Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Connecting YAMAHA YHT196 to Panasonic TX-P42UT50B


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2012, 09:26
soulboy22
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 175

Hi all,

Considering getting the above Yamaha receiver and speaker package to my Panasonic TV. Currently connected to the TV I have a PS3 and a sky+hd box both connected by HDMI. The Tv only has two HDMI ports. I would like to connect the receiver up to the TV and have both sky and ps3 going through the receiver. I know to get the surround through sky I will need to use the Audio out. Basically I would like to know how to connect it all up! will I need an HDMI switch or not? I need if you can guys for the instructions to be fairly simple as I will have to explain them to someone who does not know much about TVs and I am in a wheelchair and cannot get to the back of the TV! I do however have a copy of the manual to which I can refer!

Many Thanks
soulboy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 03-12-2012, 09:42
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,838
If you go here

http://uk.yamaha.com/en/products/aud..._g/?mode=model

You can download a pictorial guide to connecting it all up. And if you also want it there is the full manual available.

The Yamaha has 3 HDMI inputs so you can use those for the PS3 and Sky box if you want. However I would be tempted to plug the HDMI for the Sky box into the TV and the optical digital out of the Sky box to the Yamaha. I have only skim read the manual but I'm not sure that you can assign something like HDMI 1 for pictures and OPT 1 for audio to a particular source selection. I can do that on my amp which means one button press could select the Sky and feed pictures over HDMI to the TV and take the audio from one of the optical digital inputs instead of HDMI.

I am not sure the Yamaha can do this so you might have to use the TV to select Sky pictures and the amp separately to get the sound.

HDMI 2 on the TV has an Audio Return Channel so if you use that one to link the amp to the TV you don't need a separate connection to get audio out of the TV's built in tuner if you use that.

So in summary...

Sky HDMI --> TV HDMI 1
Sky Opt Out ---> Yamaha Opt 1 in
PS3 HDMI ---> Yamaha HDMI 1
Yamaha HDMI OUT --> TV HDMI 2

And you have a couple of HDMI inputs spare on the Yamaha for any devices you may add in the future.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 09:52
soulboy22
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 175
If you go here

http://uk.yamaha.com/en/products/aud..._g/?mode=model

You can download a pictorial guide to connecting it all up. And if you also want it there is the full manual available.

The Yamaha has 3 HDMI inputs so you can use those for the PS3 and Sky box if you want. However I would be tempted to plug the HDMI for the Sky box into the TV and the optical digital out of the Sky box to the Yamaha. I have only skim read the manual but I'm not sure that you can assign something like HDMI 1 for pictures and OPT 1 for audio to a particular source selection. I can do that on my amp which means one button press could select the Sky and feed pictures over HDMI to the TV and take the audio from one of the optical digital inputs instead of HDMI.

I am not sure the Yamaha can do this so you might have to use the TV to select Sky pictures and the amp separately to get the sound.

HDMI 2 on the TV has an Audio Return Channel so if you use that one to link the amp to the TV you don't need a separate connection to get audio out of the TV's built in tuner if you use that.

So in summary...

Sky HDMI --> TV HDMI 1
Sky Opt Out ---> Yamaha Opt 1 in
PS3 HDMI ---> Yamaha HDMI 1
Yamaha HDMI OUT --> TV HDMI 2

And you have a couple of HDMI inputs spare on the Yamaha for any devices you may add in the future.
Many Thanks for your reply I shall read it in depth later and look at the manual.
soulboy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 15:13
soulboy22
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 175
Newbie question I am afraid! I had a look at the back of my sky box but cannot find the optical output. What would it be labelled as? also is the product in the link the right lead for connecting the sky box to the receiver?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/XO-Digital-O...ref=pd_cp_ce_0

Many thanks for your patience guys.
soulboy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 15:34
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,838
The Sky box may have a coaxial digital out on a standard phono socket, usually coloured orange. In which case a phono to phono lead is required. Though the image on this page suggests it may have both?

http://help.sky.com/tv/set-up-your-b...your-skyhd-box

They are not labelled but if you look at the image of the back panel along the lower edge from left to right you've got the mains plug then the red phono for the right channel analogue audio output then an orange phono which is the coaxial digital out then a small square socket which is the optical digital out.

The image resolution isn't good enough to see how they are labelled but at a guess I would say the words DIGITAL and AUDIO are in there somewhere.

This image shows it better

http://www.masteravservices.co.uk/wp...tion-guide.jpg

It also appears that there are several possible boxes you could have. For example this one which does indicate the optical output

http://www.avforums.com/forums/attac...back_skyhd.jpg
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 15:48
soulboy22
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 175
The Sky box may have a coaxial digital out on a standard phono socket, usually coloured orange. In which case a phono to phono lead is required. Though the image on this page suggests it may have both?

http://help.sky.com/tv/set-up-your-b...your-skyhd-box

They are not labelled but if you look at the image of the back panel along the lower edge from left to right you've got the mains plug then the red phono for the right channel analogue audio output then an orange phono which is the coaxial digital out then a small square socket which is the optical digital out.


The image resolution isn't good enough to see how they are labelled but at a guess I would say the words DIGITAL and AUDIO are in there somewhere.

This image shows it better

http://www.masteravservices.co.uk/wp...tion-guide.jpg

It also appears that there are several possible boxes you could have. For example this one which does indicate the optical output

http://www.avforums.com/forums/attac...back_skyhd.jpg
Many thanks for your help Chris, I shall have a look at what you've posted and also get some info on my sky box.
soulboy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:02.