Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Turning my TV into a smart TV


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-10-2012, 17:16
murmansk69
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 22

I've just installed a friend's new Samsung smart TV and I was impressed by the way it can access the Internet and iPlayer, ITV player etc.

I got my own Samsung TV only a few months ago but it is not "smart" - it has a LAN port at the back but I can't see what use to make of it at the moment.

I've got a Humax HDR Fox T2 and can access iPlayer via the Humax portal when it's connected to my router.

I wonder if someone could point me in the right direction of some kind of box I could use to be able to access iPlayer, ITV Player, 4OD and the internet via my TV, preferably with a remote keyboard too?
murmansk69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-10-2012, 17:34
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,292
WD TV Live maybe

http://wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=330
grahamlthompson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2012, 18:53
vinba
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Class 971 Shchuka-B Gepard
Posts: 6,625
Well no keyboard but you could get something like this:

http://www.richersounds.com/product/...bd660/lg-bd660

doubly useful if you don't havr a bluray player
vinba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2012, 19:05
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 22,160
I use an Acer Revo nettop computer.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2012, 19:46
lbear
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London SE8
Posts: 1,756
If you are a little computer savvy, you could get a Raspberry Pi computer and add a remote keyboard and mouse - you would need to make sure it is compatible with the Linux operating system.
lbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2012, 21:27
BrokenArrow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 14,664
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BLACK-MK80...item1c2bc396b0

Plug in to your HDMI port, you get a full HD Android computer.

Just download iplayer, ITV player 4OD, SKy GO etc from the google play store, all free.
BrokenArrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2012, 21:36
murmansk69
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 22
Thanks everyone for those replies, I'm starting to get a feel for what I might need
murmansk69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2012, 21:43
Stuart_h
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,404
Rikomagic mk802 ii and cheap wireless keyboard and mouse

All in under 60

Edit.... oops as per brokenarrow above
Stuart_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2012, 23:04
scruffpot
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,918
Rikomagic mk802 ii and cheap wireless keyboard and mouse

All in under 60

Edit.... oops as per brokenarrow above
me want but only got an old crt tv with no hdmi
scruffpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2012, 21:22
Sniffle774
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Planet Mongo.
Posts: 18,870
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BLACK-MK80...item1c2bc396b0

Plug in to your HDMI port, you get a full HD Android computer.

Just download iplayer, ITV player 4OD, SKy GO etc from the google play store, all free.
How good are these ? Thinking of getting one but wondering if its 'out of the box and away' or wether I will need to tweak anything ?
Sniffle774 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2012, 21:46
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,078
How good are these ? Thinking of getting one but wondering if its 'out of the box and away' or wether I will need to tweak anything ?

Never used one myself, but this may be helfull to you.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akp2h...eature=related



This may be what the OP is actually trying to achieve?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8S03yHqMRX0
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2012, 22:03
Stuart_h
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,404
How good are these ? Thinking of getting one but wondering if its 'out of the box and away' or wether I will need to tweak anything ?
I have one. Daughter uses it on her TV. Works very well with a cheap WiFi keyboard and mouse. Great with streaming video, Netflix, web and casual gaming. Surprisingly quick too. Make sure you go for the mark ii version.
Stuart_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2012, 22:30
Sniffle774
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Planet Mongo.
Posts: 18,870
I have one. Daughter uses it on her TV. Works very well with a cheap WiFi keyboard and mouse. Great with streaming video, Netflix, web and casual gaming. Surprisingly quick too. Make sure you go for the mark ii version.
You said the magic work there....Netflix...cheers
Sniffle774 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2012, 22:41
Stuart_h
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,404
You said the magic work there....Netflix...cheers
Be aware you have to side load a previous version though

A quick Google will sort you out.....
Stuart_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 02:39
thms
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 52,644
the lg smart tv upgrader is worth a look

http://www.lg.com/us/tv-audio-video/...rbox/index.jsp

and apple tv

http://store.apple.com/uk/browse/hom...amily/apple_tv
thms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 06:13
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
me want but only got an old crt tv with no hdmi
My ol' CRT TV (two scarts (AV1 abd AV2), plus RCA Connectors for AV3 in) is made smarter by its friends: TVOnics DTR HV-250 with dongle on AV1, Sony BDP-S380 with dongle for AV3. Panny DVD Recorder on AV2. I only ever have the mains to the Sony or Panny on when I am needing them.
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 22:30
captainlockheed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maghull (Liverpool)
Posts: 388
can you use any wireless keyboard and mouse or does it have to be wifi ?

don't know if there's a difference being a laptop user
captainlockheed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 00:21
jjne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,619
can you use any wireless keyboard and mouse or does it have to be wifi ?

don't know if there's a difference being a laptop user
If you're referring to the MK802, any USB device that announces itself as a standard HID will do the job.

All wireless keyboard/mice do, so there's no problem.
jjne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 21:43
captainlockheed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maghull (Liverpool)
Posts: 388
thankyou jjne i think i'll order mk802 mark 2
captainlockheed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 00:12
jjne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,619
The only thing you need to watch with the MK802 is the firmware pre-loaded has a nasty little bug that prevents full-screen video without the status bar on-screen at all times.

It's easy enough to get rid of with extra software, and a lot of the third-party firmware available doesn't have this problem, but it has the effect of stopping some media players from being able to display full-screen at all.

Get rid of this, and it's a very capable little device.
jjne is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:03.