Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

My PC says I don't have full administrator rights...


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2012, 21:00
Trickster999
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,197

Sometimes when I run Spyware search & destroy it says I don't have full admin privileges, also said that when I tried to update Vuze - it was my mate that set this computer up as we used a copied version of Windows 7 but he didn't set himself up as an administrator - it's just in my name.
Trickster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-11-2012, 23:26
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,311
I'm on XP but I presume 7 will be similar.

Control Panel, User Accounts, change an account, choose the one with your name and click 'change my account type' choose computer administrator. So long as a password has not been set already for administrator.
Maybe its not so easy on 7, don't know.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:40
Trickster999
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,197
I'm on XP but I presume 7 will be similar.

Control Panel, User Accounts, change an account, choose the one with your name and click 'change my account type' choose computer administrator. So long as a password has not been set already for administrator.
Maybe its not so easy on 7, don't know.
Its already set to me as administrator.

It does say, via administrative tools/use accounts the following:

Administrator - built in account for administering
Guest - built in account for guest access (I presume thats my mate who set up my pc - this acct is switched to "off")
Home Group - Home group users
John Mclane = nothing wrote by the side of my name unlike the above
Trickster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:56
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,692
we used a copied version of Windows 7
Are you sure you want it disclose that?

If its a hacked version of Windows 7, who knows what's wrong with it.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:30
Trickster999
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,197
Are you sure you want it disclose that?

If its a hacked version of Windows 7, who knows what's wrong with it.
Its a false name
Trickster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:18
Dim-Star
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 123
It's a safety feature that's part of the User Accounts Control “UAC”. It basically keeps you running as a common user even while on an Administrator Account.
You can turn off UAC but it’s not recommended
The usual way around is to right click on the shortcut to the program and select “Run as Administrator”
Dim-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 13:22
Hotelier
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 51°30'4.56"N 0° 8'31.21"W
Posts: 11,928
I always use a non admin account. Not sure how it works but sometimes I get a pop up asking for admin account password (to install something for eg), and it proceeds fine.
Other times I just get a 'Not enough privs' type message and it closes, so I have to log on my admin account to do it.
Hotelier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 13:24
Trickster999
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,197
It's a safety feature that's part of the User Accounts Control “UAC”. It basically keeps you running as a common user even while on an Administrator Account.
You can turn off UAC but it’s not recommended
The usual way around is to right click on the shortcut to the program and select “Run as Administrator”
How does it make the pc safer?
Trickster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 14:16
Dim-Star
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 123
By allowing any program to run on your computer as administrator and have full access to everything by default you could have all kinds of trouble.
For instance if some malware was allowed to run with full access by default instead of letting you give UAC approval first you are going to have major problems.
Dim-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 16:08
Mr Dos
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 410
Most people see UAC as a nuisance/nag screen, and just click to make it go away - so in 99% of cases its worthless. I have it turned off.
Mr Dos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 16:19
Desolate one
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Notts
Posts: 1,559
Turning off UAC is not advisable as it highlights a program needs elevation to admin priviledges and identifies the program so you can make an informed choice whether to allow or deny action.

If the program is not known for instance then you would deny it as it may be malware unless it is a program or app, browser you are using then you would allow as long as you know it's function.

The copy of windows used here may not be genuine so there could be a multitude of possibilities why elevation is not working.
Desolate one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 17:01
Trickster999
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,197
If I purchased a genuine copy of Windows is it relatively easy to install?
Trickster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 17:49
Desolate one
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Notts
Posts: 1,559
Simple to install ensure the bios is set to to boot from cd/dvd drive insert windows disc click to install windows follow the prompts and choose custom install from advanced options choose to format hard drive and then install Windows after format finished.

Backup all important data before the install is essential before attempting install as all data will be lost.

Using a copied version of windows 7 from an unknown source from a P2P software download or from some website over than an official site download like microsoft is not genuine puts you at risk from viruses not to mention the copyright infringement.

I do not know if this is the case but if it is then buying a genuine Windows 7 DVD will give you a valid licence to use it.

I am afraid i cannot give advice using a non genuine copy of windows if this is the case.
Desolate one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 18:27
marysvevo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 56
Yipee-ki-ay!
marysvevo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:13.