Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

freemaker video convertor question


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2012, 20:06
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320

is there anything i can do to sort out a problem with freemaker?

this is whats happening when ever i got a video to convert to dvd it only has a CONVERT button to click which would mean it will only convert nothing more. what should happen is a blue button for BURN should be there so it will convert 1st THEN burn to dvd disc . is there anyway i can change this ?
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-12-2012, 22:39
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
If you look at the screen that comes after the video you wish to convert there is choice given:
Choose destination DVD disc,ISO,Folder
Then on the drop-down list choose where you want the converted video saved to i.e
DVD writer
Save to Folder
Create ISO

If you pick either of the latter two you will then be asked where you want to Save To and the blue BURN button changes to CONVERT and then the converted file will be saved in the directory of your choice
mac2708 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 19:43
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
If you look at the screen that comes after the video you wish to convert there is choice given:
Choose destination DVD disc,ISO,Folder
Then on the drop-down list choose where you want the converted video saved to i.e
DVD writer
Save to Folder
Create ISO

If you pick either of the latter two you will then be asked where you want to Save To and the blue BURN button changes to CONVERT and then the converted file will be saved in the directory of your choice
i have tryed that but i still have the blue convert button ,i need the blue burn button
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 20:07
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,854
After you have chosen to convert to DVD, the next box will ask you for the destination. If you select your DVD burner, you should see the "burn" button. This will first convert, then burn.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 21:02
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
After you have chosen to convert to DVD, the next box will ask you for the destination. If you select your DVD burner, you should see the "burn" button. This will first convert, then burn.
i think to best understand whats going on here its explain in detail so here goes

now obvously when you have a chosen video to burn i use freemaker so that comes up on the top i have DVD OUTPUT PARAMETERS DVD TITLE what where is going on dvd DVD MENU is motion,others i have is thumbnail,text & no menu
CHOSEN DESTINATION dvd disc iso folder in my case now i got C / USERS /MY NAME/VIDEOS/CHOSEN VIDEO

other options here is save to folder or create iso

then i got standard dvd 4.7gb
4.3 PAL 720+576 25 fps then mp2, 256 kbps stereo

then finally the big blue CONVERT button which should be the big blue BURN button which should ensure the video gets burned straght to dvd once converted not convert then to file this is the issue i am trying to put right
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 22:34
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
I have tried to replicate what you say is happening but the DVD writer is always the first option with the blue BURN button.
If Save to folder or ISO is selected the the BURN option changes to CONVERT

From the looks of things it looks like your DVD writer isn't recognised.
Have you tried re-installing Freemake?

http://postimage.org/image/z84m7wnuf/
mac2708 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:39
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,854
Hmm...as mac2708 says, the first option in the "Choose Destination" PDM should be your DVD writer (it has a blue circle next to it). Are you not getting this option?

This video from Freemake shows you how it should work. The DVD writer selection is shown at 41 seconds.

http://www.freemake.com/how_to/how_to_burn_dvd_video
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 17:50
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
i shall have a look at this shortly & let you know how i get on
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 18:31
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
Hmm...as mac2708 says, the first option in the "Choose Destination" PDM should be your DVD writer (it has a blue circle next to it). Are you not getting this option?

This video from Freemake shows you how it should work. The DVD writer selection is shown at 41 seconds.

http://www.freemake.com/how_to/how_to_burn_dvd_video
right having just watched the video & looked at the image i know where the issue is ,its the dvd disc thing that does not show up all i have is the other options ,so if its dvd linked how do i go about solving this?
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 20:23
nvingo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: wisbech, cambs / norfolk
Posts: 3,681
Do you definitely have a DVD writer?
Download a free ISO>DVD writer eg. Imgburn.
Use Freemake to convert your video to a ISO file.
Use Imgburn to write that ISO file to DVD.
When you've created as many DVD copies as you desire, delete the ISO file.
nvingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 20:42
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
i will give that ago tomorrow thank you for your help
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 17:01
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
Do you definitely have a DVD writer?
Download a free ISO>DVD writer eg. Imgburn.
Use Freemake to convert your video to a ISO file.
Use Imgburn to write that ISO file to DVD.
When you've created as many DVD copies as you desire, delete the ISO file.
this option has been tryed with little sucess its possible that freemaker is not recognising the dvd writer dispte downloading IMGBURN etc any other options?
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 09:22
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,854
this option has been tryed with little sucess its possible that freemaker is not recognising the dvd writer dispte downloading IMGBURN etc any other options?
What do you mean by "little success"? Does Imgburn recognise your DVD writer?

Can you tell us what DVD writer you have (look in device manager/CD DVD rom drives). Are there any exclaimation/question marks against any of the entries in device manager?

Is this the first time you have tried to burn a DVD using this particular CD/DVD writer?
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 09:31
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
can i just point out it's called freemake, not freemaker.

when you say little success does that mean some success?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 10:48
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
can i just point out it's called freemake, not freemaker.

when you say little success does that mean some success?
ok freemake ,no problem. right it converts using the BIG BLUE CONVERT BUTTON which should be the BURN BUTTON i have tryed to install the IMGBURN but that hasn't worked & theres no disc option for destination of video just to ISO but that won't work for me as freemake is not picking up the dvd writer. so how do i sort that out?
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 11:00
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
ok freemake ,no problem. right it converts using the BIG BLUE CONVERT BUTTON which should be the BURN BUTTON i have tryed to install the IMGBURN but that hasn't worked & theres no disc option for destination of video just to ISO but that won't work for me as freemake is not picking up the dvd writer. so how do i sort that out?
the idea being proposed is that you have freemake produce an iso, an image of the disk.

then you have imgburn burn that iso. as you say freemake is not recognising your DVD burner. there is no way to force it.

imgburn is very reliable. so one has to ask what you mean it hasn't worked?

i think we are all wondering if you actually have a dvd burner? and if it works.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 07:10
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
the idea being proposed is that you have freemake produce an iso, an image of the disk.

then you have imgburn burn that iso. as you say freemake is not recognising your DVD burner. there is no way to force it.

imgburn is very reliable. so one has to ask what you mean it hasn't worked?

i think we are all wondering if you actually have a dvd burner? and if it works.
well i do have one installed,question on my mind is does it work? if not why not?
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 09:13
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
well i do have one installed,question on my mind is does it work? if not why not?
Right click Computer>Manage>Device Manager and look ro CD/DVD ROM Drives and expand the entry (pree the arrow next to it).
If it's shown as a yellow triangle with an exclamation mark in it this indicates that it is not working correctly.

Do you by any chance use Vista where it's is a well documented
problem on some PCs? If so see here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060
mac2708 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 12:28
fenlander
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,489
Try this:
1) load a blank dvd in your drive
2) run Freemake. Do you have the burn option?
3) if so, close Freemake, remove the DVD, re-run Freemake without loading a blank
4) do you still have the burn option?

Freemake on my W7 machine did not recognise the drive until I did the above.
fenlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 15:31
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,854
well i do have one installed,question on my mind is does it work? if not why not?
Perhaps if you answered some of the questions posed in this thread we might be able to help a bit more.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 15:55
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
Right click Computer>Manage>Device Manager and look ro CD/DVD ROM Drives and expand the entry (pree the arrow next to it).
If it's shown as a yellow triangle with an exclamation mark in it this indicates that it is not working correctly.

Do you by any chance use Vista where it's is a well documented
problem on some PCs? If so see here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314060
i am giving this a try at the moment
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 16:05
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
i am giving this a try at the moment
after doing this scan i think i will concider getting another dvd writer for this pc
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 21:05
emails
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northwest
Posts: 8,320
i have another question on freemaker what can i do to maxinmise my video burning on freemaker? what i mean is the amount of videos i put up will dicide weather the burn qaultiy is good or very bad. up to 5 hours of video will give me good qty,above that will give me standard qty yell code,or even worse black very low qty or impossible to burn. now i can agust this by changing the disc option,however doing this tells me i have the wrong media type to work from. what do i need to change here if i am going to make this work ?

i will be back tomorrow to respond
emails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 21:34
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5,684
ok theres a few questions....how little quality is acceptable? whats it to be played on (make/model of the player) and what formats will it play?

but really you need to understand video encoding systems and the different types of media and the standard formats that are to each format but given previous knowledge i think everything i've said is currently flying with the ISS
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 22:40
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
Why is it so importnat to put so many hours of video on one disc - especially as they're so cheap?
You'd get more on per disc by using dual-layer discs.
The reason you get the message about 'wrong media type' is that you're using single layer discs.
The option given in FREEMAKE (*not* Freemaker) is for
Mini DVD 1.4 1.4GB
Standard DVD 4.7GB
Double layer DVD 8.5GB

The more videos you add the higher the compression and the poorer the quality
mac2708 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:37.