Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

3 Mobile Broadband Keeps Disconnecting


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2012, 05:50
DSWNSM
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,683

Is anyone else having this problem right now ? mine keeps disconnecting after 10 minutes and 8 seconds. I have had a 3 dongle for nearly 2 years and this has never happened before. It's like it just keeps timing out. The thing is it disconnects then reconnects itself, usually i would be the one that has to reconnect it since i have the automatic connection set as off.

This has happened about 10 times, literally it is disconnecing and reconnecting after 10 minutes and 8 seconds............sigh 3 your useless.
DSWNSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-11-2012, 06:08
DSWNSM
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,683
Just been on 3's Facebook page and it seems like i am not the only one having these problems.
DSWNSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 10:50
EEPhil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 372
You're lucky to get 10 minutes out of it.
Yesterday I had over 20 tries to actually connect in the first place. 3connect wouldn't work at all. Tried using the usual Windows modem connect program - connection to 3's computer worked but it wouldn't authenticate me as a user. So it disconnected, again and again and again...
Eventually managed to connect and got a few minutes of work done.
This morning, 3connected first time, but service just keeps dropping out. "Ping" test times out.
The service is currently dreadful.
If I hadn't already paid for this I'd move to another broadband provider. It just is not good enough.
EEPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:10
Martin Phillp
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London
Posts: 20,277
No problems here. When the same problems happen here, I put the dongle on a USB extension lead and place it somewhere else where it gets signal from a neighbouring base station.
Martin Phillp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:32
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 76,468
I've been getting the little yellow triangle every now and then yesterday and today.

It seems to happen when the weather is bad.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 15:41
DSWNSM
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,683
It's working fine for me now, a lot of the other people that were complaining on their facebook page are not saying anything anymore so i'm guessing it's fixed.
DSWNSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 08:52
EEPhil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 372
It's working fine for me now, a lot of the other people that were complaining on their facebook page are not saying anything anymore so i'm guessing it's fixed.
Not now it isn't. Every 0.1Mb of my usage it stops for 5 mins. Pings fail etc. And the dongle is on an extension lead, high up, hanging out the window.
EEPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 15:37
DSWNSM
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,683
Not now it isn't. Every 0.1Mb of my usage it stops for 5 mins. Pings fail etc. And the dongle is on an extension lead, high up, hanging out the window.
That seems like a different problem to the one i was talking about.
DSWNSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 17:48
EEPhil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 372
That seems like a different problem to the one i was talking about.
I doubt it. There does seem to be some general problem with 3's mobile broadband. Your first post sounded similar to part of the problem I was having - although not 10 mins.
On connecting this time, it worked for about 7 mins (1.4Mb) and then stopped. If I had not connected by 3Connect I suspect the modem would have closed and I'd have to reconnect. After a while using 3Connects ping test I noticed the connection restored, only to crash again a minute later. This happened a couple more times before the connection became more stable.
EEPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 17:53
Dean_Burroughs
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 273
3 is having the same problem in ireland the last 3 weeks is it solar flairs or what?
Dean_Burroughs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:03
EEPhil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 372
Similar problems again this morning. I don't have the time of the disconnects but you can imagine the frustration when the broadband fails after 4.8/5.1/5.7/5.8/6.6/7.3/7.5...Mb data usage. I can barely manage to view 1 page before it goes phttt!
EEPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:05
Tom Holt
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Been having intermittent issues this morning with my Mifi (Huawei E586) in Leeds, but it's not indicating a loss of signal, it's just being slow with data traffic on my laptop/iPad.
Tom Holt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:19
EEPhil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 372
Been having intermittent issues this morning with my Mifi (Huawei E586) in Leeds, but it's not indicating a loss of signal, it's just being slow with data traffic on my laptop/iPad.
That sounds about right. If you look at the signal, it seems ok. But here, if you ping a known IP address it quite often looses all the packets. However, if I keep an infinite ping on one of 3's computers it does seem to keep the connection a bit longer. Maybe just my imagination. Also if I use a torrent program to (legally) download a program (eg. LibreOffice), that also seems to preserve the connection longer.
EEPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 13:15
WellHiddenMark
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Not-London
Posts: 1,316

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1753942

I've had problems since late last week.
WellHiddenMark is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:22
EEPhil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 372
Interesting that in that thread reference is made to Manchester.
Usually when I do a google search I'm told I'm in Birmingham. The last couple of days it thinks I'm in Manchester. I wonder if there is some sort of rolling upgrade going on?
EEPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:41
EEPhil
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 372
Here we go again!
25 attempts to connect to 3. The 3 website very slow. iPlayer impossible to use. What a useless service this is.
(Signal strength = 5 bars).
EEPhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2012, 10:39
bowland37
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,230
I normally use a TP-Link 3G router that gives me wireless but that now won't connect so I'm having to plug the dongle directly into my desktop or laptop and use 3connect. any ideas why?
bowland37 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:19.