Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Panda Cloud antivirus!


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2012, 00:26
mpmc17
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nr. Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Posts: 2,307

[rant]

I just finished re-installing Windows and decided to try Panda cloud antivirus instead of MSE.

Wow, I've never known such an annoying piece of software in my life, Every 10 minutes or so I get a popup asking me to 'Join the community' by entering my e-mail and a password, Yeah thanks.. But no thanks... GO AWAY!

Not only that, what's with the constant 'your computer is in danger' [oh noes!!] if you don't buy our pro version adverts.

Is it meant to be this annoying? I guess unless you fork over your cash it doesn't shut up...

[/rant]

And breathe...
mpmc17 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-12-2012, 00:35
DANCE OF DEATH
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Trapped inside my Octavarium..
Posts: 4,723
I don't like these anti-virus that use cloud. I rather have a software version were I know it is up-to date and I know that my computer is safe and I know I have piece of mind.
DANCE OF DEATH is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 01:00
late8
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,030
Avira free is best

.. That is all..
late8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:36
Fried Kickin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49,987
[rant]

I just finished re-installing Windows and decided to try Panda cloud antivirus instead of MSE.

Wow, I've never known such an annoying piece of software in my life, Every 10 minutes or so I get a popup asking me to 'Join the community' by entering my e-mail and a password, Yeah thanks.. But no thanks... GO AWAY!

Not only that, what's with the constant 'your computer is in danger' [oh noes!!] if you don't buy our pro version adverts.

Is it meant to be this annoying? I guess unless you fork over your cash it doesn't shut up...

[/rant]

And breathe...
I use the free Panda and have none of those pop ups you're getting
Did you install the pro version and not the home by any chance?
Fried Kickin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 09:06
radioanorak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Faliraki,Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 1,661
I have been using Panda FREE version for ages. Not once have I had a pop up
Did you down load directly from The Panda web site ?
radioanorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:31
mpmc17
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nr. Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Posts: 2,307
I have been using Panda FREE version for ages. Not once have I had a pop up
Did you down load directly from The Panda web site ?
Yes, I downloaded from the Panda site (http://www.cloudantivirus.com/en/forHome/), the download URL
http://acs.pandasoftware.com/cloudan...dAntivirus.exe

Which is the same for the 'Try It Free' link on the same page. So I must have downloaded the 'free trial'.

Sneakily what they've done is, when you want the free version (and if you follow the 'for home' link) instead of getting the free version you actually get the trial. To get the non-trial free version you have to click the 'download free' button on the image carousel on the main page.

http://www.cloudantivirus.com/en/#!/...virus-download

So unless you actually stay on the panda site & wait for the image carousel to go round, you won't see the free link unless you click the image carousel arrows on the page, but who the hell does that? (Not Me!)

So glad I removed the damn thing, I don't think I could trust my security to a company that does things like this.
_____________________________
Edit: Just timed it, you have to wait 30 or so seconds for the image carousel to get round to the free download without clicking the arrows.
mpmc17 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:48
howard h
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gtr Manchester UK
Posts: 4,844
I have been using Panda FREE version for ages. Not once have I had a pop up
Did you down load directly from The Panda web site ?
Me too, free version, from their website, no probs. In fact I rather like Panda, and will install it on my laptop too.

Maybe ad-block helps??
howard h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 11:01
radioanorak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Faliraki,Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 1,661
On the Panda home page you have to click on the ' For home ' button
Then click on the free download button
radioanorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 11:23
mpmc17
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nr. Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Posts: 2,307
On the Panda home page you have to click on the ' For home ' button
Then click on the free download button
That's what I did, but I still ended up with the trial version, check the links on the 'for home' page, they all lead to the trial version

That's what I fell for.
mpmc17 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 11:25
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,327
Been using the free version for a while now and it really unintrusive, easily the best antivirus I have used. It also takes up very little resources and I never have to worry about keeping it up to date.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 11:52
ironjade
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Posts: 8,281
A complete waste of money. My ex used the paid-for version and she still had to pay 80 (twice) to get her laptop cleaned up after it became unusable.
ironjade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 12:12
radioanorak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Faliraki,Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 1,661
mpmc17
I just double checked
Its not the trial version but the free

Ironjade
What did Panda do to make the laptop unusable ?
radioanorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 13:41
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,631
Ironjade
What did Panda do to make the laptop unusable ?
More importantly, what did the ex do to make the laptop unusable? Twice.
max99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 14:06
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,327
More importantly, what did the ex do to make the laptop unusable? Twice.
I dunno about you but It takes real effort to get a virus now a days especially with Windows Vista and beyond.

I can't recall the last time I came across a virus, I would probably get away without having a virus scanner.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 14:12
ironjade
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Posts: 8,281
More importantly, what did the ex do to make the laptop unusable? Twice.
No idea. She used to laugh at me for using anti-virus/malware programs too.
She normally uses a Mac so the poor soul probably didn't know any better when it comes to Windows. She does now.
ironjade is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:06.