Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Dumber Question re: iPhone and music/apps transfer


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2012, 13:37
malaikah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Not far enough
Posts: 11,940

Hello, and please excuse this thread if you find it a tad silly and obvious :P

I want to transfer to my iPhone an album I have downloaded onto my laptop.

Plugging in the phone to the laptop and letting it sync just means every damn app I or my partner have every downloaded to our respective handsets gets bloomin' installed and I don't want that!

Why wont it drag and drop?!!

This newer version of iTunes is confusing (me).

Surely I am missing something obvious and simple just to transfer one selected album and not back up sync and the whole carry on.....

Please help an unsure and infirm brain
malaikah is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-12-2012, 13:51
malaikah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Not far enough
Posts: 11,940
I've just dragged one album I'd added to the library and dropped it into the iphone which is on a side bar menu that appeared but now its syncing the entire library from laptop
malaikah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:13
LeonJefferson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Haven't updated to iTunes 11 yet.

Should it be like this?
1) Launch iTunes and plug your iPhone in.
2) Sign in with apple ID.
3) Select the files on iTunes library.
4) Click "file" on tool bar and choose "Sync device name".
Done.(?)

Correct me if I'm wrong.
LeonJefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 17:02
malaikah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Not far enough
Posts: 11,940
that syncs your entire music library each time as opposed to just adding one new album/song... very frustrating! also means if on another pc which has a different collection of music stored then it will wipe off what is already on the phone !! :/
malaikah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 19:04
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,991
Was your iPhone synced to different iTunes library or computer in the past? Wouldn't it be easier to have a separate iTunes library for you as you don't want all your partner's stuff?
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 20:56
malaikah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Not far enough
Posts: 11,940
no its only my stuff on the laptop - but must it sync my entire library when i only want to transfer 1 new album/song
malaikah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 20:58
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,966
You can manually manage your music library from what i remember. It doesn't have to copy everything.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 21:55
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,991
no its only my stuff on the laptop - but must it sync my entire library when i only want to transfer 1 new album/song
The new iTunes looks different. But when you click on your iPhone. You should have a load of options along the top eg. Music, Apps, Tones, Books, Podcasts, Movies etc. etc. You should be able to go into each section and choose what you want to sync. You do not have to sync everything.

If the iPhone was set up using a different computer you may get an option asking if you wish to sync with this library instead.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 22:01
sheppy124
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 677
A bit left field have you I match enabled,
sheppy124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 13:19
malaikah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Not far enough
Posts: 11,940
Thats quite odd. Up until now when the 'iPhone' button has appeared in the top right of the pane I've clicked on it, button has disappeared, but not details about phone have come up... just did it now and the phone details came up as you would need

Anyway I've unchecked every album and ticked only the new one - syncing now - and its still syncing every bleedin' song again
malaikah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 13:22
malaikah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Not far enough
Posts: 11,940
WHY DOES IT COPY EVERYTHING I just tried dragging and dropping the lone album but then off it goes and... copies every single track off my laptop
malaikah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 18:17
zantarous
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ealing, London
Posts: 2,066
It doesn't copy everything if you have it set up right under the music tab in iTunes do you have it set to copy your whole library or just the songs/albums/playlists you want?
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 18:32
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,966
WHY DOES IT COPY EVERYTHING I just tried dragging and dropping the lone album but then off it goes and... copies every single track off my laptop
iTunes is ace isn't it!?!?!?!?!?
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 18:35
zantarous
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ealing, London
Posts: 2,066
Having moved to WP8 I will never say another bad word about iTunes Apple got two way syncing just perfect I have spent all day trying to get my playlists and albums on to my phone and it has been a pain.

iTunes pretty much does what you tell it to do.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 18:41
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,966
Having moved to WP8 I will never say another bad word about iTunes Apple got two way syncing just perfect I have spent all day trying to get my playlists and albums on to my phone and it has been a pain.

iTunes pretty much does what you tell it to do.
Er no i does not do what you tell it to do. This thread demonstrates that. It is also crap when try to sync devices to different itunes, such as at work and home. It also says its backed up when it is NOT.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 18:57
zantarous
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ealing, London
Posts: 2,066
It does do what it is told, the default setting is to sync all music.

You have to turn of sync if you want to manage music on more then one machine but again I use my machine at home to be the master and have all the music I want and then sync my device.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 19:04
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,966
It does do what it is told, the default setting is to sync all music.

You have to turn of sync if you want to manage music on more then one machine but again I use my machine at home to be the master and have all the music I want and then sync my device.
so it does what the default is, not what it's told to do.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 21:22
zantarous
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ealing, London
Posts: 2,066
so it does what the default is, not what it's told to do.
I don't even know how to respond to that! Default would indicate that it hasn't been told to do something else.
zantarous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 21:51
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,966
I don't even know how to respond to that! Default would indicate that it hasn't been told to do something else.
I mean when you change the settings it doesn't do as it is told.

If you change nothing it does what it says on the tin.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:23.