Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Tvs without analogue tuners?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2012, 01:19
leslie123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 358

Are televisions starting to come into the shops without analogue tuners now that analogue has virtually 100% gone in the UK and ROI. Remember analogue tuners are still required for people who chose to pipe their Sky, Freesat and Satellite signals at RF level to other rooms around the house. So I would think that anyone still requiring an analogue tuner when buying a new television should check carefully and not automatically assume that the set has one as I would say that it is a fair bet that newer models of sets will not have them.
leslie123 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-10-2012, 08:28
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,812
Are televisions starting to come into the shops without analogue tuners now that analogue has virtually 100% gone in the UK and ROI. Remember analogue tuners are still required for people who chose to pipe their Sky, Freesat and Satellite signals at RF level to other rooms around the house. So I would think that anyone still requiring an analogue tuner when buying a new television should check carefully and not automatically assume that the set has one as I would say that it is a fair bet that newer models of sets will not have them.
It's still FAR too useful, so pretty well all sets still have them - there have been a few in the past digital only, but mainly tiny portables.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:56
soulboy77
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Herts
Posts: 13,532
Also TVs are made to be able to work in a number countries to save the cost of producing individual versions, Very few countries are entirely digital yet.
soulboy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:05
Chris Simon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Snowdonia
Posts: 2,723
Are televisions starting to come into the shops without analogue tuners now that analogue has virtually 100% gone in the UK and ROI.
As Nigel says, it seems to be mostly sets in the region of 26" and below that are digital-only at the moment. Samsung seem to be the most profilic I think, their analogue-less TVs are listed under the computer monitor section (calling them digital TV monitors) rather than the TV section but in stores like Comet and Currys there is no differentiation and they are stacked with the TVs.

Thing is, these TVs and monitors appear to have merged now. "Monitors" have SCART inputs and a Freeview tuner.
Chris Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 23:54
leslie123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 358
I agree with Nigel that analogue tuners in televisions should be retained for some time to come. No doubt he will agree with me as his recollections from 40 or so years ago are so very good that single standard televisions on UHF only were introduced a little bit too early thus leaving out the 405 line VHF system whilst the UHF 625 line system was nowhere near extensive enough at the time to justify this. I always recall my auntie who lived in Central London, in a built up area, next to a main road and not permitted to put an aerial up on the roof of the building going out and buying a new single standard UHF only 24 inch Ferguson black and white set in 1970. Reception across all three channels was abysmal. Whereas reception of BBC1 on Channel 1 VHF from Crystal Palace was very good and ITV on Channel 9 from Croydon was not so good but still better than UHF on her old set.Clearly she had not been properly advised to make sure the new set was dual standard. I wonder how many people bought new sets at the time whether colour or black and white and found that they could only receive BBC2 or even moved one of these sets to an area where UHF reception was yet to be introduced and received nothing. All because VHF 405 line was not part of the specification of the set.
leslie123 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 02:59
Nefrati
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 335
Also TVs are made to be able to work in a number countries to save the cost of producing individual versions, Very few countries are entirely digital yet.
no analog tuners in US tv's, haven't been any for a while now and there are no issues with it. what point is there adding some extra hardware to all your devices when only a small % need it, that is wasteful in all ways, never mind environmentally, i'm sure for those who need it some kind of analog tuner box can be used.

and nothing is free, the longer they hold onto old additional hardware/additional sku's for no reason the more "rip off" rip off britain will be even more "rip off".
Nefrati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:44
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,812
no analog tuners in US tv's, haven't been any for a while now and there are no issues with it. what point is there adding some extra hardware to all your devices when only a small % need it, that is wasteful in all ways, never mind environmentally, i'm sure for those who need it some kind of analog tuner box can be used.
Presumably you specified a 'while' to make it sound longer than it is (if indeed it's true), as DSO in the USA was pretty recent, so even if it's true then it was only a short while ago.

But the USA has always made crippled TV sets, so it's no real news if they have dropped analogue tuners - although I'm rather sceptical about it.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 00:04
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,867

and nothing is free, the longer they hold onto old additional hardware/additional sku's for no reason the more "rip off" rip off britain will be even more "rip off".
I hate that expression. Britain is not rip off Britain. There are many countries that rip off their citizens for more than anyone here could imagine.
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 04:12
Nefrati
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 335
Presumably you specified a 'while' to make it sound longer than it is (if indeed it's true), as DSO in the USA was pretty recent, so even if it's true then it was only a short while ago.

But the USA has always made crippled TV sets, so it's no real news if they have dropped analogue tuners - although I'm rather sceptical about it.
no need to be skeptical, google it

it was dropped like a bad habit, no one looked back, no one misses them. installing analog tuners on 100% of devices when only .0001% of them probably need such a thing is just environmentally wasteful, never mind the money
Nefrati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:29
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,292
no need to be skeptical, google it

it was dropped like a bad habit, no one looked back, no one misses them. installing analog tuners on 100% of devices when only .0001% of them probably need such a thing is just environmentally wasteful, never mind the money
This is just pure garbage. The analogue tuner isn't a seperate item. The modern chips that are used these days are world wide multistandard. omitting the capabaility of the chip will save a few pence if anything.

It's a pretty daft idea starting some sort of campaign to drop analogue tuners when millions still use them and will do so for quite a few years yet, Get a life just because you don't need one doesn't mean that countless other's don't.

I wonder how many use the built in system in a sky box to view remotely ?
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:39
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,812
This is just pure garbage. The analogue tuner isn't a seperate item. The modern chips that are used these days are world wide multistandard. omitting the capabaility of the chip will save a few pence if anything.
For most of the world anyway, if not the USA - even if they use suitable chipsets they normally cripple the set to prevent it's use elsewhere.


It's a pretty daft idea starting some sort of campaign to drop analogue tuners when millions still use them and will do so for quite a few years yet, Get a life just because you don't need one doesn't mean that countless other's don't.

I wonder how many use the built in system in a sky box to view remotely ?
Many millions, it's a VERY, VERY widely used feature (and a serious lack on Freesat boxes) - from what's been said so far about the G2 Freesat box, presumably that doesn't have RF either, despite been promised as included in the G2 spec. (mind you G2 boxes were promised to be on sale well over a year ago as well )

EDIT: Just checked a random 32 inch TV at Sony USA, it clearly states analogue tuner in the spec, as you would expect.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:20
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,292
Many millions, it's a VERY, VERY widely used feature (and a serious lack on Freesat boxes) - from what's been said so far about the G2 Freesat box, presumably that doesn't have RF either, despite been promised as included in the G2 spec. (mind you G2 boxes were promised to be on sale well over a year ago as well )
.
I don't recollect any such statement, what was promised was remote viewing, DNLA media streaming is included in G2 boxes (or will be shortly in the case of the only box there is).
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:00
stylo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 318
no need to be skeptical, google it

it was dropped like a bad habit, no one looked back, no one misses them. installing analog tuners on 100% of devices when only .0001% of them probably need such a thing is just environmentally wasteful, never mind the money
All this sounds very much like a discussion with a certain 'pocatello' (now an 'inactive member') 12 months ago...

"Ah yes, so the 0.0001% that have old cctv systems and are too cheap to upgrade or get converters should be catered for by saddling tens if not hundreds of millions with obsolete pointless equipment, give me a freakin break."

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1554622
stylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:14
1andrew1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,146
no need to be skeptical, google it

it was dropped like a bad habit, no one looked back, no one misses them. installing analog tuners on 100% of devices when only .0001% of them probably need such a thing is just environmentally wasteful, never mind the money
It's more wasteful and costly to re-engineer everything to remove the analogue functionality. A lot of manufacturers are losing money on making TVs so if they could make them cheaper then I'm sure they would.
1andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:22
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,812
I don't recollect any such statement, what was promised was remote viewing, DNLA media streaming is included in G2 boxes (or will be shortly in the case of the only box there is).
We were specifically told by Freesat that an RF modulator was been added to the spec, as it was the largest complaint they had about the specification of the boxes.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 02:08
Nefrati
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 335
This is just pure garbage. The analogue tuner isn't a seperate item. The modern chips that are used these days are world wide multistandard. omitting the capabaility of the chip will save a few pence if anything.

It's a pretty daft idea starting some sort of campaign to drop analogue tuners when millions still use them and will do so for quite a few years yet, Get a life just because you don't need one doesn't mean that countless other's don't.

I wonder how many use the built in system in a sky box to view remotely ?
It isn't a separate cost? prove it. you are going to have to show us that north american tv sets are literally having circuits burned out to make this feature inactive.

and stylo you think only one person could possibly disagree with you?
Nefrati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:53
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,812
prove it. you are going to have to show us that north american tv sets are literally having circuits burned out to make this feature inactive.
As North American sets appear to still have analogue tuners (or at least Sony ones do) your entire premise appears to be incorrect.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 14:51
stylo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 318
and stylo you think only one person could possibly disagree with you?
of course they can, but it's the manner in which they do it that's interesting!

You see, we had a member 'pocatello', also living in the US, who used the same phrases on the same forum on the very same subjects.

They also liked having a pop at the Brits when they could.
You did well yourself to get 'britain' and the term 'rip off' mentioned 3 times in one sentence, nice one.

Some may think you are one and the same, but as you're a 24-year-old female, it's unlikely.
You could be related to 'pocatello' of course, but I concede there's only about '.0001%' chance of this being likely
stylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 15:05
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 20,356
As North American sets appear to still have analogue tuners (or at least Sony ones do) your entire premise appears to be incorrect.
Not just Sony. Just looked up a random sample of Panasonic sets and found analogue NTSC tuners listed in the specs and in the user manuals.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 15:09
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,812
Not just Sony. Just looked up a random sample of Panasonic sets and found analogue NTSC tuners listed in the specs and in the user manuals.
I would have presumed so - but one example invalidated his/her silly claim anyway
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 01:39
Nefrati
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 335
of course they can, but it's the manner in which they do it that's interesting!

You see, we had a member 'pocatello', also living in the US, who used the same phrases on the same forum on the very same subjects.

They also liked having a pop at the Brits when they could.
You did well yourself to get 'britain' and the term 'rip off' mentioned 3 times in one sentence, nice one.

Some may think you are one and the same, but as you're a 24-year-old female, it's unlikely.
You could be related to 'pocatello' of course, but I concede there's only about '.0001%' chance of this being likely
is this really how you spend your time, you dig up threads from months ago to claim one person is the other. going by your posts and the others who disagree with me i'd say you were all the same person as well.

people having a "pop off" at the americans are pretty common on this board, I suppose they too are the same person.

but it does tell us something that you can't argue based on the topic and the facts and instead have to get personal.
Nefrati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 02:00
Nefrati
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 335
As North American sets appear to still have analogue tuners (or at least Sony ones do) your entire premise appears to be incorrect.
you are going to have to do better than that. analog was cut off there. are most models sold in the store equipped with a disabled analog tuner, you really will have to prove this because that would be extremely doubtful. the only reason to carry it that point would be compatibility for mexico and perhaps canada, but to be honest how many americans care about those broadcasts...

here is just one example
http://store.sony.com/p/KDL-40XBR2/e...specifications
Sony
TV System

Channel Coverage : Clear QAM
Tuner (Cable) : ClearQAM (unencrypted)
Tuner (Terrestrial) : ATSC

Those are digital now.


http://www.ebay.com/itm/SONY-TV-Tune...-/320996590400
you can always buy an analog tuner if you need it, but as you can see, they are hardly in demand.

so while you might say some models do have ntsc, you are going to have to show me that they burn out the circuits on the other tv's to disable analog reception. the same way they do on computer processors... this shouldn't be that hard
Nefrati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 08:12
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 36,812
Nothing to prove - we've already done it - you claimed that all American TV's were digital only, that's been demonstrated as entirely untrue. Are you now changing your stance to 'one TV' has no analogue tuner? - although the link you posted just comes back as model discontinued anyway, and has an unusual model number (so perhaps is a monitor with a digital tuner, like the Samsung models mentioned above).
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 10:21
mlayzell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Luton
Posts: 435
I am not sure if this is standard but on my 2 years old Sony TV now there are no Analogue available channels it always defaults to Digital even if you press the Analogue/Digital button on the remote. I can live with this especially after the thread I started a few years ago on this forum called Digital Only TV's that gave me a bit of flack
mlayzell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2012, 10:23
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,542
I am not sure if this is standard but on my 2 years old Sony TV now there are no Analogue available channels it always defaults to Digital even if you press the Analogue/Digital button on the remote. I can live with this especially after the thread I started a few years ago on this forum called Digital Only TV's that gave me a bit of flack
Yes, my Sony TV now does the same since DSO
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20.