Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Recommendations for a Blu Ray writer?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-11-2012, 21:00
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 897

I've been a total melon and not noticed that the Blu Ray drive I bought a few months ago is actually only a reader which it clearly states on the box haha and not a burner.

So currently looking on novatech and amazon etc for cheap blu ray writers. It will be heavily used as a secondary solultion for file backups and mainly for burning media onto.

Here's one I'm looking at right now

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pioneer-BDR-...3963388&sr=1-1

I've recently bought this system from Novatech http://www.****************/pc/range...lifenti29.html will the above drive be compatible with it?

Is the process for the internal drive simply plug in SATA cable boot the drive up and it's done?
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-11-2012, 21:27
the gold room
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: overlook
Posts: 755
the second link you posted has been censored out for some reason!
the gold room is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 22:16
Superwomble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sevenoaks
Posts: 3,393
Ive had this Pioneer drive for a couple of months. I just connected it to a SATA cable as you suggest, and I've burned around 10 Blurays so far without fault using imageburn.
Superwomble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 22:49
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 897
the second link you posted has been censored out for some reason!
Just replace the astericks with novatech. DS does that for some reason dunno why.

Ahah that's good to know so Just pop the burner in connect sata and off i go.

Thank you
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 08:58
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
i got a LG one, about 2 years old now and still working fine, i did have one problem with some disks I got that it would nto write to them, even with a firmware upgrade.

I still got the disks and update the firmware now and again to see if they will work. Xentra or something like that they are. I don't think Lg is producing any more firmware updates for the drive.

i must admit I thought the prices of the drives would have gone down a lot more in two years, but they have not and the disks are still expensive, cheaper than DVD per gigabyte if you are storing data, but still expensive if you putting video ont hem
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 14:36
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,411
I've got one Sony and two Pioneer but don't think there is much difference in any of them to be honest.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2012, 08:07
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
I doubt there is much difference in them to be honest, just make sure they can also record to the DL 50GB disks as some of them could not.
I expect most of them can now, mine had a firmware update for that. Saying that I have not used 50GB disks yet.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2012, 10:20
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 897
I doubt there is much difference in them to be honest, just make sure they can also record to the DL 50GB disks as some of them could not.
I expect most of them can now, mine had a firmware update for that. Saying that I have not used 50GB disks yet.
Thanks noise will keep that in mind. 50Gig on one disc nice

Will certainly make backups easier hehe
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 08:55
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 897
Are these the screws that I need to mount the drive with inside the case?

http://compare.ebay.co.uk/like/23082...var=sbar&cbt=y or http://www.amazon.co.uk/StarTech-com.../dp/B00032Q1J4

The product doesn't come with screws unfortunately according to the reviews on multiple sites.
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 09:06
unique
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,792
Are these the screws that I need to mount the drive with inside the case?

http://compare.ebay.co.uk/like/23082...var=sbar&cbt=y or http://www.amazon.co.uk/StarTech-com.../dp/B00032Q1J4

The product doesn't come with screws unfortunately according to the reviews on multiple sites.
yeah those will do, or you can probably reuse the screws from the drive you replace. i presume you are taking out a cd or dvd drive and putting this in, so when you take out the old drive, use those screws on the new one
unique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 21:03
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
Yeah as unique said.

i expect the drive is a OEM, which is why there are no screws, mine was a retail version.

50Gb is nice, but I have not tried one yet, i have seen 20 of them for 45 from Ebay and found some for just under 60 from Amazon.

so still a bit pricey.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 22:17
unique
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,792
just noticed there is a new pio 208 model that's 15x single layer and 14x dual layer, up a bit from 12x on the 207 (both single and dual layer). that explains the minor price drops on the 207
unique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 23:06
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 897
Hmm just realised that. My intention was to use both drives. The drive in this computer is brand new It's the one included with the tower in the first link on Novatech.

As the above is the case are there any drives which are blu ray only eg no support for cd and dvd if so would they be cheaper than the one in the link?
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 07:12
unique
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,792
you can't get drives that write bluray but don't write dvd and cd, but you can get drives that only read bluray but burn dvd and cd (called combo drives)

if you want to put both drives in you could maybe take 2 screws out the old drive and use them on the new one, put one front left and the other back right, or if there are bits to hold the front or back in place put both screws at the other side. 2 screws is usually enough
unique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 07:18
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,735
I've been a total melon and not noticed that the Blu Ray drive I bought a few months ago is actually only a reader which it clearly states on the box haha and not a burner.
As a sanity check: do you really need a Blu-ray burner? Most people don't, unless they specifically want to burn their own disks from their own HD content.

If you just want backup and storage, hard disks are cheaper and easier.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:02
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
As a sanity check: do you really need a Blu-ray burner? Most people don't, unless they specifically want to burn their own disks from their own HD content.

If you just want backup and storage, hard disks are cheaper and easier.
and more of a pain unless you get a small portable one that don't use mains power. i got 4 external drives and every time I want to use I one I got to muck around with cables. with a disk, i got a index, I know where the one is I require, take it out of the box, slip it in the drive and away I go.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:08
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
Hmm just realised that. My intention was to use both drives. The drive in this computer is brand new It's the one included with the tower in the first link on Novatech.

As the above is the case are there any drives which are blu ray only eg no support for cd and dvd if so would they be cheaper than the one in the link?
They all do CD and DVD i doubt a blu-ray one only would be any cheaper.

Easy enough to add a second one anyway, i had a second drive in my machine for a while until i changed the board and my new board got no EIDE as my old DVD writer is EIDE and not sata.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 18:17
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 897
As a sanity check: do you really need a Blu-ray burner? Most people don't, unless they specifically want to burn their own disks from their own HD content.

If you just want backup and storage, hard disks are cheaper and easier.
I agree with you there but I already have 9 HDD's and my collection of data already totals over 10TB. I have a huge collection of Movies and TV shows in HD (Using netflix/Lovefilm but not everything is available)


They all do CD and DVD i doubt a blu-ray one only would be any cheaper.

Easy enough to add a second one anyway, i had a second drive in my machine for a while until i changed the board and my new board got no EIDE as my old DVD writer is EIDE and not sata.
Ahh I see,
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:53.