Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Monitor turns off in game


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-11-2012, 16:09
LadyQuake
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 150

Hi

It only started happening few weeks ago, nothing has changed on my computer.

When playing Everquest (hasn't done it on desktop or when on excel etc) my monitor goes off and says no signal, sometimes it does it after a few hours sometimes after a short while.

Computer stays on looks like but only way to get display back is restart computer.

I tried a replacement Graphic Card and did the same.
I know its the older driver but its the only one that works in the game with my card, well did until recently.

My Pc spec is:-
OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name AMD
System Manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer INC.
System Model A7N8X-E
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 10 Stepping 0
BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe ACPI BIOS Rev 1013, 12/11/2004
SMBIOS Version 2.2
Time Zone GMT Standard Time
Total Physical Memory 3,072.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 2.25 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 4.84 GB
Adapter Description NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500
Adapter RAM 256.00 MB (268,435,456 bytes)
Installed Drivers nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version 6.14.10.8198


Any ideas what is causing the problem of no signal in game?

Shirl
LadyQuake is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-11-2012, 16:14
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
if you hadn't said you'd tried a different graphics card i would have bet good money it was the card over heating.

it is so typical a problem that i'm not convinced you don't have two over heating graphics cards.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2012, 17:47
LadyQuake
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 150
really strange has never happened in the 12 years been playing the game, cept recently.

could the AGP slot be faulty you think?

if I could get a PCI card (not pci express its an old type pci) the same spec if possible to the AGP card I have, would that solve it you think? (not sure what PCI cards you can get now)

shirl
LadyQuake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2012, 18:24
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,835
Possibly the PSU on its way out so is not being able to provide the power to the motherboard to power the card in high power modes all the time as a lot of cards draw different power levels depending on how much graphical pew is required and i'll assume all the case fans are working and any heatsinks are clear of dust/cat fur etc
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2012, 18:55
Helmut10
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 426
Hi,
It sounds like overheating but the possibility that a new Graphics Card is exactly the same is a pretty remote possibility.

That sort of brings it round to the CPU Processor which may also be overheating. That also has to work hard during a game.

It is easy enough to check on both, the CPU and the Graphics Card temperature.

I use CPUID Hardware Monitor - an older version 1.15 works better for my ASUS MOBO.
N.B. The newer versions of CPUID HW monitor may not work with older motherboards and Graphic Card chipsets, and as always make sure you don't install the usual unwanted toolbars.
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmon...s-history.html
I see the oldest they have a download for now is Ver: 1.16 (beware of toolbar....).

If you get temperatures of maybe ~90C or more then it's not good and the processor will cease to work properly.

Another check is to replace the Lead from the Video Card to Monitor. Also check the physical condition of the pins/sockets on the Graphics Card and Monitor.
Maybe these are not the cause but at least you eliminate a couple of possibilities at very little cost.
Helmut10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2012, 19:33
LadyQuake
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 150
Hi

I just changed the lead see if that makes a difference when i do the game later. I downloaded the Hw monitor i done the no install option one that runs from the downloaded file only.

This is the recorded details while on desktop.
I do have alot of fans in the case and bayfans mostly they are molex connected.
http://www.moore-websites.co.uk/stats1.jpg

I will try take a look at the programme once in the game, see what changes.

Shirl
LadyQuake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2012, 19:44
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,835
Some of those voltages look well bad, generally they should be within 5% of their value (ignore the negative ones) so i'd say clean out the crap from the machine and get a new psu in there but that assumes its reading the values from the MB correctly
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2012, 20:32
LadyQuake
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 150
45mins in game again display went off - no signal - when i restarted pc to get it back looked at HW nothing changed really in that.

http://www.moore-websites.co.uk/stats2.jpg

Ill try unplugging some of the fans.

when i get another job again ill save for a newer computer, but can't at mo since being redundant 8( Hope i can fix this one cheaply.

shirl
LadyQuake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2012, 04:15
LadyQuake
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 150
unplugging couple of side and bay fans and the DVD didnt help still lost signal to display
LadyQuake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2012, 01:36
LadyQuake
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 150
was watching a you tube video today, and went off the same no signal to monitor - so not just that game.
LadyQuake is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:27.