Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

HOw to only have one programe on one user account?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-11-2012, 20:31
newlight1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fair Isle, Scotland
Posts: 656

I have downloaded a few program's, ie SKYPE etc is there anyway that I can not have them appear on EVERY user account? Just my own?

Any advice appreciated
newlight1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-11-2012, 21:17
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,984
You need to take shortcuts out of the All Users section of the Start menu and put them in just your Start menu folders in your user profile.

If you let us know what OS we can give you specific instructions.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 22:17
newlight1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fair Isle, Scotland
Posts: 656
You need to take shortcuts out of the All Users section of the Start menu and put them in just your Start menu folders in your user profile.

If you let us know what OS we can give you specific instructions.
Yes I have windows Vista Acer Aspire. I tried to look for the All Users section but couldn't find it, so if you do have some specific instructions that would be helpful. Thanks!
newlight1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2012, 14:24
spiney2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,347
have a single admihistrator account. then one or more ordinary accounts.

installing software in an ordinary account should hide it from other ordinary accouunts. but the administrator can still do anything !

if particular software will only install for all users then you need as administrator to start altering file permissions so only some users can run some software ......
spiney2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2012, 14:26
spiney2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,347
.... windows file permissions are general stuff. look up how to change them. that its an acer computer makes no difference at all ......
spiney2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2012, 14:29
spiney2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,347
... i think the common all users desktop is in "public". but deleting a shortcut doesnt remove user permission to run a program ........
spiney2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2012, 14:47
spiney2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,347
.... anyway look up windows vista file permissions ...... should be loadsa easy to follow explanations online ...... same general principles as all other multiuser operating systems including unix/linux etc .....
spiney2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2012, 15:17
spiney2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,347
files have 3 permissions. read, write, execute. all separate. so you can just stop a program running for a user with reduced security permissions. or hide that it exists as well usng read if you want to.

permissions are heirarchical. so youu can for example hide all the files in directory by denying read permisson for it.

removing write permission prevents a user from altering stored data.
spiney2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2012, 15:21
spiney2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,347
but an account with admin level privilege can override all these restrictions .......
spiney2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2012, 15:29
spiney2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18,347
once the wanted restrictions are in place ........ remember as administrator to login as the other users and confirm they work correctly .......
spiney2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2012, 16:46
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,984
No! Don't start getting newlight1 to fiddle with permissions - this thread will last for months!

I was just going to suggest putting shortcuts in the appropriate user profile, rather than the All User profile. Much easier.

OP - just right-click on the Start menu. You will see a series of folders matching the user names. Remove the shortcuts from the All Users folder and put them in the name of the users you wish to see them. It's not a 100% secure method, but works for everyday use.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 19:22
newlight1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fair Isle, Scotland
Posts: 656
No! Don't start getting newlight1 to fiddle with permissions - this thread will last for months!

I was just going to suggest putting shortcuts in the appropriate user profile, rather than the All User profile. Much easier.

OP - just right-click on the Start menu. You will see a series of folders matching the user names. Remove the shortcuts from the All Users folder and put them in the name of the users you wish to see them. It's not a 100% secure method, but works for everyday use.
OK thanks, I have right clicked on the start menu and I get the options - Open, Explore, properties, open all users, explore all users?

What do I click on?
newlight1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 21:00
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 943
Just use "Open", and then do it again for "Open all users". Then drag the shortcuts you don't want other people to have access to from the all users window into the first window you opened.

This won't stop other users being able to run the programs if they're determined enough to go into the programs directory and run them directly, but it will remove the links from the Start menu.
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 19:12
newlight1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fair Isle, Scotland
Posts: 656
Just use "Open", and then do it again for "Open all users". Then drag the shortcuts you don't want other people to have access to from the all users window into the first window you opened.

This won't stop other users being able to run the programs if they're determined enough to go into the programs directory and run them directly, but it will remove the links from the Start menu.
OK Thanks for that. I did what you said and I dragged the "yellow" folder for skype from where you said etc and its still on the other user for some reason. Inside the yellow folder for Skype it shows the Skype program and it says shortcut next to it.
newlight1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2012, 01:41
newlight1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fair Isle, Scotland
Posts: 656
ANy idea? still trying to figure it out. I have called technical helplines but they dont know.
newlight1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2012, 07:49
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,984
ANy idea? still trying to figure it out. I have called technical helplines but they dont know.
You have been given the answer several times. The problem seems to be your inability to follow the instructions given.

Try this video, which should help:

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x9b...e#.UNgKO3wgGSM
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2012, 19:04
newlight1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fair Isle, Scotland
Posts: 656
Cheers, what I did was right clicked on the desk top icon on the user accounts I didnt want it on and the deleted it and it was gone from that user account and stayed on my own which was what I wanted. I also deleted it from the start menu on other user accounts and it was gone on the start menu. But it stayed on my own user account start menu which is what I wanted.
newlight1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2012, 09:16
alcockell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 20,647
Can people use group membership to lock down access on versions of W7/W8 other than Professional? Cos that may be the way forward...

However, you'd have to probably put in your own shortcut to start it, with the specific app permissions...

Yeah - was the kind of thing done by the Release Management team at work...
alcockell is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:13.