Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

So whats your Broadband speed at the moment?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24-11-2012, 22:08
Darthchaffinch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,545
about 7Mbps, and we're miles from nowhere!
Darthchaffinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-11-2012, 12:45
simpsod2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
14.2Mbps Down 1.2 up on sky unlimited
simpsod2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 21:53
Wendolene
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Manchester.
Posts: 128
60M download, 3M upload. Virgin Media cable.
Wendolene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2012, 12:54
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UNITED Kingdom
Posts: 3,209
60M download, 3M upload. Virgin Media cable.
You make me sick
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2012, 13:33
daniel99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Doncaster South Yorkshire
Posts: 11,785
download speed 2.52mb ISP BT Broadband
daniel99 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 18:02
Fred Flintstone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 600
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2342276158.png

Pathetic!
Fred Flintstone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 18:05
QWERTYOP
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,572
As of right now - 30.23 download 8,11 upload. (speedtest.net)
QWERTYOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 22:32
Party Animal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,133
Just done the test now I am with O2
download 4.3mb
upload 0.3mb

for 21 a month its not good enough
Party Animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 22:37
Intrakota
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangkok Th (coventry also)
Posts: 122
Your Home Broadband I take it, your right, you're been done.
Intrakota is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 22:48
Party Animal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,133
Your Home Broadband I take it, your right, you're been done.
My Location is supposed to be 14mb download speeds but I have been with 02 for 2 years now and was with sky before that and it is usually around 7mb download

but my contract is up in January so it will be bye bye O2

just not sure of who to go with... amazing that I live in a Town of 60.000 peope in the center of England and these are the best I can hope for no infinity no nothing here
just crap speeds all the time and no cable either
Party Animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 23:15
Intrakota
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangkok Th (coventry also)
Posts: 122
You need to do some serious research on your area to see exactly who is providing what. You might also invest in some pay as you go mobile sim cards from the 5 main operators to see if anyone is providing the same or better for less before jumping into a contract, then all you need is a 3 or 4G wireless router.

One additional thought, my neighbour had a problem with crap speeds on his Sly ADSL, a quick investigation revealed that the previous tenants had to have a Choke fitted to the line because my transmitters were playing havoc with there analogue cordless phones - shame, anyway removed the choke and things improved instantly to a reasonably acceptable 12Mb/s not that Sly would actually want to give anyone the full 20Mb they blab on about.

Hard to believe that connectivity is still so crap these days, where does all the money go, obviously not where it should that's for sure, for the "feel good factor" think back to the days of 28Kb/s Download, I think upload was by post.
Intrakota is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 23:31
Party Animal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,133
You need to do some serious research on your area to see exactly who is providing what. You might also invest in some pay as you go mobile sim cards from the 5 main operators to see if anyone is providing the same or better for less before jumping into a contract, then all you need is a 3 or 4G wireless router.
Intrakota... I appreciate all the help I can get here as I really dont want to go with more 'duffers'
and I am pretty green with all this techie stuff regarding Broadband

my area looks pretty garbage with all the providers - and have no idea what you mean about buying mobile sim cards

I have a samsung galaxy note with Vodaphone and the signal is rubbish my daughter has mobile with O2 again its rubbish and my wife is with Orange which is also rubbish
all 3 phones sat waiting for pages top load for upto 20 seconds plus which is damned annoying

there is no Infinity on offer and no 4g so I guess I am stuck with the garbage until 4G roll out more around the country

any suggestions gratefully accepted
Party Animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 00:46
Intrakota
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangkok Th (coventry also)
Posts: 122
PM sent.
Intrakota is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:09
eypon
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 319
AAISP is probably the best isp but...very pricey (you get what you pay for).
eypon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:42
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,356
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2351787036.png

Not bad for non fibre, what I like is that it is the same all the time.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 02:24
jra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 32,569
11 meg down. 1 meg up.
jra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 04:01
Cougar Girl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 226
75 meg Down - 15 meg Up.

Plusnet Fiber Optic.
Cougar Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 05:37
jra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 32,569
75 meg Down - 15 meg Up.

Plusnet Fiber Optic.
Show off.
jra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 06:38
Wbc-Worker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London
Posts: 576
Virgin Media - 20 mbps down 1 mbps up { should end up at 2 mbps up } http://www.speedtest.net/result/2352107964.png

I would rather see Virgin improve their dependability rather than their speed

when its on it stays around the same speed but every so often there is periods where there is no broadband for six to eight hours then it will be fine for a month or so and then its back down.
Wbc-Worker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 20:39
fatsi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,144
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2358006281.png

Virgin Media XL60
fatsi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 20:54
Intrakota
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangkok Th (coventry also)
Posts: 122
That's pretty crap, cant see how Virmin can be as bad as that.
Did anyone lay down any ground rules ie. a particular Speed test application to use, server, Cat5e or higher wired connections only, without some consistency the results are worthless.
Intrakota is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 22:11
Central cake
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Birmingham. The second city
Posts: 4,235
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2358156893.png
Central cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 22:43
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2358199886.png

BE Unlimited ('up to 16mbps)
3km from exchange
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 13:51
fatsi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,144
That's pretty crap, cant see how Virmin can be as bad as that.
Did anyone lay down any ground rules ie. a particular Speed test application to use, server, Cat5e or higher wired connections only, without some consistency the results are worthless.
It is crap. Up until last Saturday I was on 20mb from Virgin and I got consistent speeds of 19-20 no matter what time of the day.
Then they tripled me to 60mb and gave me the so called Super Hub and there is nowt Super about it

My test ^^ was done on a wireless connection. Just did a wired test.....18.30 up and 2.93 down
fatsi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 14:17
Intrakota
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangkok Th (coventry also)
Posts: 122
Time to pick up that phone me thinks, they will run some tests for you to see if all is well or as with some customers, you too have a faulty Hub.
Intrakota is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:33.