Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

USB caddy for SSD


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25-11-2012, 14:36
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,842

I have just ordered this caddy for an OCZ 120GB Vertex 2 SSD, which was replaced under warranty and is otherwise surplus to requirements. (I replaced the original in my PC with a Verbatim drive as I have had 2 OCZs fail on me in a short period of time.)

The description says it's self-powered, but what I find a bit disconcerting is the picture of a USB lead with two plugs at one end. Does this mean that to get sufficient power for the device it has to be plugged into two adjacent USB sockets? Or are they alternative plugs for USB2/USB3?

There is nothing in the spec to suggest that twin sockets are needed - if it were necessary that would be a problem.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 25-11-2012, 14:55
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,008
One of the reviews says:
" ...if you want to plug in both USB cables for full power, your USB ports will have to be next to each other. There isn't enough cable to, for example, reach one port on the side of a laptop and one around the back."
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2012, 14:57
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
it is to gain addition power. but the power requirements of SSD are very low compared to HDD. and the USB 3 power should be higher than USB 2.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2012, 16:01
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,842
I only have USB2 - is a single socket going to be enough? I will search out the other reviews - not much on the Amazon site.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 10:58
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,842
Well, it's on its way now, so I shall soon find out for myself...
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 11:03
Paddy C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,892
I have a USB caddy for a normal HDD and it has the two USB's on one end. I have only ever used the one port and it's worked fine for me. I must try it with two and see if it makes any difference.
Paddy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 15:40
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,842
Good, because an HDD uses a lot more power than an SSD.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 22:20
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,842
Just to update - the caddy arrived today and the kit is brilliant - even down to including a mini screwdriver to screw on the face plate when assembled (a nice touch).

The SSD just slotted in, the whole thing only took a couple of minutes to assemble, and it works perfectly with just the single USB plugged in.

It took me a while though to realise that although it appeared in Device Manager as a disk drive, it didn't appear in Windows Explorer because it needed partitioning and formatting. Once that was done, it was all fine. (The instructions to do all this are included with the booklet that comes with the kit - but you have to read it first )

However, since I wanted it to work with my Humax Foxsat HDR, it had to be formatted as FAT32 - the only options on Windows 7 are NTFS and exFAT, neither of which is supported.

I got over that by downloading a utility called fat32format. It's a command line utility, and you need to be careful to enter the correct drive letter to be formatted!
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 23:08
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,888
ext3 would be way better, of which can be used in windows also.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2012, 10:04
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,842
Yes but you have to install extra stuff to access ext3 (assuming you can format it in the first place), and I don't think you can write to it even then.

I can live with the 4GB file limit with FAT32, and I want the device to be usable just like any USB stick. ext3 would not allow me to move files to another Windows PC that didn't have the extra software installed. Big hassle.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:32.