Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Want an SSD in my MacBook Pro ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2012, 23:01
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,454

Can anyone recommend me a good SSD for my 2012 MBP

A 120GB should do me, was looking at a Samsung 830 on Amazon for 79

Many thanks for your ideas
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-11-2012, 23:13
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,905
The only thing i could do is say what i wouldn't recommend, which would be an OCZ drive, because i've had one fail on me. I dont think i could recommend my Crucial M4 "yet" because i've only had a couple of months.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 04:10
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,454
Anyone got the Samsung 830 in there MBP
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 11:47
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,454
I'm guessing the MBP is Sata 3?
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 13:02
MassiveDynamics
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 473
If you use a non-Apple brand SSD then you will have to enable TRIM using a third party tool.

I used Trim Enabler when I did my MacBook Pro but there are other tools.

I installed a Crucial M4 SSD

http://www.groths.org/?page_id=322
MassiveDynamics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 14:55
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,454
what ones on the market are Apple branded SSD's
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 14:57
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,416
what ones on the market are Apple branded SSD's
Extremely overpriced for a SSD

http://www.ebuyer.com/234774-apple-5...-pro-mc731zm-a
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 15:34
MassiveDynamics
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 473
There is no performance difference for using non-Apple SSD's, you just need to enable TRIM.

Buying an Apple SSD will automatically enable TRIM but otherwise no difference, it is just one of Apple's many ways of getting more money from suckers, sorry I meant customers.
MassiveDynamics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:12
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,454
Any better drives for similar cost to the Samsung 830?

Also can I enable trim connected to another computer/ pc/mac using a caddy then pop it into the MBP and fresh install mountain lion
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 17:45
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,454
Is it Sata 3
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 00:10
MassiveDynamics
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 473
Also can I enable trim connected to another computer/ pc/mac using a caddy then pop it into the MBP and fresh install mountain lion
This is what I did:

Install the SSD in the MBP, install OSX then install the system updates from Apple, reboot, run Trim Enabler and reboot again.

I had to run it a second time to get TRIM working permanently, you can double check by looking in System Information - Serial-ATA.
MassiveDynamics is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:26.