Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

EE LTE speed threads


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-10-2012, 13:29
SkyPlatinum
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 769

I would interested to know if you have 4GEE. The speeds you are getting, location and what phone you have ? Is there a speed cap ?
SkyPlatinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-10-2012, 13:53
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,107
Here is a bit of a cheat. Rory Cellan-Jones on BBC News did a few tests. He was based in Manchester Salford area he did a speed test about 1.15pm on an iPhone 5 and got 13Mb Down and 6Mb Up.

A speed test he ran early this morning was 19Mb Down and 7.5Mb Up. See video clip:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-20121025
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2012, 14:15
FortyTwo25
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London
Posts: 2,794
I would help...if I knew how to do this
FortyTwo25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2012, 14:22
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,107
Commonly used speed test website:

http://www.speedtest.net/

Apps can be found here:

http://www.speedtest.net/mobile.php
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 12:20
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,107
Rory Cellan-Jones posted a whole load of speed tests. EE users will be bitterly disappointed in the real world speeds which im guessing have been well and truly throttled or are just not up to expectations

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-20121054
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 13:55
BrightSparks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 967
They have capped it at 12meg so ive seen, But there saying on the news ect 'its 5x faster then 3g' Jesus i get 6-7meg on 3g now so if they keep the cap at 12meg its hardly going to be worth changing over to it while these stupidly low data limits are still that low
BrightSparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 14:04
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,698
They have capped it at 12meg so ive seen, But there saying on the news ect 'its 5x faster then 3g' Jesus i get 6-7meg on 3g now so if they keep the cap at 12meg its hardly going to be worth changing over to it while these stupidly low data limits are still that low
How can it be capped at 12 when some of the tests many of the media are doing, are in excess of 12 by quite a margin. Please don't just spout random thoughts.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 14:06
red_g00ner
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 733
Surely those speeds are comparable to HSPA+

I think 4G is a bit of a gimmick. I would much rather the telecoms companies invested in there existing 3G infrastructure. Would much rather have less congested masts and better backhaul connections.
red_g00ner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 14:39
daleski75
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northampton
Posts: 720
Look at coolsmartphone's test with 1 bar on 4G as a case in point, there is NO cap at 12mb on EE and the speeds capable on 4G are far higher than HSPA+ so if it really was the case that 4G wasn't that much better then why bother rolling it out just stick with DC-HSPA+

Sorry for the rant just see lots of misinformation here.
daleski75 is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 14:46
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,107
Look at coolsmartphone's test with 1 bar on 4G as a case in point, there is NO cap at 12mb on EE and the speeds capable on 4G are far higher than HSPA+ so if it really was the case that 4G wasn't that much better then why bother rolling it out just stick with DC-HSPA+

Sorry for the rant just see lots of misinformation here.
HSPA+ up to 21Mb
DC-HSPA+ up to 42Mb

EE's 4G seems to average around 16Mb so certainly not living up to expectations with practically no users on the 4G service so no congestion issues to deal with unlike 3G.
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 15:26
davybhoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,141
Well I have just ordered my EE 4GEE sim and tariff and I can't even get 4GEE yet. I pay 46 p/m for 3Gb data anyway so it makes no odds to me when I did it except for that you have to start a new 24 month contract so the quicker I did it, the quicker my new contract started! Bring on the 4GEE Belfast roll out!!

Also, you get a free swappable with EE including the free Sky channels which DON'T come out of your data bundle. I was using my own data for Sky Go which I now don't have to do as soon as my new sim gets here in a few days

EDIT: Will be closer to end of 2012 before the Sky channels are available but even still, it's a good deal
davybhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 15:45
red_g00ner
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 733
Look at coolsmartphone's test with 1 bar on 4G as a case in point, there is NO cap at 12mb on EE and the speeds capable on 4G are far higher than HSPA+ so if it really was the case that 4G wasn't that much better then why bother rolling it out just stick with DC-HSPA+

Sorry for the rant just see lots of misinformation here.
I agree with you that theoretically speeds are greater, but TBH, l was using my Three mobile tethered to my 55" TV and streaming Netflix quite happily.

Just saying that l think the money could of been spent improving the current infrastructure.
red_g00ner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 16:58
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,107
Ive asked paulker if he could post results on this tread but he said he got 4Mb in Glasgow with a signal 1 on his 4G MiFi probably a Huawei E589.

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showp...postcount=3341

http://shop.ee.co.uk/huawei-e589-mbi...nthly/details/
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 19:16
paulker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 714
Well, I received the mifi at work in the biggest industrial estate in Scotland. I get a whole one bar 4g outside! Managed 4 meg.. I will try it in other better served locations just for geek purposes but its going back as I wanted fast internet at work. There is no fibre cabinet serving me and my adsl is ****.

Oh and the mifi is HUGE.
paulker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 19:17
paulker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 714
Ok, I had a wee jaunt around Glasgow this evening and if I am honest finding a useable 4g signal was like trying to find a needle in a haystack. I locked my mifi to 4G and it showed no service a lot of the time and another big chunk of the time it had 0 bars. In a huge area there were 3 masts that were live. I stopped beside two of the masts and did a speed test. The best I got was 13 meg down and 20 meg up.

I actually felt like laughing it was so bad. I am disgusted that EE have the cheek to say that Glasgow has 4G service. Ok, I didnt go into the centre of the city but I wasn't in the sticks either. I was in highly populated areas.

I am sending the mifi back and I am also considering not switching my iphone over. If I did switch it would only be because I have just started a 24 month contract and dont want to wait 6 months to then have to start another one on EE. If I do switch next week I will have to switch LTE off as it will be on 0 bars all the time. I am not sure of the technical side to this but if I dont switch it off will this mean that I will miss calls all the time? Maybe not as 3g supoorts calls and 4g is data only. Not sure on this one. PLYMOUTH!!!!
paulker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2012, 21:16
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,107
The coverage map for Glasgow looks a bit patchy I guess it will improve in time. How long that will be is anybody's guess. At least the Huawei E589 does 3G and 2G so its not completely useless. But the price plan makes it a bit of a waste of money.

Guess its not worthwhile investing in 4G at this point in time.
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 08:46
daleski75
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northampton
Posts: 720
It's still very early days yet for 4GEE and I expect there will be a fair amount of issues before they get everything working properly but just look at what they have accomplished so far so I am sure they will iron out all the bugs etc.
daleski75 is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 19:14
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 423
4 Bars, Liverpool & L15

Lots of congestion by the looks of it.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2281960003.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2281961957.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/2281963349.png
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 20:26
wavejockglw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 9,635
Who has been daft enough to pay EE for the privilage?

Don't do too many spped tests or the 500MB allowance will be consumed for the 36 a month fee!
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 20:30
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,107
There is no way it will be congestion. There are very few users of 4G. These seem consistent with other speedtests on 4G. Looks more like EE overestimated real life 4G speeds
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 20:34
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 423
There is no way it will be congestion. There are very few users of 4G. These seem consistent with other speedtests on 4G. Looks more like EE overestimated real life 4G speeds
Congestion in the backhaul is very possible. i image the orange and ee masts share the same backhaul.

As orange is just as slow!
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 20:36
wavejockglw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 9,635
Who in their right mind would pay EE 36 a month for 500MB of data on an LTE network.

LTE is about fast mobile data to watch movies, TV, enjoy multimedia according to EE, but with 500MB that is not possible. A bit like being given a sports car and an empty motorway with a litre of fuel.

EE seem to think that consumers are uneducated idiots.
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 20:37
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,449
Who has been daft enough to pay EE for the privilage?

Don't do too many spped tests or the 500MB allowance will be consumed for the 36 a month fee!
PMSL I was thinking the same actually. I just looked at my data allowance, did a speed test and then refreshed it and it uses about 10MB per test, so with such a tiny data allowance for 36 you could do about 50 speed tests and then it's game over.

You really could use your whole allowance on speed tests quite easily.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 20:37
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 423
Who in their right mind would pay EE 36 a month for 500MB of data on an LTE network.

LTE is about fast mobile data to watch movies, TV, enjoy multimedia according to EE, but with 500MB that is not possible. A bit like being given a sports car and an empty motorway with a litre of fuel.

EE seem to think consumers are uneducated idiots.
Agreed, Hence why i got the Mobile broadband plan instead!
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 23:37
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,698
PMSL I was thinking the same actually. I just looked at my data allowance, did a speed test and then refreshed it and it uses about 10MB per test, so with such a tiny data allowance for 36 you could do about 50 speed tests and then it's game over.

You really could use your whole allowance on speed tests quite easily.
If the speeds were in the higher area say 20-25mbps you'd get a good bit less than 50 tests!!
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:35.