Power Use: 0.042W (down from 0.14W for 830 Series

http://pcper.com/reviews/Storage/Sam...msung-Ups-Ante
smcbeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:54
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 14,922
Think i read on hotukdeals that the sammy 840 is due out any time now, so the 830 will probably continue to drop to clear stock. The 840 only seems to be more energy efficient.

Specifications

Capacity: 64GB, 128GB, 256GB, 512GB
Sequential Read: 540MB/sec
Sequential Write: 450MB/sec
Random Read: 100,000 IOPS
Random Write: 87,000 IOPS
Active Power Use: 0.068W (down from 0.24W for 830 Series)
Idle Power Use: 0.042W (down from 0.14W for 830 Series

http://pcper.com/reviews/Storage/Sam...msung-Ups-Ante
Not according to Anandtech benchmarks http://www.anandtech.com/show/6337/s...0-250gb-review

4KB Random Read
830 - 67.2 MB/s
840 - 84.8 MB/s
840 Pro - 101.4 MB/s

4KB Random Write
830 - 167.5 MB/s
840 - 252.5 MB/s
840 Pro - 364.2 MB/s
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 00:27
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,275
Have the firmware issues been sorted?
What firmware issues?

The only significant firmware issues were with models with the Sandforce controller (all OCZ third gen models).

The M4s have been superb since release and are still not really topped by anything that's been released since.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:55
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 16,144
Check again, its 147.19p you SAVE 116.99 on RRP.

Its 159 at novatech but you get Norton Ghost and a 2.5" installation kit with it.
Still cheaper than what I paid for my 120GB corsair.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 13:37
Smudged
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,168
What firmware issues?

The only significant firmware issues were with models with the Sandforce controller (all OCZ third gen models).

The M4s have been superb since release and are still not really topped by anything that's been released since.
There were a few issues with the M4 but fixed with firmware updates. The Samsung 830 offers the same, if not slightly better performance and no problems at all (so far), which is why it often gets recommended now.
Smudged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 13:44
Paddy C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,607
I got a 256GB one from Crucial and it works perfectly. It was 120 but I'm sure the 128GB version is more around your price range.

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/ssd.aspx
Paddy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 17:30
jaydogz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 288

Installed and wow, what a difference, boot up was just over a minute and now 26 seconds.
Os install went fine and got all my important progs up and running.
Ran Samsung Magician and disabled defrag, index etc.
BUT.....
There is a warning about AHCI not enabled.
I read up about this before installing the drive but the only reference to AHCI in my bios is this option... IDE->AHCI .
I have also read that changing to AHCI (if the option above is the correct one) AFTER Windows has been installed can cause the OS to crash and also BSOD.

The bios recognises the drive and all is working fine, so do i really need to enable AHCI?(if i can).

Great drive though, well worth the money and such a noticable difference.
jaydogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 17:47
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
You can enable AHCI without reinstalling the OS, IIRC it is a registry tweak that forces the correct drivers to be loaded.

If you are running in IDE mode then your not be getting the full speed of your drive.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 18:34
jaydogz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 288
Ive found the registry tweak, but my issue is with the only option in my bios which is IDE->AHCI
Would that one and only option enable AHCI?
jaydogz is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:56.