Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Intel Ivy Bridge HD4000 integrated graphics


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-11-2012, 18:35
andersonsonson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,271

are these graphics any good? have heard mixed reviews
andersonsonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-11-2012, 18:56
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,788
As far as integrated goes, the HD4000 is about as good as you are going to get right now. If you are planning on doing much gaming then a separate GPU is always the preferred option but for casual use the HD4000 seems perfectly capable at the default settings in my experience..
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2012, 20:03
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,233
As s2k says, if you want to play games, then i wouldn't use Ivy Bridge gfx, but if its only desktop stuff your after, including full 1080p video decoding, then its fantastic.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2012, 20:59
andersonsonson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,271
do you think the graphics in the AMD A10 4600M beat the HD4000?

Im going to buy a laptop and want to play fifa 13 on it but want integrated graphics (lower power), but not sure if its possible
andersonsonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2012, 21:24
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,233
I thought the HD4000 gfx were the most powerful when they came out, but i only know that from following CPU releases. But i've not kept up to date with integrated gfx.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2012, 21:29
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,264
fine for basic gaming and of course HD playback and general purpose use.

This is FIFA 2013 running on a HD3000, I would expect the HD4000 to be slightly but not hugely better

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iERYw...eature=related
c4rv is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2012, 21:38
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,233
fine for basic gaming and of course HD playback and general purpose use.

This is FIFA 2013 running on a HD3000, I would expect the HD4000 to be slightly but not hugely better

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iERYw...eature=related
However, one of the comments say
idk,,, this is low setting ( i think )
im get unstable framerate,, so i didn't play it anymore,,
Sory
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2012, 21:58
andersonsonson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,271
ive went for the AMD A10 quad core with integrated graphics
andersonsonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2012, 22:00
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,233
ive went for the AMD A10 quad core with integrated graphics
For what reason? I've not seen anything in this thread which would point you to that decision.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2012, 22:22
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,788
For what reason? I've not seen anything in this thread which would point you to that decision.
Are you implying that a comment on a YouTube video is not an 100% accurate and reliable source of information?
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2012, 00:45
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,275
There is still (incorrectly) a stigma associated with 'integrated' graphics.

This was somewhat valid with a GPU that's integrated into the motherboard, but not so much with a 2nd or 3rd gen Core iX processor, which has the GPU on the CPU, not on the motherboard.

Motherboards that take these chips have video output ports, but this does not mean that the GPU is on the board, rather that the board is ready to output the display pushed to it from the on-chip GPU.

I have an i7-2600k driving two screens at 1920x1080 with no issues whatsoever.

Only fairly hardy gamers need more. For anything else, HD2000/3000/4000 is more than adequate.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2012, 03:17
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,451
Think I have this in my MacBook Pro and that runs like silk
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2012, 09:28
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,480
I had a hands-on with an A6 for a bit yesterday and it was nippy.

Only really had desktop and WEI to go by but it outscored the Intel HD on my i3 by a long way and the processor scores were easily into i5 territory.
shhftw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2012, 02:27
Akane Tendo
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,815
do you think the graphics in the AMD A10 4600M beat the HD4000?

Im going to buy a laptop and want to play fifa 13 on it but want integrated graphics (lower power), but not sure if its possible
My macbook pro switches between integrated and dedicated graphics. I would have thought windows laptops would offer a similar function to save on power.
Akane Tendo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:37.