Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Old XP and new PC-Can I run both off 1 monitor?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-10-2012, 19:18
virginskyfan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 339

Looking at getting a new PC for photo and video editing.
Ideally I'd like to keep the old one and use the new one as clean as possible Question is can I run both off a new monitor?

The old PC is XP and the new one Windows 7 or 8(whatever they give me!)

(Not looking to run both machines at once necessarily)
virginskyfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-10-2012, 19:26
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,549
See here
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00011PC8...SIN=B00011PC8I

Video here
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izTW8WViW48
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2012, 19:29
PrinceGaz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 7,986
If the new monitor has two inputs, yes. Just connect one machine to each. Check its specifications.

Otherwise, switch units are available quite cheaply if you really only want to have one monitor on your desk, but the advantage of running a dual-monitor setup is something worth considering (possibly using a switch to swap the second monitor between your new computer and the older one)
PrinceGaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2012, 10:59
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,786
That's a lot of money for a PS/2 KVM switch. I don't think many new pc's still support PS/2, so it might not be suitable.

This is the type of KVM I have been using for years with my 2 PS/2 pc's:-
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-PORTS-KV...item35a36d13a7

There is also a USB type available for the same price.

If it's just the monitor that you want to switch, & not the keyboard & mouse as well, then there are VGA switch boxes available, starting at around a fiver:-
http://www.amazon.co.uk/DIGIFLEX-SVG...1330793&sr=8-1

If one of your pc's has a DVI connector & one has a VGA connector, then buying a monitor with both connectors on it should allow you to switch between the 2 pc's.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2012, 13:28
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,285
You can also obviously use the KVM just to share the mouse and keyboard, and plug the computers into different ports on the monitor if it has HDMI, DVI etc.

The KVM I have uses keyboard controls to change the computer you are controlling (CTRL-CTRL-1, CTRL-CTRL-2 etc).
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2012, 14:22
virginskyfan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 339
Thanks for the answers.Really appreciate it
virginskyfan is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:35.