Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Windows 8 - will you upgrade?


View Poll Results: Will you upgrade to Windows 8?
Yes 15 15.46%
No 62 63.92%
Wait and see 20 20.62%
Voters: 97. You can't vote on this poll right now - are you signed in?

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2012, 02:54
Ovalteenie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kakariko Village
Posts: 17,758

Just bought a new laptop & been advised to upgrade to Windows 8 with the 15 offer. Having read some of the discussions about Windows 8, I'm now having doubts. Don't know if I should... what's everyone else here planning to do?
Ovalteenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-10-2012, 05:20
The_One
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,829
I havnt read much about 8, but i love 7 so i have no reason to upgrade.
The_One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:40
IvanIV
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,405
I am going to buy one of those convertible touch things that will come with W8 already. But for a 15 I'd buy it anyway, burn it on a DVD, put it on a shelf. You may consider it later, Or not,
IvanIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:43
frida_adams
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 105
I havnt read much about 8, but i love 7 so i have no reason to upgrade.
Same here. Have windows 7 and happy with it.
frida_adams is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:40
zantarous
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ealing, London
Posts: 1,990
Have Win 7 but been using 8 and it rocks finally a OS that merges desktop and mobile. Most people are up in arms over trival changes like where the power down switch is. Use it for a few hours and the genius behind it becomes clear.

Use it on a tablet and you have to wonder how long the iPad will be dominating sales.
zantarous is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:54
Ross Murray
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Fife, Scotland
Posts: 422
At the moment I'm a Mac user, but have both Windows 7 and Windows 8 Release Preview running in Parallels. There is some nice things about 8 - Its super fast, especially at booting, even within a virtual machine.The Metro interface is nice and the metro apps load quickly and are easy to use. But, its clearly designed for mobile. It doesn't translate that well to the desktop environment in my opinion, I don't like that their is no traditional start menu and the location of things like power down - this takes too many clicks in my opinion.
Ross Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:23
davethorp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Preston, Lancashire
Posts: 6,418
Hell no
davethorp is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:03
Matt35
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,077
Im still using vista 32bit. Im thinking of getting windows 7 64bit.

What difference will it make?

with vista you a folder is created called windows old for you to take files you want to keep.

How can i still do that when i install windows 7?

Will it be compatible with older games?
Matt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:36
andym08home
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 575
I bought a netbook at the beginning of September which came with Windows 7 Starter which I was going to upgrade to Home Premium anyway (would have cost at least 40), It'll cost me 25 for Windows 8 as I don't think Starter is eligible for the 15 upgrade, the main reason I'm going to upgrade to W8 is so I can play old games like Simon the Sorcerer without having to use VirtualBox or ScummVM
andym08home is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:11
DotNetWill
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,390
Where is the option for "Already Have"? I upgraded when the RTM went up on MSDN and I've been running for about a month? 6 weeks? Not sure. Anyway, I don't get all the hate.

It works exactly like Win7 for the most part. You can still press win-key then type the name of the app you want to launch, pin things to the start bar and live completely in desktop land without ever touching metro.

The biggest benefit for me is it is FAST, my God is it fast. Boots to a usable desktop quicker, comes back from resume quicker than my MBA that has an SSD. File copies are quicker, the graphs are awesome, pause/resume buttons in copy/moves.

Windows updates no longer nag, they give you two days warning they're going to install and once you're used to the charm bar it's quite intuitive.

Even losing Aero, which at first was jarring, isn't that bad. When I use a Win7 machine now I think Aero looks dated.

Only downside is Metro sucks arse.

It's too bad many people have bought into the negative hype and are slamming it without spending time learning to use it. Oh well, their loss.
DotNetWill is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:11
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,547
Im still using vista 32bit. Im thinking of getting windows 7 64bit.

What difference will it make?

with vista you a folder is created called windows old for you to take files you want to keep.

How can i still do that when i install windows 7?

Will it be compatible with older games?
When you install Windows 7 a windows.old folder is also created.
If you have an existing Vista windows.old folder this will remain and probably renamed to (something like) windows.old000.

AFAIK if games play on Vista they'll be OK on W7.

The biggest advantage you will see by going to 64bit is that it will recognise more RAM - a 32bit system will only see about 3.25GB no matter how much is installed.
Check for 64bit drivers for older peripherals i.e. printers/scanners etc. but most are fine.

But, back on topic, my answer for W8 is NO. Tried it, don't like it so W7 is staying for the foreseeable future
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:17
IvanIV
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,405
^^^ With 64bit W7 16bit applications won't work anymore, they will/can with 32bit. You will need XP mode (XP in a virtual machine with a bit of integration to the main OS) to be sure all your applications will work. XP mode is in pro, ultimate, and enterprise edition.
IvanIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:24
flagpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,578
to clarify i wont be upgrading but i will be happy with it when i buy a new computer.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:30
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,580
I will definitely upgrading one of my machines to W8.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:41
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,213
I've been using it for a couple of months and am very happy with it. I'm due my annual PC upgrade so I'm going the whole hog, new W8 PC, phone and Surface Pro. I'll not upgrade the rest of the home network PC's to 8 just mine and my lads.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:02
Premium-Onion
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SW Scotland
Posts: 3,589
Yes, I will be.

When I first tried it many months ago, I hated it and uninstalled.

About three month ago I re-installed it and persevered for a few days to adapt to switching between metro and desktop. I now love it and think it's the best OS yet.
Premium-Onion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:15
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Avoiding Labour Law lecturers
Posts: 47,995
Won't be upgrading because I have a Mac
cnbcwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:18
PsychoTherapist
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 1,866
Probably not. I've tried it out and it just feels like a butchered version of Windows 7, with a half-finished GUI. Doesn't offer me anything over Windows 7, for now.
PsychoTherapist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:19
Premium-Onion
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SW Scotland
Posts: 3,589
Won't be upgrading because I have a Mac
Overpriced crap. Must be off your rocker.
Premium-Onion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:40
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Avoiding Labour Law lecturers
Posts: 47,995
Overpriced crap. Must be off your rocker.
No. I love my Mac No chance of Windows taking me back from OSX, but maybe Linux will.
cnbcwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:41
finbaar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,662
Overpriced crap. Must be off your rocker.
I got my new laptop last night. No I wont be upgrading. I got a laptop just before Vista was released and I didn't upgrade that either. I currently have a cheap ex business Dell running Vista and guess what - that will not be upgraded either.

MacBook Pro. I had never paid any attention to MacBooks in the past as there was no way I could justify the added expense over a laptop. So I had a look at one when I was getting Mrs finbaar to decide on which laptop she wanted. Well, lets be kind and say they are built very well indeed. And lets be nasty and say they are terribly designed. Really really badly designed. Every laptop was better than the MacBook. Why? Well there was this teeny weeny keyboard stuck right under the screen and a massive amount of wasted space in front of it. I know it's nice to rest your wrists when typing but come on, who are whey catering for? Simians?
finbaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 13:09
Matt35
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,077
Is this worth getting? I have seen it for 66 at CCL

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...pf_rd_i=468294
Matt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 13:11
Premium-Onion
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SW Scotland
Posts: 3,589
Is this worth getting? I have seen it for 66 at CCL

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...pf_rd_i=468294
Not sure how someone can refurbish a licence.
Premium-Onion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 13:13
Matt35
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,077
Not sure how someone can refurbish a licence.
Did wonder what they meant by that.
Matt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 13:50
Matt35
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,077
I`ve sent the seller an email asking why its refurbished?


Just got a reply which was fast.

Hello Matthew,

thank you for your interest in our products and services.

MAR (Microsoft Authorized Refurbisher) are not normal recovery as versions of manufacturers (Dell, HP, or FSC) but come directly from Microsoft. The MAR version can be ordered by a Microsoft Authorized Partner. If one of these partners as 1000 PC receives lease returns with the operating system Windows XP Professional, it is able to continue to sell Windows XP Professional operating system or with a new Windows 7 Professional.

All of our operating systems are sold with a valid license.

For further questions I am always at your disposal.

Sincerely / kind regards


Oliver Radke
Webdesign
Matt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:29.