Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Sky 'accidentally' disconnected my phone line - why did I just reciece a call?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-11-2012, 21:38
joebloggs90
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 638

I'll spare you the details but Sky made an almighty balls up today and 'accidentally' cancelled my phone and broadband services.

I taken issue with them to try sort it out but was told that it's too late and that I now have no carrier; and that I'll have to order new services.

However, I just received a phone call and I have a dialling tone now - which I never had earlier.

Can anyone tell me how this can be and who is providing the line for me?

I've dialed 150 and got a BT message so it looks like it's reverted to BT.
joebloggs90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-11-2012, 21:53
CTD101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gods country Wales
Posts: 3,989
I'll spare you the details but Sky made an almighty balls up today and 'accidentally' cancelled my phone and broadband services.

I taken issue with them to try sort it out but was told that it's too late and that I now have no carrier; and that I'll have to order new services.

However, I just received a phone call and I have a dialling tone now - which I never had earlier.

Can anyone tell me how this can be and who is providing the line for me?

I've dialed 150 and got a BT message so it looks like it's reverted to BT.
Can you dial a mobile or landline? It could be that your line has reverted to incoming calls only?
CTD101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 21:58
joebloggs90
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 638
Yes, just checked and I can dial out
joebloggs90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 22:01
CTD101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gods country Wales
Posts: 3,989
Yes, just checked and I can dial out
If the number is the one that you had with your Sky account then maybe Sky have re-connected your line as it was before.
CTD101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 22:11
joebloggs90
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 638
If they have then it must be a miracle as I was told several time that it was out of their hands now and that BT handle the disconnect and they couldn't just switch it back on :-/

I suppose I'll need to phone them tomorrow to try and find out.

I was wondering tho if when BT Openreach disconnect, that switch the line back to them to keep it live?
joebloggs90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2012, 22:51
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,599
If a phone service is cancelled you may still have dial tone (which merely indicates that there is 50V on the line) but you should not be able to make or receive calls. And if you call your mobile for example and see your normal number then that suggests the line has not been cancelled.

It would be unusual for Openreach to move that quickly and disable a line within a few hours. And they just disconnect it. There is no need at all to keep any service on it. In fact once a line is properly cancelled there is nothing to stop the pair of wires between the exchange and any of the cabinets it passes through on it's way to your house to be re-routed to some other subscriber.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2012, 06:05
Steven L Hunter
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10,517
Try dialling 17070 it will tell you what the number is for the line
Steven L Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:53.