Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Digital Spy link problem


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2012, 03:29
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551

Can anyone help with the following:


Everytime I do the main Digital Spy website to catch up on the latest showbiz and entertainment news, I always click on the links where it says showbiz, music, movies, etc. Recently I tried to click on the links but nothing happened, so can anyone help?


Before anyone asks, the problem only happens on the main Digital Spy website and not the forums or any other website.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-12-2012, 08:35
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,139
Do you have an ablocker?
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:19
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,139
Adblocker I mean.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 21:13
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551
I have AdBlock Plus.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 22:17
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,139
Disable or modify that and I think you'll find it'll work.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 00:56
REDBUS
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,978
never have/had issue's navigating D/S with addblock plus ,would rule that out
REDBUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 01:54
Gogfumble
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Swashbuckling on Melee Island.
Posts: 20,060
There will be a stray ad container hovering over the area that you are trying to click AB+ has blocked the advert, but not the CSS container that holds that element. If you have the element hiding helper for Adblock+ you will be able to use that to get rid of it.

Select it, hover over the problem area with the mouse until you find a box the same size as the area you are having problems with and click in it. Check it is hiding the correct element then click apply.
Gogfumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 02:49
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551
Disable or modify that and I think you'll find it'll work.



Disabled AdBlock Plus, but the problem remains.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 02:51
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551
There will be a stray ad container hovering over the area that you are trying to click AB+ has blocked the advert, but not the CSS container that holds that element. If you have the element hiding helper for Adblock+ you will be able to use that to get rid of it.

Select it, hover over the problem area with the mouse until you find a box the same size as the area you are having problems with and click in it. Check it is hiding the correct element then click apply.


I honestly thought that fixing the problem is easy, but judging by your reply, it's not.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:46
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,139
never have/had issue's navigating D/S with addblock plus ,would rule that out
So is that your troubleshooting methodolody then, to rule stuff out because you've never had a problem? without even saying what browser you're using, what version, whether you're using easylist or another list from ABP etc..

The reason why I suggested disabling adblock+ is because I've seen this happen several times and it was the most likely cause.

See http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showt...php?p=62217538

OP just make sure, if you disabled the addon that you clear your cache and reload the browser before re-testing.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 03:09
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551
So is that your troubleshooting methodolody then, to rule stuff out because you've never had a problem? without even saying what browser you're using, what version, whether you're using easylist or another list from ABP etc..

The reason why I suggested disabling adblock+ is because I've seen this happen several times and it was the most likely cause.

See http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showt...php?p=62217538

OP just make sure, if you disabled the addon that you clear your cache and reload the browser before re-testing.



I've done what you told me, but the problem remains.

I reckon it must be the website.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 10:45
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,139
I've done what you told me, but the problem remains.

I reckon it must be the website.
What browser, OS, what addons do you have? something in your setup must be causing it.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 14:56
Phred
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,119
I get the same at work when I use Chrome - no addons,

IE and Firefox are ok.

DS is the only site it happens on.
Phred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 17:25
Paddy C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12,825
On the home page, I can't click on anything, I have to right click and open in a new tab/window for it to work. Only started happening recently and is very, very annoying. Works fine on my other computers using the same browser and settings.
Paddy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 18:53
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,139
Odd as I'm using Chrome with no issues clicking on those things. I'd raise it with DS using the support section.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 02:53
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551
What browser, OS, what addons do you have? something in your setup must be causing it.


I've got Firefox, Internet Explorer, Waterfox, Pale Moon and Google Chrome as my browsers.

I use Chrome as my main browser.

The OS is Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit.

The addons or extensions as Chrome likes to call it are as follows:



Adblock Plus 1.3.1

AutoPager Chrome 0.7.1.4

avast! WebRep 7.0.1474

Awesome New Tab 2012.147.2.0

Clock 1.16

DivX Plus Web Player HTML5 <video> 2.1.2.145

Download Accelerator Plus (DAP) 2.0.10

Favourite Doodle 1.22

RealPlayer HTML5Video Downloader Extension 1.5

SiteAdvisor 3.60.123.1

Skype Click To Call 6.4.0.11328
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 02:55
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551
Odd as I'm using Chrome with no issues clicking on those things. I'd raise it with DS using the support section.


Even if I do contact DS, they will not give me a reply.

Just another example of poor service by DS.

Sad and pathetic.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 14:58
Anjomo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 229
I have a similar sort of problem with Chrome, and found a suggestion somewhere that it may be related to the cache.
I tried the site that wouldn't work properly for me in incognito mode and it worked perfectly.
As using incognito permanently isn't very convenient, it doesn't actually solve the problem though.
I wonder if Google have dropped the ball for once in making Chrome Windows 8 compatible? Hopefully if that is true they will fix it quickly...they usually do.
Anjomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 03:33
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551
An update.

I've founded out that the problem is HTML5.

Can anyone explain and help?
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 10:07
fenlander
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,483
Are you using an extension to block trackers - something like 'Do not track plus'? I was having exactly this issue with DS yesterday and tracked it down to the fact that Omniture was being blocked by DNT+. I disabled DNT+ and installed Ghostery. This still reports Omniture as blocked, but the links now work.

The whole issue of tracker blockers seems more complicated than simple ad blocking. A while ago I gave up using Ghostery because it prevented video clips for running on the Telegraph site. Now videos play fine with Ghostery active. I've also noticed a number of side effects with DNT+ that can be resolved by selectively switching off blocks on particular sites.
fenlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 10:18
D.Page
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London
Posts: 1,501
I've also been having a problem with Digital Spy's links not working, lately, which sounds very much like it may be related to the problem you've been experiencing.

Please see the thread I started recently:

"Cannot Click on Links within Digital Spy Forums Emails, with Yahoo Mail, at Present" (within PC & Mac Hardware and Software)

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1765668
D.Page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 11:45
fenlander
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,483
The behaviour (misbehaviour) of links in DS seems to change frequently and the problems seem to go away if you disable ad and tracker blockers. Is it paranoid to wonder whether this is the result of somebody's cunning plan, rather than mere chance?
fenlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:36
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551
I've also been having a problem with Digital Spy's links not working, lately, which sounds very much like it may be related to the problem you've been experiencing.

Please see the thread I started recently:

"Cannot Click on Links within Digital Spy Forums Emails, with Yahoo Mail, at Present" (within PC & Mac Hardware and Software)

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1765668



The problem is not with emails, but the actual site.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:39
FIFA1966
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 551
Are you using an extension to block trackers - something like 'Do not track plus'? I was having exactly this issue with DS yesterday and tracked it down to the fact that Omniture was being blocked by DNT+. I disabled DNT+ and installed Ghostery. This still reports Omniture as blocked, but the links now work.

The whole issue of tracker blockers seems more complicated than simple ad blocking. A while ago I gave up using Ghostery because it prevented video clips for running on the Telegraph site. Now videos play fine with Ghostery active. I've also noticed a number of side effects with DNT+ that can be resolved by selectively switching off blocks on particular sites.
No. I am not using an extension to block trackers.
FIFA1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:32
D.Page
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London
Posts: 1,501
The problem is not with emails, but the actual site.
Yes, but the emails which contain links that do not work, are sent to me from the Digital Spy Website. All my other emails from everywhere else have perfectly working links.
D.Page is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:46.