Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Table problem in Word 2010


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2012, 16:32
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 452

Hi, I've got a problem with documents in MS Word 2010 where it keeps taking a table and splitting it across 2 pages leaving just the heading on the first page and the rest on others.

Here's what it does:

http://i48.tinypic.com/1o3nzl.jpg

Any ideas how to fix it? I've tried a few options in "Table Properties..." but can't get it to stop doing it.

Thanks
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 11-11-2012, 16:44
Alan F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 893
Put a page break above the 2nd table heading.

Put cursor above the heading then press Ctrl+Enter
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 16:53
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 452
Thanks but.... I'd like the table on page 2 to move onto the previous page.

Any ideas?
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 16:57
Alan F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 893
You have to make it smaller.

Reduce the row height.

(Alternatively reduce top/bottom margins)
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 16:58
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 452
You mean the FIRST row in the table? The first row (on page 1) is TINY at the moment.
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 17:05
Alan F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 893
No. To get both tables onto one page you must make them smaller or the page larger, or both.

Smaller fonts, smaller row height, less spaces, fewer rows of text, wider table (smaller side margins).

They need to be tweaked in many small ways, but you may not be able to get in on one page and have to settle for two.
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 17:07
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 452
I'm not sure if I'm being clear. Basically I want as much of the second table to fit onto the first page as possible and have it like it is at the moment where there's ONLY the first row on the first page.

Surely word can have a table on the first page and then as much of the second page as possible directly underneath it?
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 17:13
Alan F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 893
Ah - In that case you need to place a page break in the second table at the point you wish it to go to page 2.

At the moment it is seeing table 2 as a single item and keeping it together on one page.
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 17:17
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 452
Oh right. Got you!
That's a bit annoying though isn't it? Can't I get it just to flow over the two pages rather than having to manually put in page breaks to get this effect?
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 17:27
d'@ve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Darn Sarf
Posts: 19,970
Oh right. Got you!
That's a bit annoying though isn't it? Can't I get it just to flow over the two pages rather than having to manually put in page breaks to get this effect?
Right-click with cursor in the table...

Table Properties...

Row...

Options...

Allow Row to Break Across Pages.

Sorted.
d'@ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 17:28
Alan F
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 893
Right click on the table

Select Table Properties/Row and tick 'Allow row to break across pages'

I prefer just to hit Ctrl+Enter.
Alan F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 17:36
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 452
Thanks guys but putting that option ON is not working. It still leaves the first row on the first page and the remaining rows on the next pages.

Update.... it's JUST worked! I've been trying that for ages and it's just worked!
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 17:39
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 452
Is there a way to stop a row from breaking over a page? It looks messy when only 1 line of text in a cell gets stuck on one page and the rest on the next.
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 18:31
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,276
Is there a way to stop a row from breaking over a page? It looks messy when only 1 line of text in a cell gets stuck on one page and the rest on the next.
Errr correct me if I'm wrong but isn't that what you have told Word to do to get round the issue in your OP?

The only way to solve both problems is to insert page breaks where YOU want the table to split not rely on Word to do it for you. There are times when the only way is to take control yourself and manually lay out the page.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 18:41
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 452
I basically want a tick box the table properties to say "Allow table to break across pages" this is different to "Allow rows to break across pages".

Tbh... I'm not sure what's happening to my word document at the moment as what I said earlier has worked on that first page but it won't work on further pages when I tick the "allow row to break across pages"
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 19:24
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,276
There is only so much Word can do by itself. It is clever but not that clever. If you want the page laid out exactly as you want it then you are going to have to take control yourself.

No matter what auto format and auto layout options Word has they are not perfect and will always do something you don't necessarily want. Inserting a page break in a table where YOU want it is so trivially easy I really don't see the problem?
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:30.