Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Iphone 5 no signal out the box


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-11-2012, 00:24
linkinpark875
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,250

Just got a replacement Iphone 5 after I dented the last one issue is there's no signal out the box.

I posted another thread thinking it's O2 but seems not. Done a reset no joy.

Strangely 3G internet loads despite having no signal bars.

Any ideas need some help as I can't use this phone to call or text?
linkinpark875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-11-2012, 01:24
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,233
Have they just not transfered your sim?
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2012, 01:31
linkinpark875
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,250
Have they just not transfered your sim?
I was using Iphone 5 before but got a replacement on ebay as I dropped my last one. Activated it about 4 weeks ago been using it fine.
linkinpark875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2012, 04:48
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 7,287
Sounds very much like the phone is blocked....

I only hope you bought from a decent seller, although why you just didn't take the original one back to Apple like i said in the first place is anyone's guess...
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2012, 10:05
linkinpark875
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,250
Sounds very much like the phone is blocked....

I only hope you bought from a decent seller, although why you just didn't take the original one back to Apple like i said in the first place is anyone's guess...
The phone was sealed in a box new so it that possible still?
linkinpark875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2012, 10:09
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,589
The phone was sealed in a box new so it that possible still?
could have been re-sealed.
how much did you pay for it? if the price was too good to be true then that should set alarm bells off.

or it could simply be faulty. if it's a legit new iphone then it'll have a warranty, take it to your local apple store and they will look at it.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2012, 10:20
linkinpark875
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,250
could have been re-sealed.
how much did you pay for it? if the price was too good to be true then that should set alarm bells off.

or it could simply be faulty. if it's a legit new iphone then it'll have a warranty, take it to your local apple store and they will look at it.
480 16GB version just normal price really.

And it was a private seller.

Website says it's under warranty so should I just see the Apple store then or contact the ebay seller?
linkinpark875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2012, 21:59
linkinpark875
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,250
No more ideas?

Won't be near any Apple shop until the weekend.
linkinpark875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 01:08
CoolboyA
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Alba
Posts: 10,160
Are you sure you're holding it correctly?
CoolboyA is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 01:20
linkinpark875
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,250
Are you sure you're holding it correctly?
Haha..

Frustrating issue as I've had no signal all day and any search of google finds ones that develop no signal never seen one or heard of one with no signal right away.
linkinpark875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 08:12
reclusive46
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norwich
Posts: 552
Why would you pay that for a new one? Apple would have just replaced your old one for 180
reclusive46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 10:22
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,589
480 16GB version just normal price really.

And it was a private seller.

Website says it's under warranty so should I just see the Apple store then or contact the ebay seller?
I would have thought that should contact the seller first as it was dead on arrival.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 10:28
linkinpark875
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21,250
Why would you pay that for a new one? Apple would have just replaced your old one for 180
I sold the old one and its worked a lot miles cheaper than Apple's 182 repair cost.
linkinpark875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 13:25
Dan Sette
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cornwall (at last!)
Posts: 4,753
I'm not sure that it will work out cheaper.

The seller has sold an iPhone, that unless it was bought as a sim free phone, will be locked to the network it was originally bought for.

If that is the case then it will be the network that will have to unlock it. And this will be chargeable.

Also, if it is locked to a network, Apple will not be able to unlock it for you as the insruction to so so has to come from the network that provided the phone. Once that is dome it is unlocked via iTunes.

Don't be surprised if Apple can't do anything.

Except.

If its an sim free version and it doesn't work. Apple will just replace it.
Dan Sette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 23:35
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,589
Are you 100% sure the phone is not locked to a carrier? The phone still needs to be activated, even if your existing SIM is fine.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2012, 23:43
Roush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 2,175
Don't be surprised if Apple can't do anything.

Except.

If its an sim free version and it doesn't work. Apple will just replace it.
Apple honour valid warranty claims on all iPhones, not just SIM free ones.
Roush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 03:30
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,451
It will only be locked to the first SIM card that is put in the phone, that's how it works
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 04:54
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 7,287
Indeed. He said it was sealed in the box when he got it. So its either blocked or just humped at which apple will replace it.
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 05:25
Roush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 2,175
It will only be locked to the first SIM card that is put in the phone, that's how it works
Only for iPhones that come from a reseller like Carphone Warehouse or Phones4U.

iPhones that come directly from a network are locked to that network out of the box.
Roush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 14:43
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,589
Only for iPhones that come from a reseller like Carphone Warehouse or Phones4U.

iPhones that come directly from a network are locked to that network out of the box.
This ^^
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 21:52
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,451
No that's not correct, I recently got an iPhone 5 from 3 but put an orange sim in and it worked, next day called three and I said it wouldn't work, they had to unlock handset for it to work.

Easy way to get an unlocked phone
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 22:07
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,946
No that's not correct, I recently got an iPhone 5 from 3 but put an orange sim in and it worked, next day called three and I said it wouldn't work, they had to unlock handset for it to work.

Easy way to get an unlocked phone
I'm confused, If the orange sim worked straight away then why did you have to unlock it?
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 22:10
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,479
Presumably the phone locked to Orange when the Orange SIM was inserted, and so the Three SIM didn't work. He then rang Three and they unlocked the phone. So he now has an unlocked phone for future use.
IslandNiles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 22:48
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,946
Presumably the phone locked to Orange when the Orange SIM was inserted, and so the Three SIM didn't work. He then rang Three and they unlocked the phone. So he now has an unlocked phone for future use.
Ahh sneaky. Will keep this in mind, probably never have to use this method though.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2012, 23:24
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,589
No that's not correct, I recently got an iPhone 5 from 3 but put an orange sim in and it worked, next day called three and I said it wouldn't work, they had to unlock handset for it to work.

Easy way to get an unlocked phone
I don't think that is the case with O2 retail shops. They scan the phone serial number and it gets authorised in the shop. I tried another networks SIM first years ago before the proper one, while I was waiting for my number to transfer and it wouldn't work. But it seems to vary depending where you get it. With Carphone Warehouse for example the phone only locks when you first put the first SIM in. This may have changed now though, as I haven't bought a phone from a network in ages, and prefer to order SIM free now.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:40.