Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

HD channel problem on new HD TV


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2012, 22:34
tazmania
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 92

I have tuned in my new Samsung HD UEES5500 TV and all of the available SD digital channels clearly appear, but not the HD channels which constantly "break up".

Could it be a problem with the terrestrial aerial, rather than the TV itself? The signal strength according to the TV is about 50%.

How can I resolve this problem?

Thank you.
tazmania is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-12-2012, 22:49
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
50% signal strength is just on the safe side of marginal but, more importantly, what is the signal quality?
Advice here
http://www.bbc.co.uk/reception/digitaltv/freeview.shtml
http://www.frequencycast.co.uk/freeviewadvice.html

What type of aerial it/where's it located/how old is it?

Another thing worth checking, although fairly uncommon, is the position of HDMI leads near aerial cables
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 04:07
Helmut10
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 410
50% is meaningless, those strength scales are arbitary. Mine is 100% quality no-breakup with ~15% of 'signal strength'. agc comes in around 80%-90% 'signal strength'.

The fact that one multiplex is breaking up means some sort of aerial system problem not the TV as such.

Outside aerials get corroded connections, water in the cable, sunlight, weather damage etc.

If your aerial is in the loft it's obviously easier to check on it being the correct type, and maybe adjust the direction, position etc.
Helmut10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:22
Caxton
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 20,636
Have you got a phone nearby. If my phone is near my TV it will knock out the mux that Sky news is on the others are fine.Could be it affects just the HD mux on your TV
Caxton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:54
lewism1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 19
HD channels are almost pointless with an aerial. Get a satellite dish
lewism1 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:04
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,699
HD channels are almost pointless with an aerial.
Why ?

I have both, if anything the Freeview-HD pictures tend to look just a tad better (probably down to 1080p25 support)

Satellite adds just one extra free HD channel at the current time with a fixed dish (NHKWORLD TV) unless you have a Sky box which will give you CH5 HD with a card.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 10:28
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
HD channels are almost pointless with an aerial. Get a satellite dish
Ahem.

Not everyone is allowed a sat dish in rented or tied accommodation. Nor cable. Aerials are still the only method some are able to use to receive TV pictures.
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:02
lewism1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 19
Must just be from where I am then lol. Aerial signal here is awful and no matter where my aerial is placed, whenever I receive a text or something i always lose signal for a few seconds

A satellite dish has made a whole load of difference for me
lewism1 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:45
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,699
Must just be from where I am then lol. Aerial signal here is awful and no matter where my aerial is placed, whenever I receive a text or something i always lose signal for a few seconds

A satellite dish has made a whole load of difference for me
It did for me for years, now my local transmitter has increased it's power post dso I get rock solid Freeview. Very surprised if you can't do the same. What does this site say about reception at your location after entering your postcode. (Tick the detailed view box)

http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/postcodechecker/
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 14:49
Geoff_W
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 328
Are you sure the TV has tuned the HD channels in properly? If your aerial can 'see' more than one transmitter the TV may be using the wrong frequencies.

Put your postcode into the following url to find out details of your local transmitters.

http://www.wolfbane.com/cgi-bin/tvd.exe?DX=L&HT=10&O
Geoff_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 15:43
XxBlaKOuTZxX
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edinburgh / Scotland
Posts: 2,773
HD channels are almost pointless with an aerial. Get a satellite dish
What a stupid and pointless comment. There's nothing wrong with HD via an aerial. I too had problems with HD reception but mine was caused by to much signal which caused the pictures to break up all the time.
XxBlaKOuTZxX is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:57.