Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

How good is 3 coverage these days.?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23-10-2012, 14:09
technoflare
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,400

Hi,

Looking at leaving T-Mobile and going to 3. They are offering me a free femtocell for my poor coverage at home and a free SIII, along with One Plan for 36 pm. T-Mobile is not great at my home either, but I don't think they have femtocells, and FM had no teather allowed. My question is though, what is the coverage like? Have they dropped Orange 2G mostly now?

Cheers,

Steve
technoflare is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 23-10-2012, 14:13
acoolwelshbloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Swansea, UK.
Posts: 2,392
Impossible to say, a mobile network may have great signal in one area and rubbish signal in another!

Best thing to do is get a pay go sim and test it out at the places you frequent the most.
acoolwelshbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 14:14
grumpyoldbat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,502
Impossible to say, a mobile network may have great signal in one area and rubbish signal in another!

Best thing to do is get a pay go sim and test it out at the places you frequent the most.
I did this. Was good enough for me so I signed on for a 30 day rolling contract.
grumpyoldbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 14:22
technoflare
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,400
Thanks, do they still use Orange 2G in poor 3G areas?
technoflare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 14:28
acoolwelshbloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Swansea, UK.
Posts: 2,392
I have a three sim only sim and that does allow access to Orange.
acoolwelshbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 14:42
jimmy7bellies
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9,477
I did this. Was good enough for me so I signed on for a 30 day rolling contract.
Exactly what I did. Costs a tenner to activate the sim so a slight gamble, though worth it to find out. Generally pretty impressed with Three, faster 3g speeds than I got with Orange and not really had any major signal issues yet. Can't complain for 2.73 a month (after Quidco cashback)!!
jimmy7bellies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 17:19
Daveoc64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bristol (BBC1 West)
Posts: 14,959
Thanks, do they still use Orange 2G in poor 3G areas?
Yes. They do.
Daveoc64 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 19:00
stud u like
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Sunny Side Of The Street
Posts: 38,158
Mine didn't like Milton Keynes.
stud u like is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 19:12
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,696
Get a PAYG sim and try it, I heard if you go to a 3 store they will give you a sim to try. They may even put a tiny bit of credit on for you, not sure about that though.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 22:59
damonc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 116
Techno flare I just went to three after many years with virgin or tmobile. My reason was purchase of iPhone 5 at launch and virgin not supporting iPhone so couldn't get nano sim and although cut my sim for iPhone 4 I wasn't going to the lengths of sanding a cut one down this time.

I just got the 12.90 ultimate tarrif which is rolling 30 day contract to check coverage and for my use it is good and probably better than with virgin. Went through quidco so think they pay 25 cashback so should pay for 2 months service. I ran for few days to check coverage before porting my number over which was done next working day after me completing details on three website.
damonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2012, 23:00
RickWhite
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,912
I use three in Manchester and its fabby
RickWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2012, 09:03
thedrewser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,818
Before I moved to Three in November 2011 I was on O2 and at the time my wife was on Three.

We drove from Scotland to Dorset and for a significant amount of the journey (and I'm talking M6 here, not the middle of nowhere) the O2 signal stunk (even in the triangle around Birmingham/Manchester/Liverpool etc where you'd expect great coverage) but the Three signal was great. I had to use my wife's phone to use Google maps. because my O2 signal was so poor.

Then, we were holidaying in a really rural part of Dorset and on O2 I got zero reception but Three had about 2 bars on 3G.

Where I live in Scotland, the only place I have so far found a lack of signal is on the train between Airdrie and Glasgow for a few miles. We have even travelled around really rural Argyll and Bute and had an acceptable 3G signal.

That's why I'm with Three and I know they have a reputation for awful customer service, but after 12 months I haven't yet needed to use that part so am very happy with the signal I get from Three.
thedrewser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2012, 09:55
nigelbb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 671
Mine didn't like Milton Keynes.
I was just staying in a hotel in Newport Pagnell & had great signal on Three & connection speed of 7+Mbps down & 3+ Mbps up.
nigelbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2012, 11:18
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,448
3 does not like most of Wales only the bigger towns and cities, away from them and its all but useless.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2012, 11:23
flynn
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 883
Milton Keynes is a strange one for Three signal, it seems to have very localised dead areas (for example the car park in one of the Tesco stores - move the car a few hundred yards and it will go from nothing to full signal, 8mbps).

Originally Posted by thedrewser
I know they have a reputation for awful customer service, but after 12 months I haven't yet needed to use that part so am very happy with the signal I get from Three.
Pretty much my experience too - I haven't had to use their customer service and everything else has been fine, with no major coverage issues on my travels.
flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2012, 21:14
technoflare
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,400
thanks for all of your reply's. I will do some testing on an old 3 phone, but its helpful to know others experiences nationwide. The lack of teathering with TMobile is an issue for me so may go with 3. Going to check with them that if I get my new phone via CW or other that I can still get a free femtocell...
technoflare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2012, 08:35
scooby1970
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Neath
Posts: 2,318
3 does not like most of Wales only the bigger towns and cities, away from them and its all but useless.
I disagree with that. Having lived and worked in mid and north Wales for over 10 years I travelled all over and never had a problem with Threes signal, not even in the middle of nowhere.


Now I'm back in South Wales my signal is just as robust. That's why my work now use Three mobiles as they let us keep in touch with our staff no matter where they are in Wales.

Mark
scooby1970 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2012, 09:16
acoolwelshbloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Swansea, UK.
Posts: 2,392
3 does not like most of Wales only the bigger towns and cities, away from them and its all but useless.
I Iive in Wales and i would disagree with you.
acoolwelshbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2012, 09:31
matty1000kk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 143
In general three's coverage is very good. Even out in the country there coverage is impressive and speeds just as good. There is still the odd patch here and there I struggle to get a decent signal but this is true for all networks.
Just did a quick speed test here in Colchester with my iPad tethered to my laptop. Over 20Mbps!

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2263721738.png
matty1000kk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2012, 09:47
heskethbang
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 3,353
I use 3 on my iPad and I don't think there's been a time when I've had no signal. The data speeds are excellent too.
I'm currently with vodafone on the iPhone 5 but I'm considering switching that to 3 as there has been a problem with my local mast that vodafone seem in no hurry to sort out.
heskethbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2012, 21:53
dslrocks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Between the gutter and stars
Posts: 6,773
No data on Orange fallback though - only calls and texts.
dslrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2012, 11:58
barker71
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 408
Has anyone on here managed to get a femtocell from Three?

I want to move over once the new lumias are announced and want to know the best way to get one without tieing myself in for a 24 month contract with very bad signal!
barker71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2012, 16:15
BluesTrainRadio
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 718
I seem to be silly but....what is a femtocell? And should I ask for one when signing up to 3?

My wife is about to move to 3 after her Virgin contract ends this weekend...it seems the signal in our area is as good as anything else....her eldest son uses 3. But I keep seeing mention of a femtocell and want to know if I would need it!
BluesTrainRadio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2012, 16:25
barker71
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 408
They use your home broadband to provide a very localised three signal (kind of like your home wifi) only really needed in bad signal areas
barker71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2012, 16:28
BluesTrainRadio
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 718
Ah! Well, that should be ok then.

It was only a couple of days ago that I had even considered 3...then as mentioned, it turns out my wife's lad uses it..he knows quite a bit about phones, used to work in the business...and he is more than happy with the coverage in our area...he has had no issues to speak of. I am on t-Mobile as I am on a good rate [ brother works for them! ] but sometimes the signal frustrates me here. I don't think any of them are perfect...all I can see with 3, is that my wife can get a nice little phone on a very good deal.
BluesTrainRadio is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:25.