Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

4.2 for the s3 on the way


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2012, 23:04
daclick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,246

And its getting multiview like.on.the note 2 as well http://ukandroidcentre.co.uk/samsung-is-rolling-out-the-official-android-4-1-2-jelly-bean-update-to-the-galaxy-s-iii-screenshots-change-log/



Yay
daclick is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 06-12-2012, 23:15
Stuart_h
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,720
erm... that is 4.1.2 .......

not 4.2 (or 4.2.1 which is the latest version)
Stuart_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 23:26
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,401
That 2 apps on the same screen looks amazing, that's a feature I really want. Sat nav at the top and tunein at the bottom for in the car. If it does that kind of stuff it would be great.

Customising the buttons on the notification bar would be really cool too. It looks like a great update, can't wait.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 07:53
plutonash
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 191

installed the polish version on my galaxy s3 yesterday..the split screen only works with apps that are compatable with split screen...

chat-on
facebook
email
gallery
gmail
internet
chrome
maps
messaging
talk
video player
youtube
these are the ones that work on mine.
plutonash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:56
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,401
installed the polish version on my galaxy s3 yesterday..the split screen only works with apps that are compatable with split screen...

chat-on
facebook
email
gallery
gmail
internet
chrome
maps
messaging
talk
video player
youtube
these are the ones that work on mine.
I hope google listen, tunein and the navigation support this soon, thats where I would find it most useful,
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 12:07
scooby1970
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Neath
Posts: 2,314
One of the new features is the swipe keyboard... Whats different about that compared to the stock swipe keyboard that I've been using everyday since I had my S3?

Mark
scooby1970 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 12:28
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,401
The logic behind what I'm saying is that if you are using an app on the screen you usually want it full screen, but if you're docked in the car I have to flick between the navigation and music selection. Having both these on screen would save switching apps and I could see the current track that is playing and the navigation without touching the phone in the dock.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 13:55
The Sack
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: S6 WTID UTO FTB
Posts: 5,682
oh god the S3 fanboys will be screaming like the iTards they wished they were.
The Sack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 17:15
daclick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,246
S3 fanboys don't wish they were itards... I bet you're an itard sack
daclick is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 18:09
Chairman___Meow
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 396
Good luck getting 4.2. One of the reasons I swapped my inferior s3 for a Nexus 4 was for the software updates.
Chairman___Meow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 21:21
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,887
So whats the easiest quick way to get updated then? I've never done it before on S3.

I've plugged into Kies and it doesn't say there is an update.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 02:41
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 7,944
So whats the easiest quick way to get updated then? I've never done it before on S3.

I've plugged into Kies and it doesn't say there is an update.
Don't think it's been released in the UK yet. Just Poland.
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 10:07
daclick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,246
Its out now, unbranded and Vodafone handsets
daclick is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 10:49
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 7,944
Installing as we speak via Kies
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 12:10
Mark in Essex
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,832
Installing as we speak via Kies
Let us know how you get on with it?

Also are you doing a factory reset as well or was that just for Jellybean?
Mark in Essex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 12:14
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 7,944
Let us know how you get on with it?

Also are you doing a factory reset as well or was that just for Jellybean?
I only do them for full upgrades. This is only an update so havent bothered.

Mine is an unbranded S3 and via Kies took about 6 mins to do in full. It feels a bit nippier and the muiti windows is rather cool although limited to about 10 apps so far.

Other than that, havent played about with it much lol
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 14:43
Mark in Essex
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,832
I only do them for full upgrades. This is only an update so havent bothered.

Mine is an unbranded S3 and via Kies took about 6 mins to do in full. It feels a bit nippier and the muiti windows is rather cool although limited to about 10 apps so far.

Other than that, havent played about with it much lol
Cool.

Cheers for that.
Mark in Essex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 16:49
Ambassador
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wooler, Northumberlandiana
Posts: 21,659
Downloaded mine for EE today.

Excuse my stupidity but how do I do split screen? I've held the back key and got the list but can't get to split

Keyboard has changed for texts too. Seems to be more spaces on the top predictive text line, offers less word choices.
Ambassador is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 17:29
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 7,944
Downloaded mine for EE today.

Excuse my stupidity but how do I do split screen? I've held the back key and got the list but can't get to split

Keyboard has changed for texts too. Seems to be more spaces on the top predictive text line, offers less word choices.
For split screen, pull down the notification tab, scroll to the far right and select it. It adds a tab to the home screen on the left you swipe over and drag whatever you want to split.
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 18:24
stevencraig07
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 382
got it here thru kies on three uk
stevencraig07 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 18:44
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,401
I wonder when it'll be available on OTA as I don't use kies at all, don't have it installed and not fussed by it.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 19:28
dksglen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 23
got it here thru kies on three uk
Are you on an unbranded mobile?
I'm on 3 and I got update this afternoon Kies. Pretty sure I'm on some free phone.
Mate cannot get any ota or via Kies
dksglen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 19:58
scooby1970
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Neath
Posts: 2,314
There is no update yet via Kies on Three, I have checked all evening.

Mark
scooby1970 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 20:25
dksglen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 23
There is no update yet via Kies on Three, I have checked all evening.

Mark
Thanks. I must be on sim free after all.
Thanks three for that.
dksglen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 21:31
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UNITED Kingdom
Posts: 3,209
is it network dependant? or on all carriers? anyone know if o2 have released it? never had an android phone before so don't know how it works
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:36.