Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Foolproof way to 'root' my Android phone


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-11-2012, 15:04
pfgpowell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,755

The inverted commas should convey that I'm not experienced in such matters, so please keep it simple. I have already scoured the net for a guide and am all a tad confused.

I want to get rid of some of the bloatware on my phone and there are ways of doing it using an app called Titanium Backup, but to use it, i have to root my phone. I know what rooting is, but i would like someone to suggest the simplest way possible. Any takers?
pfgpowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-11-2012, 15:24
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36,790
It would help to know what phone you have
JasonWatkins is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 15:28
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,275
The inverted commas should convey that I'm not experienced in such matters, so please keep it simple. I have already scoured the net for a guide and am all a tad confused.
As far as I know there is no way to just "do this" for the totally general case. I tend to look up the particular phone in Google (typing something like "<phone name> root" ) - this often leads to a phone specific section (how to root, alternative firmware etc.) on somewhere like www.modaco.com
BKM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 15:33
m4tt24
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 743
Read any tutorials you can find and watch any YouTube tutorials you can find.

Repeat the above until you feel confident enough to do it. After posting this in the wrong section I would read everything one further time after feeling confident.
m4tt24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 15:43
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,233
Best way to get rid of bloatware, branding and other junk is to flash a custom ROM.

Titanium Pro is OK but it does struggle with bloatware. The recommendation is to freeze the apps rather then de-install.
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 16:48
ACU
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,134
Cant advise you until you tell us what phone you want to root. As there is no "one size fits all" method.

You can use Titanium backup pro, to freeze the bloatware apps, however I would recommend that you flash a rom instead. You just need to find a rom that will run on your phone. If you havent yet, I would pop over to the xda-devlopers forum. Plenty of help there, and their forum is split into each device type. You find the section for your phone, and read the development section within your phone forum.

You also need to bear in mind, that whilst rooting is (if you follow the instructions exactly) safe, there is a 0.01% chance that you will end up with a bricked phone.
ACU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 17:38
pfgpowell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,755
It would help to know what phone you have
It's a Huawei G300 Ascend running Android 4.0.3
pfgpowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 17:49
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36,790
It's a Huawei G300 Ascend running Android 4.0.3
This seems to be fairly straightforward ..

http://www.modaco.com/topic/353386-h...mac-and-linux/
JasonWatkins is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2012, 18:11
ACU
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,134
Before you click the bat file in windows (or the relevant step in linux or mac), make sure you plus the USB cable back into the phone. Those steps dont mention that bit.
ACU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 09:46
pfgpowell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,755
Before you click the bat file in windows (or the relevant step in linux or mac), make sure you plus the USB cable back into the phone. Those steps dont mention that bit.
Followed the link and tried rooting last night. Downloaded Superrecovery etc, but I dont' know how to run it 'within the directory (I'm using a Mac). I open the terminal window, type in the instructions but then **** all. Any help?
pfgpowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 10:01
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36,790
Followed the link and tried rooting last night. Downloaded Superrecovery etc, but I dont' know how to run it 'within the directory (I'm using a Mac). I open the terminal window, type in the instructions but then **** all. Any help?
ok, have you connected your phone to your mac ?

and have you put it into bootloader mode ?
JasonWatkins is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 21:47
pfgpowell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,755
ok, have you connected your phone to your mac ?

and have you put it into bootloader mode ?
Yes, did all that. My problem is that I am using a Mac. You open terminal in which you can give Unix instructions but according to Modaco I am supposed to do so from 'in the directory'. I don't understand that. Also, we are told [do this] then [do that] but it is not clear whether we should wait to do give the second command or what. But to answer you qestion, yest the phone is USBed to the Mac and yes it was in bootloader mode.
pfgpowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 23:12
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 36,790
by "in the directory" it just means that you do it in the same location/folder that you've unzipped/unpacked the files that you downloaded to.

so when you open the terminal, just CD to the relevant folder and try it from there
JasonWatkins is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:27.